Posted

providing Frawley and Calrk come up and Magners ankle is ok here are the first 2 changes im suggesting.

In Frawley Clark

Out Joel Macdonald Dunn

I know people have said Dunn did a good job on Fiisher, well not in the 1st quarter he didnt. Dunnis a foward. he had a great kick on him but he needs to do more. Id like to see Pettard in as well and I hate to say it but maybe we have to drop Watts

Posted

I hate to say it but maybe we have to drop Watts

Because apparently one poor game gets you shunted.......

Posted (edited)

Out: Watts, Sellar, Dunn

In: Clark, Frawley, and Martin or Fitzpatrick

Edited by dandeeman
Posted

Mine:

Out: Sellar, Tappy (love him, but needs fitness, got outrun by a ruckman ffs), Dunn, Injured player that pops up during the week

In: Clark, Frawley, Couch, Martin (Petterd emergency)

Posted

I know people have said Dunn did a good job on Fiisher, well not in the 1st quarter he didnt. Dunnis a foward. he had a great kick on him but he needs to do more. Id like to see Pettard in as well and I hate to say it but maybe we have to drop Watts

Dunn didn't have Fisher in the 1st quarter. Watts did. After he had 10 disposals on Watts in Q1 Dunn took him and gave up 2 in the next quarter. Not sure what the stats were in the third, but given that he finished with 23 and got plenty in the 4th, it can't have been many.

We really missed Clark today. He has to come back in. Likewise Frawley if fit.

Assuming we get them both back, I would say Joel Mac and either Watts or Seller will go. Sad to say but Watts was very bad tonight.

Posted

I agree Sellar was a bit ordinaire and couldn't mark the pill to save himself but I liked his attack on the footy. He was playing relief ruck, so unless Martin or Fitzpatrick come in, Sellar will likely stay.

Posted

Because apparently one poor game gets you shunted.......

There is having a bad night, then there is having a bad night.

Only the Coaching staff and JW himself will know the reason behind that performance tonight, there may be mitigating factors. He had a bad night.

Posted

In: frawley, Clark,

Out: sellar, Dunn,

I'd be happy with this, maybe try to find a spot for Petterd if he plays well for Casey. But the forums (and admittedly mine as well) whipping boy, Morton, played the best game I've seen from him for a VERY long time and he would probably be the most likely person to give way for Ricky Bobby. Joel Mac might come out for Chip, and Ricky could come in for Sellar.

In: Petterd, Frawley, Clark

Out: Sellar, Joe Mac, Dunn

Posted

I didn't think Sellar was too bad tonight. Sure he battles to mark but I thought he played a clever, hard working and discipline game. Maybe it was because he was up against Stanley but he wasn't too bad in the ruck either. Same for Dunn. He did his job against Sam Fisher, I'd be inclined to keep him.

Out: Macdonald, Watts

In: Frawley, Clark

Watts just offers very little at the moment so I think its time to send him back to Casey and see if he can play as a CHF. If he can't there he won't at AFL level this year and therefore its time to play him in other positions and for him to compete with the incumbents in those positions.

I'm 50/50 with Tappy. Playing half forward in our team is hard and when he did get the ball he was ok. I don't want to drop him but if Couch or others have more to offer I'd understand if he is dropped.

Posted

There is having a bad night, then there is having a bad night.

Only the Coaching staff and JW himself will know the reason behind that performance tonight, there may be mitigating factors. He had a bad night.

Yeah I saw it, granted only on TV and I agree with he was particularly ordinary.....

My point however was that he has been one of our best up until tonight and yet after one, granted, dreadfully poor performance he gets the bullet.

And he apparently gets it ahead of others that have been worse for longer in other games and have been kept in the side regardless.

But hey if you want him gone I'm sure your not alone.

Posted

For Watts' own sake, I think he should be dropped after tonight's game, ahead of blokes like Dunn, Sellar or Macdonald.

Posted (edited)

Watts had a very bad game tonight but I don't think you can crucify him off the back of one poor game. OK he hasn't dominated this year but he has been OK. Look at Tom McDonald last week everyone wanted him dropped then he comes out tonight and gives Riewoldt a bath. Watts has been around a couple of years now but you can't have these kids in and out of the side like yo-yo's and you can't drop them after one poor performance. You need to give them their chance to redeem themselves and not second guess every decision because they're afraid of being dropped again once they come back. Same with guys like Morton, you need to play them for 6-8 weeks even if they're not playing well to get some confidence and rhythm going. If after that time they're still no good then they need to go to Casey or perhaps strike a line through them.

