The Fevola vote

tonatopia

Should the MFC draft fevola as a rookie in 2012?  

314 members have voted

Fevola (30 years old) - 623 goals in 204 AFL games - 2 Coleman Medals, 2 All Australians and 7 time Carlton leading goal kicker

Miller (28 years old) - 100 goals in 144 AFL games -

Doh! Yep lets take Miller!

Well well

• Replies 276

Wow he kicked ten against Frankston.. who have won two games in two years. Maybe we should take Miller back because he wrecked Gold Coast last year?

Good point, but like peeps keep saying it's only the VFL. You expect him to kick more with the quality or lack thereof he's got around him?? (generally i mean....not every player is of lessor quality in the VFL compared to AFL and i'm sure there's some players who are better in this league than their counterparts upstairs. But they would be few and far between in comparison).

For everyone who says...."big deal, it's only the VFL", well you can't have it both ways. The quality of delivery and general footy is probably a leveler for anyone going in there. As would be the general atmosphere or lack thereof on many occasions. You wanna gimme some stats on other top AFL players (in particular key forwards...Pods excluded as he spent most of his career there) who've ended up there for one reason or other for more than a few weeks, kicking huge bags every other week?

And anyway, it was 11 :P. How many you want him to kick in a lessor league to be happy? 15 ... 20 every other week? He kicked 7 against Coburg, yeah 3rd last, but it was in a losing side and he did make the best players. No these aren't necessarily a good indicator of his true form or likely form were he to move up a level, granted. But he's starting to show something.

And, as others have said, he's a proven goal kicker at the highest level over many years, and a good deal of that prior to the machine man Judd came in to take the Blues to another level.

We recalled Sylvia after one week down there and he did pretty much diddly squat in the VFL and followed up with same in the the seniors on Sunday. And, in one of his moments when he decided to contribute, he put in one of the most selfish plays i've seen when ignoring Dunn from the pocket and instead going for the glory goal. Wont get much more selfish/stupid than that from Fev i'd reckon.

Fev aint the long term answer to our forward situation, but we sure aren't exactly killing them there atm. If it puts pressure on a Green/Jurrah/Dunn/Sylvia (a part time forward) etc AND he performs as asked without the antics under a rolling short term contract, i'm all for it (subject to my previous SUBJECT TO post up there).

I tell you what else he does, he gives the boys who are inexperienced, and some of the more experienced as well down there....a little hope. They can now BOMB the ball like they tend to do so often and probably get a decent return with Howe, Fev & Petterd down there. Imagine the marking power fellas. Both in the air and in a one on one or pack dual. The opposition wouldn't know who to cover or how to with those kind of variations in style! :blink:

Common demoniods (at least those who are against this)...fire up and wake up outta your slumber lol! You've been losing so long you're now accepting that everything's ok and will be. It's not. You gotta roll the dice sometimes. We need to explore all avenues in order to get that winning culture and help these boys on the road to success. They haven't tasted enough of it. And too much losing will ingrain itself on their Psyche. As often said by the greats, 80% of this game is played above the shoulders. It'll be extremely hard to reverse that 'losing feeling', no matter who or what you bring to this club if it goes on much longer.

It's been 5 years now. That's half a decade, and we're coming into our 50 year anniversary without a premiership.

It's time to get a bit more ruthless and adventurous. Way too conservative at this place right now supporter wise. No, FEV isn't the messiah to our long term forward line set up, and nor will he likely make our next GF team. But he just might help fill part of the puzzle in getting us there along the way.

I wasn't totally sure, but now it has been confirmed that at least 41% of Demonland posters need to seek immediate medical help.

I'm not happy as a Demons supporter right now but NOTHING would sway me to think Fevola in a Melbourne jumper would be a good idea. Career over!

Fevola (30 years old) - 623 goals in 204 AFL games - 2 Coleman Medals, 2 All Australians and 7 time Carlton leading goal kicker

Miller (28 years old) - 100 goals in 144 AFL games -

Doh! Yep lets take Miller!

Yep, +1. At least Brad will teach the young boys how to be good upstanding young citizens off the field!! I don't care if he doesn't score much and help us win a few games....as long as we stay a nice club with nice boys playing a nice happy game :wacko:

Fev should take Campbells spot on the rookie list.

yes i amin favour of this or what about the other obvious choice juice, i say give him a break seems to be on the up with his life with a strict budget contract

Yep, +1. At least Brad will teach the young boys how to be good upstanding young citizens off the field!! I don't care if he doesn't score much and help us win a few games....as long as we stay a nice club with nice boys playing a nice happy game :wacko:

MFC the kindergarten club.

Absolutely draft Fevola, on the condition he becomes the first ever brain transplant recipient.

AGREE....rhe worst thing that could happen is he gets the sack..

Let's just ignore the fact that he'll take up a spot on the list of some kid who has even the slightest chance of being a part of our future. Let's also forget the fact that a portion of the funds the club is seemingly so desperate for from supporters to pay their players will go towards paying 31-year-old menace. Let's forget the fact that he'll stifle the development of forwards (i.e. Jeremy Howe, Liam Jurrah, Jack Watts) who are young and need an opportunity. Let's ignore the fact that when, not if, Brendan screws up again, the MFC 'brand' will suffer further damage (in light of the events of the past few weeks). Let's also forget the fact that to hire a 31-year-old would be equivalent to spitting in the face of players, such as James McDonald, who were given the boot due to a youth policy that seemingly would not exist were we to hire Fevola.

