Posted

The only thing missing here is if you read into what he posts on Instagram, he seems very content with the opportunities he has in Melbourne. He seems to love all the creative people he has met here. He has rented studio space here in Melbourne. I don't think there is a go home factor so much.

Posted

If we release him from his contract, I'm sure there will be some clause in there preventing him from playing football until the end of his contract. We have to be understanding and kind, but we also need to ensure that Mitch won't waltz over to one of our rivals when he overcomes his issues.

Posted

whats not to know....really

Unless anyone still harbours any idea of seeing him again in our jumper.

All just pr spin and exit management from here on.

Pretty much this. Mitch's issues are his issues, but now we likely move onto how the club deals with it.

Posted

Probably to early to call on that one old dee

I have severe doubts his legs are now up to the grind that is AFL at the top level.

He has continual soft tissue injuries.

It will probably go on for the length of his contract as there is nothing wrong with his mental situation

But I don't expect much from him over the next 18 months.

Posted (edited)

As we all know it's up to Mitch, the ball is in his court. If he wants to know what is best for the supporters and club, it is him persevering with football and getting back in the red and blue as soon as he can (because currently Fitzpatrick and Pederson are not going to bring much success to our club)

Edit. Peterson(Pedo) wot ever.

Edited by J VINEY FAN

Posted

As we all know it's up to Mitch, the ball is in his court. If he wants to know what is best for the supporters and club, it is him persevering with football and getting back in the red and blue as soon as he can (because currently Fitzpatrick and Pederson are not going to bring much success to our club)

Edit. Peterson(Pedo) wot ever.

At the risk of insulting you Neither is Mitch.

It is over

The AFL is a cut throat business not a benevolent society.

We are struggling to survive.

We have to move on to other players, we don't have another 18 months of finances and resources to use on Mitch Clark.

Posted

If he wants to go let him go. However do not pay over 650k for Frawley. Then keep the rest to go buy players at seasons end. Preferably not injury prone players like Dawes

Who are we going to buy? Gibbs? haha

Dangerfield is the only one who comes to mind but pretty sure he's contracted next year.

Posted

I used to be a big James Frawley fan.

His all Australian selection was 4 years ago, and lets face it, he hasnt come close to it since 2010.

If he continues to draw out contract talks, he will do himself more harm than good.

He was never a great user of the ball, but seems to be getting worse.

His lack of awareness of opposition players around him is quite possibly the worst in the comp.

I'd be dissapointed if Melbourne offer him a big salary. Dont get me wrong, i dont want him to go, but he really needs to work harder and get some of his best form back.

Chippa has been my favourite player the last 5 or 6 years but this year he has lost me and not just because of his contract situation. That non-chase 4 minutes into last weeks game was disgusting and showed me exactly how much he cares about this club.

Posted (edited)

If that is the case it can only be Fremantle. They seriously lack a big forward to complement an ageing Pavlich.

Don't worry they'll have Hogan soon enough.

31007-66546e81a753eb9d82dd23b22eea11a8.j

Posted

Chippa has been my favourite player the last 5 or 6 years but this year he has lost me and not just because of his contract situation. That non-chase 4 minutes into last weeks game was disgusting and showed me exactly how much he cares about this club.

Putting off contract talks also doesn't help his state of mind, and he has brought that on himself. Every time a player does that their performance suffers and they have a negative effect on the team. Clearly Chip is no different.

Posted

Don't worry they'll have Hogan soon enough.31007-66546e81a753eb9d82dd23b22eea11a8.j

Wrist-slashing pic

Posted

I'm really interested to see how he responds, no doubt the footy department would have shown that and other snippets where he was failed to chase or failed to leave his opponent and sacrifice to intercept or go second man up.

I have no doubt we will know where we stand with Frawley by round 7

Posted

I'm really interested to see how he responds, no doubt the footy department would have shown that and other snippets where he was failed to chase or failed to leave his opponent and sacrifice to intercept or go second man up.

I have no doubt we will know where we stand with Frawley by round 7

...and if Roos is true to his word Chip should enjoy playing out the season at Casey.

Posted

It's sad and a touch ironic that he feels he is letting the club down when leaving would be doing just that.

I honestly do feel though that if his heart is not in it then he should retire, he's going through a life altering period which could decide his quality of life after football. It really is a shame that he can't seem to process the idea that the club is there to support him, not the other way around. Put aside the coin he's on he's just another player that when he takes the field he has a role to play in a team.

