Zac Jones

Given that we've just recruited a zillion midfielders in the past two years, it's a great idea to target another one. Do we commit to getting him irrespective of whether he shows some form or the capacity to fit into the team? Brother or not, we need to make choices with the head, not the heart.

• Author

Given that we've just recruited a zillion midfielders in the past two years, it's a great idea to target another one. Do we commit to getting him irrespective of whether he shows some form or the capacity to fit into the team? Brother or not, we need to make choices with the head, not the heart.

Given that he is probably a better player than several of our zillion mids and that several of them will be gone at end of next year, there is room for him.

Also he has some mongrel in him as well, something I and probably Roos loves.

Given that he is probably a better player than several of our zillion mids and that several of them will be gone at end of next year, there is room for him.

Also he has some mongrel in him as well, something I and probably Roos loves.

Yes it seems fairly safe to say he is not a Choir Boy.

Even though the CB list is getting shorter

Zac played majority of his football as a backman who can go through the midfield. So wouldn't say he is a midfielder first and foremost. He also provides a bit of dash aswell something we lack.

If we got Zac wouldn't pencil him straight away as a midfielder even though he has shown he is more then capable to be a top line midfielder, he is just as good running off half back.

Sydney are heading into salary cap problems me thinks, with 2 x $1M+ players plus Mitchell for example on $500k (seems ludicrous).

IMO 2014 was their year - I reckon they will struggle to keep players.

Zac Jones might be a fall out from that.

Edit: left out a crucial "M" - thanks hardtack

Shake the tree hard enough and he might just fall out. Plenty of ripe fruit there. Got to make hay while the sun shines.

Any other farming clichés you can add to that Jazzy O?

As mentioned - right player, for right role, at right price = interested

If not Roos won't look

He was a first round pick and in just a small section of game he showed skills, toughness and a fair bit of poise.

You could make an offer now then gamble on his year. Or wait and see. But barring a career threatening injury this year I'd be guessing he'd still be worth a second round pick and a lucrative contract at the end of next season.

His ability to play half back is the reason I'd be very keen.

Sydney are heading into salary cap problems me thinks, with 2 x $1+ players plus Mitchell for example on $500k (seems ludicrous).

IMO 2014 was their year - I reckon they will struggle to keep players.

Zac Jones might be a fall out from that.

Yeah, those $1 players are going to be the straw that breaks that camel's back!

I always thought he was a mid-sized defender-midfielder

I have never been a romantic when it comes to getting a brother to our club - tom flower, Glenn Giles to name but two who had talented brothers but weren't much chop themselves. The febeys could both go okay and Anthony McDonald was a pass (Jnr's bro). Haven't seen enough of Zak to comment but if he has the jones willingness to get the absolute best out of himself and has a touch of talent to boot he would be a great acquisition.

• Author

I always thought he was a mid-sized defender-midfielder

He is.

Is he a seriously good player?

I have not seen him play....I am not interested in the romance of brothers playing (The Cockatoo Collins experiment is still before my eyes) i remember that game so well as i was with an Essendrug supporter who laughed unmercillesly at me and the MFC

But if he cna seriously play then a second Jonesy is most appealling

• Author

Is he a seriously good player?

I have not seen him play....I am not interested in the romance of brothers playing (The Cockatoo Collins experiment is still before my eyes) i remember that game so well as i was with an Essendrug supporter who laughed unmercillesly at me and the MFC

But if he cna seriously play then a second Jonesy is most appealling

Too early to tell if he is a seriously good AFL player, but he was at TAC level.

He is a hard nut as well.

It is just another little thing to keep us interested this year, beside watching the Dees.

Who knows if the recruiting guys are really interested?

Just nice to look at possibly getting a player all year, instead of losing one.

Footage from his first game below. He came on as sub and had 9 touches and 6 tackles in under 2 quarters. He's only played a handful of games, but he's shown signs of being a good player already. He's really competitive, like Nathan, applies good defensive pressure, has good run and good skills by both hand and foot. He'll play as a half back flanker putting pressure on and rebounding. Also has scope to become a midfielder, as he showed late before being drafted. He's a talent, similar to Nathan at the same age, but less in the centre square and more run from behind. Same competitiveness, better skills and awareness than Nathan at the same age, and is quicker. I'd be happy to give up any pick out top 10 for him as I think he'll be a player and is flexible to play both defense and midfield. Would be a good get.

Except it's not.

Benefits of Melbourne:

- Lives in Melb

- Plays with his brother

- 1 year under Roos before an untried coach

- No guarantees about winning games

Benefits of Sydney

- Success!

- Isn't at a basketcase of a club

- Plays with superstars

- Lives in Bondi

- Coached for the foreseeable future by a Premiership coach

Then there's the matter of the trade. Sydney might still be banned from signing free agents or trading for players. In which case they might scoff at our likely offer (if Zac shows something similar to his 2014 form) of a 2nd round pick (which is hopefully later than earlier in the 20's). They might walk him through to the PSD out of spite and he might then end up at another club. Maybe the saints, where training at Seaford wouldn't be so bad for a Mt Eliza boy.

Lives in Bondi......Bondi is a tip. He'd want to be in Manly or Cronulla.

Bondi is the most expensive tip in Australia.and the greatest place for viewing attractive young men and women outside of Rio.

Manly is for bores and "The shire" is for bogan molls ,always has been.

Bondi is the most expensive tip in Australia.and the greatest place for viewing attractive young men and women outside of Rio.

sheesh biffo, you make it a hard choice

Ok what I can tell you is that Zac is in love with playing for Sydney and that the family were over the moon with how john longmire took Zak under his wing and went over and above to make zacks parents very welcome. They are very happy with the club and I would not hold my breath about Zac coming to the MFC. Let's just say we as a club were very lazy when it came to Zac.

Hope this helps

Im Melbourne born and bred, moved to Sydney five years ago for work, spent last four years living in Cronulla. There is some truth in what you say. There's one pub in Cronulla and in there pathetic excuse of a sports bar they're good enough to put on the fox footy for me when the Dee's are playing, even if it's only on a small tv with the volume down while the masses watch league on the big screen. It doesn't take long before the punters come over to see why one bloke is making so much noise.

Ok what I can tell you is that Zac is in love with playing for Sydney and that the family were over the moon with how john longmire took Zak under his wing and went over and above to make zacks parents very welcome. They are very happy with the club and I would not hold my breath about Zac coming to the MFC. Let's just say we as a club were very lazy when it came to Zac.

Hope this helps

We were possibly lazy due to the fact that there was not a hope that we would have been able to pick him up. The club also this year did not contact several players from the 7-30 bracket of players due to knowing they would not be in our possibilities of selection.

In terms of player he definitely fits the bill, clean ball user and can play in the backline, straight up upgrade from terlich who may well be delisted next year.