Posted

Good luck to Mitch. I'd be shocked if he ever plays again. Whenever I get angry and disheartened about Melbourne I always think enough is enough and I should move on. Then I drink some concrete, harden the [censored] up and wait for the next crap thing to happen to this club.

Posted

I don't get it.

It really hurts him that he lets people down so...he wants to give up so he doesn't let people down?

I know the guy's in a tough place but I hope those around him push him to make the right decision. He belongs on the footy field. If it's all true, then he'll be riddled with regret if he gives up. It'll be the ultimate disappointment and let down if he throws it away and goes home.

I hope this is the message given to him. Going home would be the worst thing for him. He needs to tackle these problems head on and that would include fighting the things head on, not just throwing the towel in. It seems its mental first, physical second that's keeping him away from the game.

I'll be disappointed if he quits. Understanding and accepting, not angry, but disappointed.

Posted

Good luck to Mitch. I'd be shocked if he ever plays again. Whenever I get angry and disheartened about Melbourne I always think enough is enough and I should move on. Then I drink some concrete, harden the [censored] up and wait for the next crap thing to happen to this club.

I wouldn't Cowboy.

I wish Mitch all the best as well and i'm sure he has some issues to deal with.

However, if i were to see him settle up with us and step out of the game for the remainder of the year, only to see a miraculous recovery towards the end of this year and a return to AFL with the either the Dockers or Weagles in 2015 kicking ass, it wouldn't surprise me in the least.

Posted

Like a 35 possession game tomorrow from Tom Scully perhaps?

I am more then happy with Scully gone. I'd take what we got for him in a heartbeat.

Posted

I wouldn't Cowboy.

However, if i were to see him settle up with us and step out of the game for the remainder of the year, only to see a miraculous recovery towards the end of this year and a return to AFL with the either the Dockers or Weagles in 2015 kicking ass, it wouldn't surprise me in the least.

I would love to see him come back and kick 10 against us. All 2,000 fans that rock up to the G will riot.

Posted

Seems to me that the purpose of the meeting is to determine an appropriate exit strategy for the mutual benefit of the club and the player. I really can't see him staying in his current unhappy situation in Melbourne while his family and most of his friends are in Perth. It wouldn't surprise if, after time for healing in familiar surroundings, he continues his career at the Dockers from next year on. Good luck to him - he's been on a rough road.

Posted

he continues his career at the Dockers from next year on. Good luck to him - he's been on a rough road.

If he wants to do the best thing by us then he would remain on the list on some reduced salary and then allow us to trade him to the Dockers for some compensation next year. That way he could be assured of getting there (which he can't through the draft).

Sad situation.

Posted

Seems to me that the purpose of the meeting is to determine an appropriate exit strategy for the mutual benefit of the club and the player. I really can't see him staying in his current unhappy situation in Melbourne while his family and most of his friends are in Perth. It wouldn't surprise if, after time for healing in familiar surroundings, he continues his career at the Dockers from next year on. Good luck to him - he's been on a rough road.

Well then he should be kept on our list to be traded. They would probably screw us over that as well and get him for nothing in the draft.

Posted

Financially mutual outcome but ultimately it will be another blown trade using pick 12.

How if he ends up playing for the Dockers will we be compensated for that?

Posted

Well then he should be kept on our list to be traded. They would probably screw us over that as well and get him for nothing in the draft.

Lyon and Roos know each other well. I reckon in this situation there would be a bit of honour.

Posted

I would be dirty if he played with Freo or WC. He said he wanted to be remembered as a Melbourne player and our great Jimmy Stynes handed him his old guernsey and said do us proud son.

That would change everything.

We traded pick 12 for him and payed him heaps for no return.

When will we get our hard nosed Grant Birchall, Joel Selwood types who rarely get injured and love the contested footy, but come with skills and a footy brain.

Posted

If he wants to do the best thing by us then he would remain on the list on some reduced salary and then allow us to trade him to the Dockers for some compensation next year. That way he could be assured of getting there (which he can't through the draft).

Sad situation.

That scenario would be a sensational scenario, but what will probably happen because , well it just seems to happen to us will be

He will agree to a slightly less payout figure which will still be 3or 4 times an average professional persons salary. He will Ostensibly "Retire" from the game citing injuries, family issues et al. We will delist him.

Next year he feels he'd like to give it "One more crack" and lo and behold" Freo Hovering ( or should it be HOOOVERING) pick him up at reasonable cost he has recovered from his injuries and plays the type of footy we know he can play and end result??

WE again get screwed over and over again.

Seen it happen before. Sorry but can't see a positive in this at all!

Posted

If he leaves and somehow ends up playing for Freo next year, surely the AFL will step in a la Jeff White...

Posted

Lyon and Roos know each other well. I reckon in this situation there would be a bit of honour.

Honour?? Honour be buggerd, this is cut throat AFL Footy, not some "Mutally beneficial love thy neighbour fest"

Posted (edited)

I wouldn't Cowboy.

This is Melbourne remember it will definitely happen.

Also we will NOT get anything for him

Edited by DemonOX

Posted

When are the supporters actually going to know what's going on with the big fella...... ?

FFS give us some information. This is BS!

Posted

When are the supporters actually going to know what's going on with the big fella...... ?

FFS give us some information. This is BS!

whats not to know....really

Unless anyone still harbours any idea of seeing him again in our jumper.

All just pr spin and exit management from here on.

Posted

I used to be a big James Frawley fan.

His all Australian selection was 4 years ago, and lets face it, he hasnt come close to it since 2010.

If he continues to draw out contract talks, he will do himself more harm than good.

He was never a great user of the ball, but seems to be getting worse.

His lack of awareness of opposition players around him is quite possibly the worst in the comp.

I'd be dissapointed if Melbourne offer him a big salary. Dont get me wrong, i dont want him to go, but he really needs to work harder and get some of his best form back.

He is not worth anything to us at the moment he is a liability in fact

Posted

I would be dirty if he played with Freo or WC. He said he wanted to be remembered as a Melbourne player and our great Jimmy Stynes handed him his old guernsey and said do us proud son.

That would change everything.

We traded pick 12 for him and payed him heaps for no return.

When will we get our hard nosed Grant Birchall, Joel Selwood types who rarely get injured and love the contested footy, but come with skills and a footy brain.

When our drafting improves and they stop picking skinny kids

Posted

When our drafting improves and they stop picking skinny kids

I suspect the change is underway.
Posted

Sad situation.

Compensation being in the form of the Dockers don't make a play for Hogan.
Posted (edited)

Injury prone/soft.

I seriously doubt if anyone who has seen Chris Dawes play over many years (and I know we haven't seen enough of him at MFC unfortunately) could seriously call him soft. Sure, maybe injury prone, possibly (relatively) under skilled, but definitely not soft.

EDIT: Clarifying: the poster to whom I was replying seemed to be implying that Chris Dawes was injury prone and soft.

Even worse would be to describe Mitch Clark in that way. He has had ONE very rare severe injury always carrying a quite poor prognosis. The subsequent injuries were consequent on the first. And does anyone seriously suggest that he ever played "soft" in his short time with us???