Posted (edited)

Clark, Trengove, Jamar, Garland, McKenzie, Howe, Jones

Frawley, Tapscott, McDonald

Watts, Sylvia, Davey, Gysberts, Morton, Grimes, Taggert, Gawn, Martin, Tynan, Sellar (assumed automatic 2 yr deal),

OOC (in number order)

Batram, Bennell, Petterd, Blease, Strauss, Cook, Jurrah, MacDonald, Jetta, Davis, Spencer, Bail, Fitzpatrick

Rookies (upgrade or delist)

Nicholson ®, Evans ®, Lawrence ®

Rookies (1 year option)

Couch, Magner, Sheahan, Williams

RFA

Moloney

UFA

Green, Rivers, Bate, and Dunn.

Up to you who else deserves a contract.

18 are out of contract.

Posted

Out of those I think we have to sign Blease & Jurrah and would like to see Green get a one-year contract. The rest are either trade-bait, delist potential or lucky to get a minimum wage contract.

Posted

For mine?

No contract: Bate, Joel Macdonald, Dunn, Bartram (injury), Moloney

Maybe: Petterd, Spencer, Jetta, Davis, Fitzpatrick, Green

Re-contract: Bennell, Strauss, Cook, Blease, Jurrah, Bail, Rivers

Rookie Upgrade: Nicholson, Magner

Posted (edited)

Contracts: Strauss, Blease, Moloney, Rivers, Jurrah, Dunn, Cook

Upgrades: Nicholson, Magner

Delists: Bate, Bennell, Petterd, MacDonald, Spencer, Bail, Davis, Jetta, Fitzpatrick, Green (ret.)

Edited by Range Rover

Posted

Contracts: Strauss, Blease, Moloney, Rivers, Jurrah, Dunn, Cook, Dunn

Delists: Bate, Bennell, Petterd, MacDonald, Spencer, Bail, Davis, Jetta, Fitzpatrick, Green (ret.)

Too many delists maybe?

Posted

Some of these are going to be made at the last minute as we don't know how we will go at FA and what will be about in Delisted FA (that will certainly make the PSD for those wanted by their clubs but they don't want to stay - ie. not many...especially if they go into the Nat Draft).

It will be interesting to see whether there is much at all in the PSD...

Posted

Contracts: Strauss, Blease, Moloney, Rivers, Jurrah, Cook, Dunn, Bail, Fitzpatrick, Green, MacDonald

Upgrades: Nicholson

Delists: Bate, Bennell, Petterd, Spencer, Davis, Jetta

Attempt to trade: Morton

Unsure: Bartram

We would then have picks something like #3, #4, #13, #25 (Viney hopefully), #43, #60/PSD pick #3

The problem with making wholesale changes is that new draftees get two years. For that reason I would prefer to give a greater number of players one-year contracts.

Posted

Too many delists maybe?

Possibly. I've got ten to clear out but if I had to keep two of them I'd retain Spencer and Jetta.

A lot will depend on the FA situation as Rpfc notes.

Minimum 8 delists though IMO.

Posted

Must resign Blease, Jurrah (pending court case), Green for one year and Rivers.

I will reserve judgement on the rest until the end of the season.

Upgrade: Nicholson, Magner

Posted

For mine?

No contract: Bate, Joel Macdonald, Dunn, Bartram (injury), Moloney

Maybe: Petterd, Spencer, Jetta, Davis, Fitzpatrick, Green

Re-contract: Bennell, Strauss, Cook, Blease, Jurrah, Bail, Rivers

Rookie Upgrade: Nicholson, Magner

I know how you're going to feel about this, but I reckon we should sign Moloney over Bennell. Also, as much as JMac makes me cringe, I think they'll give him another one and see how he goes. More likely than someone like Petterd I reckon.

Posted (edited)

I think they'll probably start with delisting Bate, Dunn, Petterd, Bartam, Bennell and Jetta, although I can understand that they might stick with Bartram and Bennell as rookies (if they can). Green might get the push to take it up to 7.

I don't think they'll get rid of Moloney, Blease, Strauss, Cook, Jurrah, Davis, Spencer, Bail or Fitzpatrick. MacDonald might be the extra one.

It seems unlikely they'll go higher than 8 - that's a hell of a lot of upgrades/draft picks...

Davey will probably go as well, so that gets up towards 9.

And if you were poor old Cale, you'd want to have a good year next year. Still, I think anybody cheering him getting subbed off (whether they thought he was being dragged or knew he was injured) should take a pretty good look at themselves.

Edited by Undeeterred
Guest KingDingAling
Posted

I think they'll probably start with delisting Bate, Dunn, Petterd, Bartam, Bennell and Jetta, although I can understand that they might stick with Bartram and Bennell as rookies (if they can). Green might get the push to take it up to 7.

