Training - Friday 9th January, 2015

I think the club was looking for all players to do PB's not so much the actual time/finishing place. Hopefully, we get to hear about the PB's from the club.

Here''s my answer via Bernie Vince interview:

“There was a lot [of PBs] in that group. It was pretty impressive the way they’ve come back, but we expected nothing less,” he said.

Sounds like the players got the message before the break about doing PB's"

“Everyone was pretty good [due to] the pressure of not performing when coming back – I think a lot of people had this date scratched into their diary [because] I certainly did.”

“Every time I ate something or drank something, I was thinking of this day.”

Bodes well! Not just for PB's but also for discipline!

This would probably be McKenzie's first full pre season, I'm not sure he's ever done a pre. From my memory he's always been in the rehab group at this stage of the year. Maybe people should remember this before writing him off.

None of the criticism surrounding Jordie has been about his fitness. Out of contract at years end.

None of criticism surrounding Jordie has been about his fitness. Out of contract at years end.

No, but without getting to much into the hasn't done a preseason debate Jordie has been well behind in his career to date. Be interested to see how he goes if he gets a clear, injury free run into this season.

Bernie has quite a rude head with all his hair shaved off.

That vein!

McKenzie has always had high endurance, just hasn't had a consistent run at it. Instead he's had to build his form in the VFL and then work in to the AFL team and then find his match fitness. That's not an excuse that will turn you from a spud to a gun, but it can be the difference between inconsistent fringe player and consistent role player.

I still think he can be an effective tagger if we wish to use him in that role. All he needs is a 10% improvement in finding and using the ball which can come from consistent footy.

The issue for him is Crossy finished just behind him and can be just as effective as a lock down tagger whilst also having neater skills and finding more ball.

A depth tagger probably isn't a list requirement but McKenzie will give his all for Casey and maybe Crossy finishes at the end of this year and McKenzie is back to being a required best 22 player. I wouldn't give up on him just yet. Being out of the rehab group and getting in repetitive sessions kicking the ball can't hurt.

JKH is also the other impressive performance. Looking at it he's probably 1 minute ahead of Garlett and a decent space on Kent and Salem. He's fighting very hard for his spot and if some of those others do as well we will have pressure for spots in the small forwards/rotation mids.

Not disappointed with Salem either, seems he's run well enough to be considered AFL standard which should see him getting his hands on the footy more consistently this year.

Congrats to JKH! Positive signs coming into his second year.

Jordie , needs more like 75% improvement in his foot skills before I would give him a game. Lets not forget the miss from 6M last year.

Cross is our number 1 lock down player and say he is missing I would prefer giving ANB, Stretch or any of the young blokes a taste for a game or 2 rather than a bloke who is uncontracted at years end after a number of disappointing years at the club.

Harsh maybe but will not be recontacted for 2016

If there is someone that you want to have absolutely no influence on the game, thats where you would bring in Jordie. He has a huge effect on negating some of the best footballers out there, Ablett and so on.

I think you're overselling him there.

He's an ok tagger with questionable disposal. Cross is better.

Also that game where Ablett was negated had just as much to do with Garland holding Ablett back at stoppages as Jordie's tagging.

• Author

I was actually at training this morning

Just a few notes on the 3k time trial

We had 10 players sub 10 minutes, with Tommy Mac first and Max King last, that being said King took 25secs of his time, said he had to

Jimmy Toumpas was bitterly disappointed with his time, has had a bit of a cold and couldn't get the engine running smoothly

Salem was around the 10 05 to 10 30 mark (trying to get the correct time was a battle, (bloody Arsenal supporter) Viney took 2 secs off and got a PB

HL surprised me, he said he did ok for his first 3k, seems Collingwood only ever did 2k, he was around the Salem time

McKenzie and Cross were both sub 10, so was Bail

Jetta didn't front for training, so assume he is crook with his poor 3k

They had another good hard session when they got back to Goschs, lots of ball work, Stafford did a lot of work with the ruck brigade which was all present, so that's a bonus there, Jamar, Gawn, Spencer, Fitzpatrick, King

Hogan did the full session, has now got a mean looking haircut to go with the new beard, looks bloody fearsome

Only Terlich and Watts really in rehab, they did a bit of kicking and marking with Spencer at the beginning, Watts forgot it was wet and took a beautiful tumble trying to mark, bounced straight up so would say the groin problems are over

Any questions feel free

• Author

Jordie , needs more like 75% improvement in his foot skills before I would give him a game. Lets not forget the miss from 6M last year.

Cross is our number 1 lock down player and say he is missing I would prefer giving ANB, Stretch or any of the young blokes a taste for a game or 2 rather than a bloke who is uncontracted at years end after a number of disappointing years at the club.

Harsh maybe but will not be recontacted for 2016

Gee you guys are going to be disappointed, during the dtrills today, Jordie was playing on the outside, setting up play with some good kicks

Bit of footage of the Time Trial throughout this media conference with Bernie for anyone thats got a spare 4 minutes:

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2015-01-09/bernie-vince-media-conference

Love the bit where Bernie starts to wax lyrically about Hogans running ability and calls him a 'special talent' and then backtracks as he remembers the unwritten club mantra of not building Jesse up too much

Gee you guys are going to be disappointed, during the dtrills today, Jordie was playing on the outside, setting up play with some good kicks

You might ask him if it's the first clear preseason he's done at the club, I think from day one he's always been in the rehab group around this time of year. Although then again maybe we shouldn't tempt the faits.

I wouldn't be disappointed if he makes it into the team as an outside player. Good on him for working at it I say. If Roosy thinks he is good enough to be in the team then I'd back him.

• Author

The players do know where they need to improve, Jordie has been doing heaps of extra work with Daniel Cross, his kicking is getting better and better each session.

On a lighter note, Roos had them wrestling one on one on the ground trying to extract the ball from underneath a player, Pig Dog didn't seem to have a problem with this, he is an animal

I think Jordie's disposal is better than he is(n't) given credit for. Yze and Travis Johnstone had some shockers as well, it happens.

Make or break year for him and I am in the minority camp that believe it will be make.

Jetta didn't front for training, so assume he is crook with his poor 3k

From Initial reports Jetta finished a bit better than mid Field, I would say Nev would have smashed his PB and would be very happy with that. You are taking about a guy that has always struggled endurance wise. You might find he left nothing in the tank that is why he didn't front.

• Author

From Initial reports Jetta finished a bit better than mid Field, I would say Nev would have smashed his PB and would be very happy with that. You are taking about a guy that has always struggled endurance wise. You might find he left nothing in the tank that is why he didn't front.

Only going on the time he said he was aiming for, don't think he got it, from placings further back in this topic, there is a bit of man flu floating around the club

Jordie's double contribution to the winning goal against Essedon was outstanding, classy and possibly the most important of that brilliant passage. Maybe there is something there on the skill side. He's got this year to finally convince us on the back of a full pre-season.

No we are not

Big difference between hitting targets at training and AFL gameday when intensity goes through the roof.

Simple fact is Mckenzie has very poor disposal. Unless he improves that dramatically he will be gone at the end of the year.