Posted (edited)

His final game should be in round 23 but a fitting send off at the G against Adelaide in rd 22 would be the way to go.

Been a wonderful player over the journey but it's now time to bow out gracefully.

I hope he and the club are in amicable talks to make this happen.

* Edit:

Well done Brad, you did the right thing. Congratulations on a wonderful one-club career in the red and blue.

Edited by Range Rover

Posted

His final game should be in round 23 but a fitting send off at G against Adelaide in round 22 would be the way to go.

Been a wonderful player over the journey but it's now time to bow out gracefully.

Has there been an announcment?

Hope he plays the year Looked like his old self against the GC kids Was great to see!

Posted

I tend to agree that to go an extra year will be a mistake but please, please, please do not stuff this up MFC as you did with James McDonald. That doesn't mean let him play on if HE wants to but it sounds very much at this stage that Brad wants to go on so I would hate to see him blindsided and turn up in a GWS jumper.

Posted

Reckon he'll go around again.

Honestly, if you take a view that we cut, say, 13-14 players over 2 years, what difference does it make to cut him next year not this?

The outcome in the end will be the same, in that the 13-14 players will be gone in 2 years regardless of which ones go when.

Why nail Green this year when there are enough that can go before him?

Posted

His on vet list so he isnt even taking up a spot on the main list. hope he plays on. need the oldies and his a champion.

Posted

This thread is a bit misleading, before I opened it I was expecting to read that he had announced it.

Anyway judging by his last few games I think he will get another year, especially due to our serious lack of senior leaders.

Posted

Our team is drastically short on experience. Green would be a veteran, surely, so half of whatever we pay him (which probably wouldn't be much anyway) doesn't count against the cap. He consistently racks up good numbers when at Casey, which suggests to me that if the midfield delivery were to improve, he could still contribute two to three goals a game at AFL level... especially if Mitch and another piece of tall timber (Cloke, or otherwise) are taking the top two defenders.

I think he'll play another year (playing maybe 15 games), and I think it will work for both him and the club.

Posted

Last I heard re retirement I thought he said something about finals as a bow out. It's obviously not going to be this year, so I reckon he wants one more year.

If he continues in his current form I'd be happy for the club to give him another year. I don't we'll push him out like we did to Junior.

Posted

As I have previously said, there is absolutely 100% no doubt that Green will be given the opportunity to decide whether he wants to play on next year or not.

The club may try to pressure him to retire (not saying they should or shouldn't), but at the end of the day, I have enough faith that we have learnt our lessons from the McDonald debacle to let Green decide.

The decision on Green, either way, is in my view not going to be the reason we do or do not ultimately win a flag!

Posted

Never seen a more cut and dry case of when a player should retire.

Now is the time. He is barely surviving and 5 goals against Gold coast is a nice suprise for him.

Don't care what people think about needing experience. McDonald could still have an impact, but Brad is just a good VFL player these days.

Do the right thing and just hang up the boots in a few weeks. A few goals against some 19 year olds is no indication he is 'back'.

Posted

I hope he goes around again too, I thought the game might have passed him by, but I think if anything he has shown a fair whack of resilience to bounce back from being dropped as captain, dropped for form, a couple of injuries, and then comes back to play some good football for us.

We need a few older heads (especially if we turn over several players this year) and an incentive for him is also that he could push up to be 2nd or 3rd on most games played for the club if he has a solid year next year.

PS, not a big fan of the title of the thread. A question mark or something to suggest it hasn't been formally announced wouldn't' go astray

Guest bluey
Posted

His final game should be in round 23 but a fitting send off at G against Adelaide in round 22 would be the way to go.

Hey mate, why don't you do me a favor and retire yourself from the endless stream of steaming.
Posted

No. For heaven's sakes no!

If we send him off in Round 22 against Adelaide and he doesn't play against the Dockers in Round 23 then the bozos on On the Couch would go ape about us leaving him out and tanking for draft picks.

Brad has been a great servant of the club. I hope he can pick his own time to retire.

Posted

Unless Green pulls the pin himself, I think he should play again next year.

Watching him against the Suns it is obvious what he brings the side in terms of experience and skill.

As has been said previously, He is on the Vet's list so he isn't taking a spot on the main list.

Posted

I would rather him stay a year too long then leave a year early, and I still think he has a bit to offer and has been our most dangerous forward the last few weeks. One year deal if he is keen for it would be my plan.

Posted

We need to start showing some respect to the players like Green. We have recieved a bad reputation in recent times for offloading our own. Green has been a loyal player and captain of our club, and deserves to be able to make his own decision. An extra year offered is what he deserves, and he still can offer enough on and off the field. I also believe it would have a detremental effect on the young players we have, if they witnessed another of our players pushed out the door.

Posted

Hey mate, why don't you do me a favor and retire yourself from the endless stream of steaming.

This is obviously an issue that should be discussed so why don't you contribute something useful or don't bother typing at all.

Posted

He should definitely be offered another year. Absolute no brainer - for many reasons.

Firstly, he deserves it. He's clearly still good enough.

Second, it's a great statement as to the way we now treat loyal servants of the club and, in particular, our senior players (ie, we've learnt from the mistreatment of Junior and others during the Bailey years). In short, we've learnt from past mistakes and we're now intent on building a bloody good club culture.

Sign him up. ASAP.

Posted

If Brad Green looks Neeld in the eye and assures him that his body will enable him to make a meaningful contribution in 2013 and is passionate about playing one more year, then we should give it to him.

Don't go down the James McDonald path again!

13 goals in 4 matches is not a bad effort.

Posted

Yep on form I don't agree with O/P

Should have another year if anything we need the experience. I don't think in our position we can let 250games experience walk out without a really good reason.

I want him to stay on.

Posted

I can't see him being pushed after the Junior debacle.

He doesn't have currency like a Moloney or a Sylvia.

If he wants to play on, it's up to him and him only.

Posted

I think Brad, if he wants to go around again, will have to wait until the FA picture clears up.

And that is October.

I agree that he would be more value in 2013 than Petterd, Bate and Dunn.

Posted

Funny the same people getting all uppity about the treatment of Morton are telling Brad to retire...

Watch some footy mate, he's gotten better and better after a slow start to the year, should play on next year, and I would expect Neeld, who's on the record as CONTINUOUSLY saying we need more experience, would think the same.

Crap OP, and the way you expect it to happen because you say so is a joke.