I don't think they'll get rid of Moloney, Blease, Strauss, Cook, Jurrah, Davis, Spencer, Bail or Fitzpatrick. MacDonald might be the extra one.

It seems unlikely they'll go higher than 8 - that's a hell of a lot of upgrades/draft picks...

Davey will probably go as well, so that gets up towards 9.

And if you were poor old Cale, you'd want to have a good year next year. Still, I think anybody cheering him getting subbed off (whether they thought he was being dragged or knew he was injured) should take a pretty good look at themselves.

Guilty.

Posted

For me, Bate, Dunn, Jetta and Bennell go without hesitation. Unfortunately for Jamie, the decision is made simple by virtue of his knee injury. Jetta - delist. He doesn't excite me at all, and doesn't have one outrageous talent that makes up for his general average ability and size. We've seen over 8 years what Bate and Dunn give us.

Looking at the OOC list, you could throw a blanket over a few of these blokes. I mean, I would delist both Bartram and MacDonald. Bartram, for all his courage, just butchers the ball by foot and we can't lament our horrid foot skills and retain one of the worst offenders if we are fair dinkum. Neeld may have a fancy for him based on the gritty type of player he is, so that could save him. He will need to make a full recovery from his injury to stay. MacDonald has been serviceable, but is usually good for one or two horrendous clangers a game that cost the team a goal and/or change momentum. You could keep one or both of them on one year contracts, but I wouldn't.

Spencil gets a reprieve based on his freakish human frame. All of our ruckmen, including jake, have injury issues, and I see him as an inexpensive backup ruckmen still with his best football ahead of him.

Green. My judgment on this is clouded because I've always liked him. When your fondest football memory is set up by one player in particular, I find that tough to forget. The case for Green is that he is still a good forward target, is a proven goal kicker in a side bereft of them, and is experienced, which given my other delistings is a factor. To be honest, I don't pay close enough attention to his chasing to know if hs defensive shortcomings make him more of a liability. I'm leaning towards giving him another year on the vets list. I don't discount the importance of treating our veterans with some respect in light of recent grumblings about our treatment of other vets like McDonald. Not that we should now hand out charity contracts, of course, but it shouldn't be dismissed instantly.

Jurrah obviously gets re-signed pending his legal outcome. Big loss for us this year. Blease, Rivers and Strauss to stay also.

Petterd to get the chop. What happened to that guy?

Fitzpatrick to get the guillotine also. He's the opposite of Green for me. I first saw him at the under-18 carnival where he put in a laughable performance and then watched in horror as Barry "Crocker" Prendergast drafted him. I didn't expect a big man to dominate after three years, but he's been nowhere near it.

Bail. Well, he can stay if the price is right. I've got 8 delistings from the senior list so it depends how deep we go into the draft and how we attack free agency and trading. Not keen to upgrade any of the rookies. Got to hope we can do better with the draft.

Posted

Guilty.

Jesus, that's poor form.

Posted

Did you know he'd been injured?

If you were at the game, I don't know how anyone could miss it.

It was a big loud collision, and he was unmistakably injured badly.

Poor poor form.

Posted

I was there but had no idea he hurt himself. Not sure how i missed it if was so obvious but there you go

Posted

Contracts: Strauss, Blease, Moloney, Rivers, Jurrah, Dunn, Cook

I'd be re-signing Spencer, give Green one extra year, MacDonald gets another contract for mine (depth backman), Petterd gets re-signed (only just), Nicholson gets upgraded, but Magner stays on the rookie list. Look for a trade for Moloney. His confidence is shot and is a limited player as is.

However, staggered that you've given Dunn another contract, RR. Delist for mine. The only way I can see him playing on is in an Andrew Mackie type role across HB. I just don't think he has the smarts for the role. He certainly has the foot-skills, but struggles one-on-one. One thing that is noticeable over the last few weeks is that the backline is developing a number of kicking options, with the likes of Dunn and Strauss going back there. We've certainly missed that back their. The only issue is neither of them are good one-on-one players at the moment.

I'll pop this one out there. If we draft a Cloke, McDonald continues to progress, Frawley is a lynchpin back there and Garland is better suited back, where does Rivers fit in? I can't see a spot for him. His lack of pace is an issue too.

Posted

Poor poor form.

To be fair if you were sitting on the other side of the ground you may not have known.

Posted

What about the medical staff helping a visibly injured Morton off the ground?

I'd say if you missed it, you probably weren't paying a great deal of attention.

In any case, just applauding an early substitution in general is poor form.

But all footy clubs have a percentage of **** supporters.

Posted

What about the medical staff helping a visibly injured Morton off the ground?

I'd say if you missed it, you probably weren't paying a great deal of attention.

In any case, just applauding an early substitution in general is poor form.

But all footy clubs have a percentage of **** supporters.

The poor bloke was clearly writhing in agony. Any 'supporter' who cheered/jeered him coming off should ban themselves for life.