Posted

so sad, so unfair. I thought he was starting to come good before his injury, there was a patch in late 2010 where he really was playing quality back pocket footy that reminded me of the great Matthew Whelan. Poor bloke lost his old man when he was about 19 too, hard luck mate. Thanks for your efforts.

Posted (edited)

youd almost retire #3 for a year out of respect

edit

not almost....should !!

Edited by belzebub59

Posted

This is a tough time for him, but I'm sure he will come out of it well! We will miss his hardness and determination! I got 27 on my away jumper last season and 3 on my home jumper, I have given up on getting new numbers on the jumpers I buy this season.

Posted

Best of luck in whatever you choose to do Clint. I remember when his father passed and he still decided to play. Gutsy effort. You gave your all for the jumper, and you'll always have my respect.

Posted

Wasn't in our best 22, but you can sure as hell rely on the fact he'd have been working his ass off to get back in, if it wasn't for his knee.

If only some other players on our list had his tenacity and courage.

Posted

I reckon he was easily one of the first picked each week when fit !!

Posted

Hope we keep Barty around the club.

Maybe as a mentor for some of the younger guys.

Would be great seeing him instilling some of his G&D into someone like Barry.

Posted

Sad time player who got the absolute best out of himself and gave everything for this club that he had. Hope he is not lost to the AFL or the club!

Best of luck Barty in your life after being an AFL player and thank you very much for your efforts whilst a Demon!

Posted

Well played Clint.

Those injury woes surfaced at the end of his first season which was exceptional. I don't think Clint ever got the chance to play at his best after that but he soldiered on until his body couldn't carry on at this level any longer.

Did the #3 proud.

Posted

His hardness won me over in the end, I'd pick him despite disposal queries because he'd run through a wall to get the ball and tackled like everyone should.

Good luck, you deserve some.

Posted

So thats a vacant spot in the leadership group.

But its sad that at just 24 his career has ended.I hope that the kids that get drafted next week realise that footy might not be forever. But I can see why he retired. If his knees are like this at 24 what will they be like when he is in his 40's or 50s. Good luck with your future Clint.

Posted

Sad news.

Champion bloke and a solid, tireless worker on the field who always thought utmost of the team principles and considered only how he could meet them.

Hope he sticks around the club - his advice to players coming through would be valuable.

Best of luck for the future, Barts.

Posted

It came as a surprise to me that he is only 24 as well. Much like Nathan Jones, he was burned in to my mind as one of our "seniors" when he's still just a baby really. He should rightfully be looking to hit career best form in the next few years, not calling it quits. Such a shame.

I agree he was improving each game and if he continued he would be in our best 22 for sure

Posted

He should rightfully be looking to hit career best form in the next few years, not calling it quits. Such a shame.

The footy gods can be fickle hey? I hope he impresses upon his younger team-mates the need to grasp their chance while they can get it, 'cos it can be over in the blink of an eye.

Posted

Really really devastating news.

He must be gutted. From personal experience there is nothing worse than having an injury that won't go away. Can't imagine how it must feel to a young athlete who was making strides in his career.

His leadership, his hardness and his courage will be sorely missed.

All the very best of luck Barts!

Posted

Remember him in his first game, it was the NAB cup or whatever it was called back then. We had a Fantasy Footy Comp. at work, and I chose him as my tackler. Got laughed at, but I laughed last. Played all games for 80+ tackles.

Posted

Really really devastating news.

He must be gutted. From personal experience there is nothing worse than having an injury that won't go away. Can't imagine how it must feel to a young athlete who was making strides in his career.

His leadership, his hardness and his courage will be sorely missed.

All the very best of luck Barts!

Thanks Jaded... youve well reminded me how remiss its been of many of us to overlook how he might feel. yes i reckon thats got to be one hard shitty decision to make. And he would be gutted. Its not about us. lets let it be about him. Cruelled...poor bugger :(
Posted

So thats a vacant spot in the leadership group.

But its sad that at just 24 his career has ended.I hope that the kids that get drafted next week realise that footy might not be forever. But I can see why he retired. If his knees are like this at 24 what will they be like when he is in his 40's or 50s. Good luck with your future Clint.

Probably like mine. And it aint good. I spoke to him at the B & F and told him I had my fingers crossed for him because if it worked I was going to try it for a similiar issue. He didn't look very confident of a positive outcome. What a career he had for a pick 60. In his first season played all 22 H & A games and did his knee in round 22 which meant he missed the finals. Wouldn't think too many pick 60's had a debut season like his.

Posted

Hate to see anyone not get a full crack at a footy career because of injury, it's very unfair. Especially when it is someone who had a dip and never gave anything less than 100% for the MFC. I know he wouldn't read this thread, but I hope he knows that the MFC faithful are very thankful for his efforts and he isn't lost to the club. Good luck with everything Barts.