Posted

First and foremost, it is clear the seat Neeld has sat in has nails. Bloke cannot sit still.

Interesting conversation, he's been asked alot of big questions and in my opinion has sort of gone around the question. A little bit disappointed in his responses. What do you guys think?

Posted

he looks seriously mad about the performance on saturday(as he should be)

seems to handle himself very well in the media

Posted

looked uncomfortable literally that couch was way too small for him

Posted

he looks seriously mad about the performance on saturday(as he should be)

seems to handle himself very well in the media

Do you think deeflog? I thought he justified it a little too well for my liking. Said he was impressed with first half etc etc when really we were lucky to be even and we shouldn't be with a team like Brisbane.

I do understand though, that at the same time you can't come out and all week just rip into the team and your personal performance because it looks worse but just wanted few more answers.

Posted

Thought he was fantastic.

Said at the media conference he was speaking to the members. Not the footy world.

Posted

Don't expect wholesale changes at selection if his comments are anything to go by.

Posted

I get the feeling he wishes he hadn't said what he said in the press conference, but that he still 100% believes it. No Davey, no Green on the weekend. You can put your house on that. I hope he keeps an honest dialogue with the supporters, because I really appreciate it. Regardless of how we went on the weekend, there's not one coach in the league I would prefer over Neeldy. Absolute gun. Just you wait and see.

Posted

Yeah he's impressive, hope he doesn't lose his penchant to be so candid, I think he will have to over time.

Posted

Thought it was interesting that the footage that Roosy chose to illustrate the lack of a defensive mindset was the same footage that Neeld and co had shown to the playing group.

Posted

The footage showed was alot about Jones.

Jones was one example among several.

Posted

Really impressed with his performance tonight. He understands his responsibility to the members and supporters. His honesty is fantastic - he will find it impossible to [censored], no matter how much pressure is put on him. I don't think he'll drop Davey going into a game at Subiaco, but I reckon a couple of the other older blokes could be in a lot of trouble. Looking forward to seeing what Thomas has to say for himself.

Posted (edited)

The footage showed was alot about Jones.

The only one which didn't show a stoppage (where you would expect to see Jones) had the apparently "close-checking" Clint Bartram drawn to the ball (and away from his opponent) like a block of iron drawn to a magnet. Cue that very same opponent becoming freed up, receiving the ball and kicking it straight down a team-mate's throat.

Posted (edited)

He looked completely uncomfortable! He'll get better over time.

Quite the contrary... I thought he looked very comfortable considering that he must have known what kind of grilling was coming. I particularly liked the way he was eyeballing his interrogators and refused to be intimidated. Handled himself very well indeed and was very forthright with his comments.

Edited by hardtack
Posted

When Gerard Healy implied that he had insulted the senior players by withdrawing them from the leadership group I could just feel Neeld wanting to say

"mate did you see them play on the weekend"

Luckily he showed some restraint

Posted

Quite the contrary... I thought he looked very comfortable considering that he must have known what kind of grilling was coming. I particularly liked the way he was eyeballing his interrogators and refused to be intimidated. Handled himself very well indeed and was very forthright with his comments.

Haha in hindsight reading these comments I do agree in most counts. There was one question where he had the most awkward pause- think it was after will you be dropping any big guns or to do with the gameplan and god I was yelling at the TV 'talk Mark talk!'

Posted

I thought he was quite emotional and the crew backed off (and glanced at each other)when they saw he was close to spilling over either with anger or dismay. I thought others here would see it as well so maybe I misread him. Im not anti-MN.

But I wasnt happy when asked if he had insulted the senior players by exclusion to the LG, and he replied it wasnt only his decision.

In retrospect he was saying that that little gem was handed to him when he signed on.

Again my ongoing reflection of 186 needs a Warren commision.

Posted

Roos appeared surprised when Neeld said that the decision to appoint the two Jack's was not solely his own final decision.

Posted

Don't expect wholesale changes at selection if his comments are anything to go by.

You think?

How about his comments at the post-match press conference where he directly addressed this topic and said he'd make changes?

Posted

Haha in hindsight reading these comments I do agree in most counts. There was one question where he had the most awkward pause- think it was after will you be dropping any big guns or to do with the gameplan and god I was yelling at the TV 'talk Nick talk!'

His name is Mark.

Posted

That's right Arsene but after tonight on the couch he seemed to be backing away from those earlier comments.

Posted

Roos appeared surprised when Neeld said that the decision to appoint the two Jack's was not solely his own final decision.

He's always said that it would be a consultation process to some extent. He spoke to the entire team before making the call. Maybe there were certain players who were exclude from the discussions at the order of the board, or maybe it was simply a case of the playing group not having real confidence in the leaders of 2011. I suspect we will never know exactly how this played out.

Given that both captains have been talked about as "future captains" since they joined the club, I'm not at all bothered that the process has been hastened. It is a clear statement of intent regarding the senior playing group. They are on notice and need to show him something.