How good will Hogan be when he has a team that will deliver it to him....

Doesn't even need to be a great kick, if it goes near him he's a good chance

And yet we continue to hold the ball up across half back and play in-direct football forcing Hogan to work his ass off getting disposals up the ground where really our midfielders should be doing the work, I just want us to kick the ball high and in his general direction more often, especially if he is one on one!

Even if we become so obvious and go to hogan 50 % of the time, I still think our crumbers in Garlett, JKH etc should be able to contest at ground level because Hogan rarely gets out marked.

We need to use him more o our advantage as a team.

And yet we continue to hold the ball up across half back and play in-direct football forcing Hogan to work his ass off getting disposals up the ground where really our midfielders should be doing the work, I just want us to kick the ball high and in his general direction more often, especially if he is one on one!

Even if we become so obvious and go to hogan 50 % of the time, I still think our crumbers in Garlett, JKH etc should be able to contest at ground level because Hogan rarely gets out marked.

Under Roos we've showed signs of flirting with more direct 50 entries rather than the slow half-back, a couple of short kicks and then a poor one down the line. Last two weeks we've clearly been intimidated by loose men in defence. It's all about finding space inside 50 but not vacating it completely, because when we get the ball in that situation we rarely beat the opposition back inside our arc

Heard them say they were investigating a rumour on SEN. Please let there be nothing in it...

Just heard on SEN . Rumour NOT true. We can breathe a sigh of relief!

Under Roos we've showed signs of flirting with more direct 50 entries rather than the slow half-back, a couple of short kicks and then a poor one down the line. Last two weeks we've clearly been intimidated by loose men in defence. It's all about finding space inside 50 but not vacating it completely, because when we get the ball in that situation we rarely beat the opposition back inside our arc

So why does Roos continue to let this happen?

JM should have been manned up and made accountable. He wasn't and we just went completely defensive and had slow slow ball movement

Poor coaching IMO. Lets hope we take the game on this week.

If you haven't a target play on straight away

very lazy football.

I work for an AFL footy club at the moment and this sort of thing is hilarious, would happen a couple of times a week i reckon, when someone starts a rumour that a bloke has done an injury or wants to leave or something and then you see them out on the track training or in the office and everyone just has a good laugh.

Which afl club do you work for, sir Paul Roos?

It's embarrassing but the toigs mate, should have seen the place after we beat them hahaha

How good will Hogan be when he has a team that will deliver it to him....

Don't want to get too far ahead of myself, but easily Lockett / Dunstall good, plus some!

Easily Lockett and Dunstall good Oldfart? Good thing you aren't getting ahead of yourself or you may have said......... actually who is better than those two? Carey? Hudson? Anyway I'll jump on that bandwagon

Chill please gentlemen.

I remember a certain Jordan Gysberts getting 26 disposal in his first game and a rising star nomination in his 2nd game. A second rising star nomination in round 11 the next year with 30 disposals against Essendon.

Lets not get ahead of ourselves.

Chill please gentlemen.

I remember a certain Jordan Gysberts getting 26 disposal in his first game and a rising star nomination in his 2nd game. A second rising star nomination in round 11 the next year with 30 disposals against Essendon.

I understand the point of having seen promise before, but comparing Hogan to the Gys is beyond ridiculous, ManDee.

Chill please gentlemen.

filepicker%2FsgEhQPYIS5eJCUX7ynid_Apples

This! I remember seeing Newton wait too long on Saturday night and by the time he decided to kick he was tackled so only got a sprayed kick off the boot. I like that they would wait a moment to see if there is someone free, but as soon as they see there isn't they've just got to go direct to the contest and trust our big forwards to halve the contest. Really sick of seeing players wait too long and then get run down or let the opposition get back!

I dont think we've been intimidated by loose man in defence exactly. We have been intimidated by stoppages in our defensive 50 and have sent 2-3 more players there rather than held position. We have then got the ball and been greeted with one forward v 4 defenders and not know what to do. I expect this mentality will disappear this week or next.

Heard them say they were investigating a rumour on SEN. Please let there be nothing in it...

what is this ... better be just a moron calling SEN as a prank to torture us MFC folk

I dont think we've been intimidated by loose man in defence exactly. We have been intimidated by stoppages in our defensive 50 and have sent 2-3 more players there rather than held position. We have then got the ball and been greeted with one forward v 4 defenders and not know what to do. I expect this mentality will disappear this week or next.

er Jarrod McVeigh says hi.....

I understand the point of having seen promise before, but comparing Hogan to the Gys is beyond ridiculous, ManDee.

And comparing him to Lockett and Dunstall isn't?

My point was it is very easy to be carried away with good performances from a young player, a point I think I exemplified by mentioning Gysberts. He averaged around 20 possessions per game in his first season. Good judges nominated him twice for the rising star.

I rate Hogan, he could be anything, John Coleman, David Schwartz, Paul Salmon, Alan Jackovich, Max Bailey, Luke Molan if you get my drift.

Let us not get carried away let's just enjoy the journey while it lasts.

Edited by ManDee