Posted

I'm sick to death of everyone telling these boys to Shave their beards off.

Don McLardy: Grow a beard.

Cameron Schwab: Grow a Beard.

Gary Lyon: Grow a Beard

Every supporter, player, coach, trainer needs to GROW A BEARD. Show some solidarity as a club united as one under the beard.

Do you really think a beard makes you play badly? If anything it makes you 10% tougher. Adds to balance and stream lines the body making it faster.

A beard demands respect.

FEAR THE BEARD.

you want a song to play before the match?!?

I'm sure this band have one

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheBeardsAustralia

Posted

Sorry, but the problem lies in the fact the players appear particularly engrossed in a beard-growing competition, yet fail to actually compete on game day.

Posted

Sorry, but the problem lies in the fact the players appear particularly engrossed in a beard-growing competition, yet fail to actually compete on game day.

agree cudi. i don't think they are growing beards because they want beards but more for some idiotic puerile competition

if they want a competition then make it something that involves effort and sacrifice rather than ridicule

hey could make a statement by removing them by next saturday

they can regrow them when they become competitive

Posted

The beard does consume a lot of time.

I'm already 1 hour into my beard growing and i'm absolutely consumed by the thought.

I think Jack watts wasn't looking at the floor, he was looking at his beard.

It's a powerful thing.

Posted

Hilarious, beards are a privilege for winners!!

The Cats should be looking like ZZ Top by now.

Posted

I'm sick to death of everyone telling these boys to Shave their beards off.

Don McLardy: Grow a beard.

Cameron Schwab: Grow a Beard.

Gary Lyon: Grow a Beard

Every supporter, player, coach, trainer needs to GROW A BEARD. Show some solidarity as a club united as one under the beard.

Do you really think a beard makes you play badly? If anything it makes you 10% tougher. Adds to balance and stream lines the body making it faster.

A beard demands respect.

FEAR THE BEARD.

you want a song to play before the match?!?

I'm sure this band have one

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheBeardsAustralia

10/10. This thread has cheered me up

Posted

Being the owner of a luxuriant Beard so I am biased, if a couple of the so called commentators hadn't mentioned it, it wouldn't even be a problem, I let Peter Ryan who is a media person take a picture of mine at the weekend, obviously he was going to use it for a gentle ribbing but thought better of it after the game..........you are dealing with guys who range in age from 18 to 30, if a little competition on growing a beard is as dangerous as they get in their down time....good

Posted

Being the owner of a luxuriant Beard so I am biased, if a couple of the so called commentators hadn't mentioned it, it wouldn't even be a problem, I let Peter Ryan who is a media person take a picture of mine at the weekend, obviously he was going to use it for a gentle ribbing but thought better of it after the game..........you are dealing with guys who range in age from 18 to 30, if a little competition on growing a beard is as dangerous as they get in their down time....good

but the problem is that this is as GOOD as they get....................priorities?

Posted (edited)

Actually Daisycutter, they will have MORE time to focus on football instead of wasting 8 minutes a day shaving.

You sound like a someone who fears the beard.

Edited by Friday

Posted

but the problem is that this is as GOOD as they get....................priorities?

For crying out loud......you just don't shave, the beard grows......they don't sit there thinking how hard they grow their beards......this is what pisses me off about footy these days.....the only other guys under so much pressure in the same age group are serving in Afghanistan....and you volunteer for that....yes they get paid ridiiculous amounts of money compared to what they do.....but nobody dies if they fail......this is what is making the modern footy player walk away from the game at an earlier age......I fully understood what Dane Swan was on about when he said you can only put up with it for so long

Posted

Actually Daisycutter, they will have MORE time to focus on football instead of wasting 8 minutes a day shaving.

You sound like a someone who fears the beard.

mate, i've had a beard for 30 years (albeit a half one) and not for any trendy competition reasons

there's nothing intrinsically wrong with any player having a beard but they leave themselves open to ridicule when the only thing they can do right is grow a beard and all for some silly reason

Posted

you just don't shave, the beard grows......they don't sit there thinking how hard they grow their beards.....

Solid advice from someone in the know - for anyone looking to get a beard on for this Saturday

Posted

If we weren't already embarrassed enough....yes, everyone grow a beard, why? For support. Ok....

A beard demands respect? 10% tougher? Right....

Posted

mate, i've had a beard for 30 years (albeit a half one) and not for any trendy competition reasons

there's nothing intrinsically wrong with any player having a beard but they leave themselves open to ridicule when the only thing they can do right is grow a beard and all for some silly reason

I would prefer to ridicule supporters who have treated a person who was 17 yrs old as the Messiah, and now are unhappy because they think for the four years of pressure he has been under, he is now a false god

Posted

I would prefer to ridicule supporters who have treated a person who was 17 yrs old as the Messiah, and now are unhappy because they think for the four years of pressure he has been under, he is now a false god

well that's another story and OT

open a new thread if you want

Posted

well that's another story and OT

open a new thread if you want

Daisycutter, why open a new thread there are plenty of them, going round and round, this one blames facial growth for the performance on Saturday, at least it's a change from McLardy and Schwab.

I mean I could start a thread blaming the year the players were forced to wear that horrendous silver away strip as the beginning of all our problems

Posted

Daisycutter, why open a new thread there are plenty of them, going round and round, this one blames facial growth for the performance on Saturday, at least it's a change from McLardy and Schwab.

I mean I could start a thread blaming the year the players were forced to wear that horrendous silver away strip as the beginning of all our problems

no it doesn't blame beards for their performance - at least i don't

but i would argue that silly beard competitions is evidence of where their mindset is,

and shaving them might make a more positive statement than continuing the competition and the ridicule it brings with it.

Posted

Cam you imagine if Ussain Bolt had a long beard? Or Roger Federer?

I reckon it would make you feel hot, and hinder athletic performance,