On Dunn, this is the second week in a row he has been sent to the oppositions key defensive playmaker after they have torn us up in the first quarter and he has shut them down. Granted he needs to make them accountable also and hurt them the other way but I think he has been OK. It was a mistake subbing him off especially straight after that goal as he was shutting down Fisher and another goal would've seen Fisher more worried about Dunn that setting up the play.

For mine I would have

IN: Clark, Frawley, Petterd

OUT: Sellar, Macdonald, not sure who here perhaps Davey or Tapscott

I'd also consider dropping Jamar for Martin or Fitzpatrick. Not a huge fan of Martin and unsure if Fitzpatrick is up to it (yet) but Jamar at the moment gives us nothing. He apparently got 55 hit outs tonight but I didn't see many that set up the play for us. There not much use if they just get tapped straight down to his feet and he gives us nothing around the ground. I thought it was emblematic of where he's at that in the 3rd there was a boundary throw-in deep in our forward pocket and we didn't have a ruckman to contest. Despite this we won the contest and kicked a goal. So what use are our ruckman for us at the moment anyway, we'd be better off just having an extra midfielder and trying to shark the opposition ruckman.

Posted

Mine:

Out: Sellar, Tappy (love him, but needs fitness, got outrun by a ruckman ffs), Dunn, Injured player that pops up during the week

In: Clark, Frawley, Couch, Martin (Petterd emergency)

Stuei get over yourself that Ruckman Rhys Stanley has won two GF Sprints and is no slouch

Posted

Stuei get over yourself that Ruckman Rhys Stanley has won two GF Sprints and is no slouch

Get over myself? Go easy mate. Was only backing up the point made by MFC during the week that Tappy had an interrupted preseason and is a bit behind in fitness, hence why he was not included this week and would have been playing for Casey if not for Frawley's late withdrawal.

Posted

We are no longer the side who played freewheeling footy under Bailey, so those calling for Dunn to be dropped need to understand under Neeld we will be defensive in every part of the ground and he will stay in he fits into Neelds structure as our defensive forward. Sellar did a good job pinchitting in the ruck and probably due to the conditions took the option of bringing the ball to ground rather than trying to take a grab, don't mind this in wet weather footy.

Glad to see Morton at the 13 min mark of 3rd quarter bypass the ball and hit Goddard front on. On Effort tonight most stay in but obviously Clarke and Frawley come back

Posted

Out:Watts,On a night when when it was up for the taking he gave nothing, don't think he has the fire in the belly to make it.

Davey, has become such a outside player he may as well be selling records outside the ground,

In: Clarke for Watts

Pettard for Davey

Posted

In: Frawley Clark

Out: Dunn MacDonald

Sellar gets a reprieve owing to fact that we'll need his big frame against the Cats. I'm keen to see Fitzpatrick blooded but not in this game.

Watts better lift next weekend or he goes on the chopping block.

Posted

Out:Watts,On a night when when it was up for the taking he gave nothing, don't think he has the fire in the belly to make it.

Davey, has become such a outside player he may as well be selling records outside the ground,

In: Clarke for Watts

Pettard for Davey

Davey has been much improved the last few weeks, and I would be disappointed and surprised to see him out. I'd like to see **Petterd** given a run, but I think that Watts will stay in meaning there is no room for him in the side. **Clark** will definitely be in provided he's fit, as will Frawley.

I'd go:

IN: Clark, Frawley

Out: Sellar, Dunn

Posted

Some silly outs being listed in this thread. I reckon Neeld will go close to selecting the same side next week, except for Clark and Frawley returning for probably Macdonald and maybe Sellar.

Posted
Some silly outs being listed in this thread. I reckon Neeld will go close to selecting the same side next week, except for Clark and Frawley returning for probably Macdonald and maybe Sellar.

Agree Very little change for the cats,

just the two obvious ones, keep it settled if you can !

But I still would like Petterd in, for more than one week at a time !

at least last night we supporters could lift our heads and be a little proud of the boys,

and more to the point so could they !!

Go Dees give 'em HELL!!!