View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MELBOURNE v PORT ADELAIDE - PREGAME

Surprised and a bit disappointed that Nev Jetta didn't make the 25 (assuming he is fit). My guess is that Blease, Pederson, Davey, and Matt Jones will be in the final 22, with Blease the sub.

Yes, I would have Jetta instead of Nicho or Tappy but we have to hope/assume that the coaching team know best

Interesting that a lot of so called 'experts' are jumping on Port Adel to beat us on Sunday.

It will be a disappointing loss if they are correct.

We have a decent side in and should put in a good showing.

Would have liked to see Tom McDonald play but I'm presuming he is still not 100%

Good luck to Matt Jones on Sunday, know him well and he is a great bloke!

Melbourne by 6 goals.

Eff the haters. Cant wait to rub peoples faces in it.

Great post Rusty

That day in Geelong i remember well, Jackovich kicked 8,8 and Lyon, Ox and chopper all chimed in with a bag.

Cant wait for Sunday.

Carn the Dees

Cheers Rock

I reckon the tide has to turn at some point. Hopefully this is the year we see a tipping point in our favour.

Young talent mixed with some decent senior injection just might be the right mix and tonic for hope, belief and most importantly the creation of a never say die, winning culture.

P.S. Love the pic of Balls mate. Could do with his leadership down back this year. Hopefully Watts will take another step and start to rally the troops with the help of Tommy Mc, Chip, Dunny, Jetta and even Nicho! Contrary to some i think Nicholson will become a key player for us, providing decent run and turning defence into attack with quick transitions/breaking lines etc (ie., quick transition = better opportunities for our forwards by isolating them and preventing numbers getting back versus a slower transition out of defence).

I tipped port. FFS get your house in order Melbourne and prove us supporters wrong.

I tipped Melbourne.

I tipped Melbourne and gave away my Bruce Springstein tickets to go to the footy.

Carn dees

bloody hell its nerve racking but so bloody exciting.

Jamar taps to Jones who gives a quick handball to Viney who laces it out to Clark on a long lead. Clark lines up and rams it home for his 5th.

Of that bench I'd have Blease, Pederson, Terlich and Jones.

Agree.

Of that bench I'd have Blease, Pederson, Terlich and Jones.

Neeld confirmed Pedersen and Jones will play, so that leaves two places. Given that Terlich would get one of those I'd imagine (he's the only defender there), one spot left for Blease, Tapscott or Davey - probably Blease as you say, perhaps as sub.

What the hell does anyone see in pederson?

I tipped Melbourne and gave away my Bruce Springstein tickets to go to the footy.

That's game. It was an amazing show. Fanatics like you are why Melbourne needs to get up this week.

Good stuff

That's among the most impressive posts I've read on this site. Respect.

Obviously Neeld sees something... and maybe we'll all be in a better position to answer that question for ourselves after Sunday? In the meantime, how about we give him the benefit of the doubt.

That's among the most impressive posts I've read on this site. Respect.

If you have been to the Bruce Springstein concert you will know how impressive it was to give up those tickets. He was fantastic. Sorry Jane to rub it in.

Obviously Neeld sees something... and maybe we'll all be in a better position to answer that question for ourselves after Sunday? In the meantime, how about we give him the benefit of the doubt.

I remember how we were all wondering what Neil Craig saw in Sellars last year. Well what we saw in the NAB (I know its only the NAB) goes a little way in justifying Craig's confidence in him. Hopefully Pederson will end up showing us what Neeld sees in him. If not he will be out at the year end. IMO, so far Gillies and Pederson have to show us more than what they have to justify keeping them on the list. Hopefully they are just taking a little time to work with a new regime and game plan.

Gee wizz our onballers/center line really stands out as under class at this stage. Jones and day light along with 2 first gamers on a wing. Will be lucky to win but the excitement is building.

Looking forward to seeing Sellar up fwd after the impressive end to preseason from him.

Can anyone see the team lining up as selected?

No

A little suprised Magner is not in (assuming fit). Not that I am a huge fan, I thought his body and attack on the footy would be needed in the middle considering the lack of experience in that area of the ground.

Jetta another who I thought might get a game.

Hoping Strauss has a good start to the season at Casey as I think he can offer something on a HBF long term.

The Boss played last Sunday and we are on this Sunday.

I admire your preparation though.

No point risking injury.

Or running the risk of being late.

Hard to fault much of the selection process which has rewarded good preseasons and has not gone heavy on rushing back players that have not had recent continuity. I expect since M Jones and Pederson were confirmed as debuts and Terlich wasn't that he will be emergency. Based on this I expect the bench to be Blease, Pederson, Jones, with Tappy the likely sub. Clark was a given to play. A half fit Clark in the goal square still needs much attention. Blease also brings qualities we don't have an abundance of and I expect a 2013 Blease lacking match fitness is still fitter than any Blease we saw in 2012. Port's back 6 seriously lack height and experience exemplified by Sellar's 5 in the preseason. I think if we come even close to halving the midfield battle we will win and win easily.

He has a nice smile. I haven't seen any football ability yet. Other than one game on you tube, has anyone?

A little suprised Magner is not in (assuming fit). Not that I am a huge fan, I thought his body and attack on the footy would be needed in the middle considering the lack of experience in that area of the ground.

Jetta another who I thought might get a game.

Hoping Strauss has a good start to the season at Casey as I think he can offer something on a HBF long term.

Magner is still a rookie, isn't he?