Neeld Sacked with Craig as Interim Coach

I have also been told by a close source this will happen today.

Kinda sad...but needs to happen.

We cant go on being so bad..and Mark has to take some responsibility but not all.

Thanks for trying Mark.

f true, this does concern me a little as having declared him safe for the time being just the other week, and with no games having been played since, to do a U turn like this? What kind of message is this sending to the playing group, and particularly those in the pro-Neeld camp?

• Author

If the Club has made the decision, they will have made if for reasons, I will listen to the reasons, and if I am unhappy with the decision, if it is correct, then I will tell them, that is basically all I can do as a member and supporter.

Personally I don't think it will change anything quickly

And what is the point of having Craig in charge. The whole coaching panel needs to be shown the door.

Why sack him?

Didn't we have a good weekend?

And what is the point of having Craig in charge. The whole coaching panel needs to be shown the door.

And replaced by who, may I ask?

Its sickens me that again, we have to make another knee jerk reaction which we have been doing for the past 10 years. As soon as someone comes in to clean up the place and things get a little tough, we back down from standing tall, defiant and strong. We go and sack the coach. It disgusts me how he has been treated by our club, supporters, media. I know a lot of passion exists at our club but this is painful. Why dont we just call ourselves the interim demons - because that's all we seem to do. Why cant we stick to a process and see it through. I have so much respect for Mark Neeld to have come in to a destructive and toxic environment and deal with the media intensity that has been in his face - unduly excessive and not everything has been in his control. - I cant support a club that continues to do this, I'm out for the rest of the year until the Board (especially PJ) can come out and speak up for our staff an back them in.

And replaced by who, may I ask?

Contracted people from other clubs of course!

now if you take a step back and have a think.....I 'll let you do that....

OK, We have money issues ( not enough ) We are paying people already. We need a new coach but maybe all the best options arent avail just yet. Or The board( PJ ..lol ) has only now got to the point of sacking Neeld so our search , the real one , starts now (

presuming Neelds departure )

Despite all the banging and shouting there isnt a lot that can really change between now and the end of the season. Its only 11 odd games. All an interim could hope for is some tweaking and revised game planning. But the mould is essentially set for the short term.

The boys would already have a rapport with Craig. There a comfortable familiarity. Craigs ideas may not have been Neelds ideas etc etc.

If this is whats happening I fing it sensible and prudent. You start the ball rolling and are doing so within the ability of the club to manage.

I think the way the Footy Department operates isnt all that bad to be honest. From the outside looking i, the process is correct, but the players didnt play for Neeld.

Will be interesting to see how they go this weekend againt the Saints

Interim Neil Craig.

Paul Roos will become coach

Its sickens me that again, we have to make another knee jerk reaction which we have been doing for the past 10 years. As soon as someone comes in to clean up the place and things get a little tough, we back down from standing tall, defiant and strong. We go and sack the coach. It disgusts me how he has been treated by our club, supporters, media. I know a lot of passion exists at our club but this is painful. Why dont we just call ourselves the interim demons - because that's all we seem to do. Why cant we stick to a process and see it through. I have so much respect for Mark Neeld to have come in to a destructive and toxic environment and deal with the media intensity that has been in his face - unduly excessive and not everything has been in his control. - I cant support a club that continues to do this, I'm out for the rest of the year until the Board (especially PJ) can come out and speak up for our staff an back them in.

Mate, this was on the cards for a while...

He has had to 'win back' his job ever since the Essendon game. Hopefully, Jackson knows what he wants to do with the entire FD before he dismisses Neeld.

But Neeld's time is borrowed.

I'm not sure I like this decision, purely because I am sick of our club sacking coaches part way through a season, and part way through rebuilds. What happened to Neeld supposedly getting some "clean air". What happened to the need to restructure the football department first??

I can't help but think that this was one of the "conditions" referred to by the AFL for bailing us out financially.

He had to go. His decision making skills have been up there with the worst we've made in the last decade and that's saying something. The failure of his mature age recruits was the nail in the coffin for me. You can't expect us to believe this rebuild line when you did that.

Why put hid mentorin charge? If Neeld failed doesnt that mean his mentor also failed? If not with more conviction.

I reckon talks are and have been going on behind the scenes for an experienced coach to suit up at the end of the year (strongly recommended by AFL).

I didn't mind Neeld but he had to go, no signs of improvement, there is a chance his message to the players could have been clouded by Neil Craig who I don;t rate at all.

I really think most of the coaches will not be there in 2014.

It seems clear that the AFL have stamped our bail out package now hopefully we can move forward.

I'm not sure I like this decision, purely because I am sick of our club sacking coaches part way through a season, and part way through rebuilds. What happened to Neeld supposedly getting some "clean air". What happened to the need to restructure the football department first??

I can't help but think that this was one of the "conditions" referred to by the AFL for bailing us out financially.

Yes, quite possibly part of the "highly conditional" provisos for lending the money:

"Jackson only last Friday went to the AFL for a $3 million bail out package to save the club’s finances.

The AFL gave him positive feedback, allowing him to finance the payout of Neeld which will cost the club $600,000."

You would have to think that the 'highly conditional' contribution from the AFL might have had something to do with this decision coming sooner rather than later.

Craig is the best option we have (probably Rawlings) but the club if they were going to make this decision had to move (should have probably done it more quickly than now)

I think the sink has to be thrown at Roos, Lethal or similar sooner rather than later.

.... and here I was thinking that this would finally be a quiet week for the dees! :)