I was prepared for this when it was announced he'd been granted leave for personal reasons, but part of me still holds out hope that he'll do a Lazarus and decide to fight his way back. That said, if his body isn't letting him there isn't too much he can do.

All the best Mitch, do what ya have to do.

Posted

they're doing something on Mitch on Fox footy, in about 5 minutes (half time during Dogs v's Tigers game).
"An emotional interaction with Chris Dawes" (para phrasing) apparently. Could be worth a look, or could be nothing.
Flick over now if you are sad like me and spend your Saturdays watching every football game on TV.

Posted (edited)

Chris Dawes speaking very well on ABC radio, basically said Mitch is suffering big mental health demons that have occurred as an accumulation of being regularly injured and not being ably to get on the park, and feeling like he is letting everyone down etc.
Said that everyone at melbourne couldn't care less about him coming back to football, they only care about him getting his mental health in check.
Said that too often mental health issues at football clubs are just pushed aside and people are told to "man up." Said that now it's out in the open they (MFC and the public) will give Mitch the privacy, and support he deserves to get him self right mentally, before even talking about football.

Listen to it if you can, Dawes spoke beautifully, as per usual.

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As
  • Like 13
Posted (edited)

That chase is a revealing snapshot for what is wrong with our club. Takes a few bad eggs not supporting their teamates to make us look real bad.

Should have been a 2 on 2 situation. McDonald to Shuey. Frawley to Darling if he chased. He was not far away. McDonald started to cover the overlap from Shuey expecting Frawley to go to Darling. McDonald sensing no pressure from Frawley then had to go for ball carrier Darling and managed to cramp him up forcing the handball to now wide open Shuey and then continued to chase him in vain to goal. Frawley was just spectating in no mans land. If I were McDonald I would have blasted him.

Posted

i know this isn't a Chip thread but I think it's relavent

At no stage do I think Chip or Mitch are not worth keeping I think it's a mentallaty thing at the MFC.... No player is bigger or should be held bigger then the club.. The sooner this club on anf off field works as one unit the better off it will be....

Players come and go and if Mitch needs to get himself right - so be it and I hope the MFC supports him all them way even when he's not a MFC player. Same as Chip if he decides to leave for $$$ and opportunity so be it....... This club needs all players pulling together not 1 or 2.

Then when we have that unity and cohesivness I reckon we aim at bringing in stars - no more quick fixes

Posted

i know this isn't a Chip thread but I think it's relavent

At no stage do I think Chip or Mitch are not worth keeping I think it's a mentallaty thing at the MFC.... No player is bigger or should be held bigger then the club.. The sooner this club on anf off field works as one unit the better off it will be....

Players come and go and if Mitch needs to get himself right - so be it and I hope the MFC supports him all them way even when he's not a MFC player. Same as Chip if he decides to leave for $$$ and opportunity so be it....... This club needs all players pulling together not 1 or 2.

Then when we have that unity and cohesivness I reckon we aim at bringing in stars - no more quick fixes

Clark is an on field leader, this guy is tough as nails and plays with passion.

It will be a sad day if he leaves, he buys and sells Frawley. So let's not make this a chip thread.

Clark would be perfect for Hogan, Clark pays his way if we can get him out there.

I still believe in Mitch Clark, I don't care if anyone else does, but Clark is a star.

Come back Mitch, you have some loyal supporters who have your back mate.

I won't be renewing my membership until you return.

Posted

It will be a sad day if he leaves, he buys and sells Frawley. So let's not make this a chip thread.

Clark would be perfect for Hogan, Clark pays his way if we can get him out there.

I still believe in Mitch Clark, I don't care if anyone else does, but Clark is a star.

So this is your last year KDA?
Posted

I agree with most of this, but the last line is stupid.

The club are doing everything right by Clark, they are not trying to get rid of him.

Posted

I like you're passion and I don't disagree

But you're grip on reality I struggle to agree with... Mitch needs to what's best for Mitch which may not be at the Mfc... The club needs to get behind him but move on on field as well

Posted (edited)

If he leaves and somehow ends up playing for Freo next year, surely the AFL will step in a la Jeff White...

On one hand great if he plays afl footy to help his health.... Is health should be the number 1 priority!

But yet again the MFC will get shafted if this occurs.... Surely the club can help with his rehab if he has any chance of playing again!

Edited by Hogan2014