Seriously man? I could go on...

We have never had a player kick 100goals. Fevola may do that for us.

5-7 years ago yes

Don't get caught up in a romance novel.

Fevola has had a privileged position he was a head liner for a decade

He sabotaged it all, himself, his team, his management, his family and anybody that knew him

He had a 2nd chance which is more than most get and he [censored] up against the wall.

Fevola offers no answers

I am bewildered that some see him as even being an option

Fevola is not an option, not ever, no way, no how.

Make Juice Full Forward

wait...

scratch that...

Fevola offers so much more because...

wait...

scratch that...

Might just try and grow our own

A commitment of a 2 year contract is nothing, but fits our time frame for our young forwards development perfectly. When Cook & Fitzpatrick are demanding the spot, Fev will get dropped.

When the young fellas lose form they'll get dropped.

It's really simple, if anyone steps out of line, they go back to Casey. Having a choice of available forwards is the best position to be in.

The ones who'll feel the pinch, are Dunn and Bate if he's still there, and anyone who's not going in hard or not pulling their weight.

The young guys will only be expected to get up to 10 - 12 games next year,, or if we play them all season we'll be 10th again. It'll be 2013 before their strong enough to play the Key role on their own right. As it will be for wattsy as well. Tom McDonald & Cook have a heavier frame than Wattsy

Let's just ignore the fact that he'll take up a spot on the list of some kid who has even the slightest chance of being a part of our future. Let's also forget the fact that a portion of the funds the club is seemingly so desperate for from supporters to pay their players will go towards paying 31-year-old menace. Let's forget the fact that he'll stifle the development of forwards (i.e. Jeremy Howe, Liam Jurrah, Jack Watts) who are young and need an opportunity. Let's ignore the fact that when, not if, Brendan screws up again, the MFC 'brand' will suffer further damage (in light of the events of the past few weeks). Let's also forget the fact that to hire a 31-year-old would be equivalent to spitting in the face of players, such as James McDonald, who were given the boot due to a youth policy that seemingly would not exist were we to hire Fevola.

How about the headline;

FEVOLA the PHEONIX

Brendan Fevola just like Ben Cousins is proof that a mans will is greater than his reputation. Fevola has straightened up the demons by playing deep in forward line and enticing the melbourne midfielders to kick the ball long and direct to the goal square. Not only has fevola kicked 90 goals for the season, but he has been a god send to wonamirri, also the showman who is relishing the direct style of football and has kicked 60 goals for the season crumbing off Brendan. Fevola has taken the pressure off watts and also freed up Liam Jurrah, allowing the players to roam and develop without pressure. Fevola as the focal point deep at full forward, has reduced midfield turnovers by demanding a direct and long kicking attacking style. He is a dead eye dick and has strong hands taking the best and biggest backman. Melbourne now has a genuine chance at impacting on the finals campaign and all credit must be given to new coach Matthews/Malthouse who understands that champion full-forwards are worth their weight in gold when coached with confidence and dicipline.

Just like cousins, Fevola has added a new enthusiasm to the demons players and supporters, with membership at 44000 and greater attendances the MFC has found the momentum they need to embark on their new journey of success.

Is this possible?

Edited by tonatopia

To sack Junior and hire the Fev would make us look more schizophrenic than we really are ,if I may speak for the group today .

Lol....and you are

We already self imploded off the field and on this year....with absolutely no help from Fev. The Brands looking just great without him....oh yeah. Funniest post of seen in a while, but i knew it was coming.....

thats the problem, footy is not a kindergarten.

It is a gladiatorial sport, sometimes incorporating some crazy mother fcukers.

get real.

Best post I havae read on this sight!

We just do not have any crazy muther fcuckers!!!

To sack Junior and hire the Fev would make us look more schizophrenic than we really are ,if I may speak for the group today .

Totally different Captain. Junior, who I loved as a leader was competitive but we needed to have the space to fasttrack Scully & Trengove & Gysberts etc, & was 34 i think.

We need to get our young forwards too build their bodies, while still giving them up to 11games each next year. We don't really want them to get the best, or 2nd best defenders just yet.

Mcdonald is different as he will be playing defence mostly, so he'll be the Hunter rather than the Hunted. But when forward you'd hope to play him & Cooky/Fitzy 3rd tall.

There Is a temporary spot where we need that mature Tall forward. Last year Hale was chased but now Gawn & Martin have impressed in the Ruck/Follower roles.

So that leaves the specialist Full Forward area. 2 years part time is Perfect.

Lol....and you are

We already self imploded off the field and on this year....with absolutely no help from Fev. The Brands looking just great without him....oh yeah. Funniest post of seen in a while, but i knew it was coming.....

It's a legitimate concern. Why do you think club's were reluctant to pick him up after Carlton delisted him? Brisbane took the plunge, and look what happened. How many off-field discretions did he have at Carlton?

The fact that you actually want us to pick up Brendan Fevola at this stage of the squad's development, at his age and with his history (screwing over no less than two former employers), places the joke fairly and squarely on you.

'Lol...and you are' - what does this mean? Do I not have a right to contribute to this thread too? Or is it reserved only for the MFC brains trust...

So you're saying that there is NO chance that he could replace a senior (+25) on the (full) list? Senior positions filled and 100% effective playing full seasons? 75%?

He's already taking a spot at Casey where, apparently, in a newfound hardness we will be relegating players to (at least for one game) if they dont perform, AND we're supposedly planning on building them up more in the VFL until they're 'ready' so .. he'll be taking their spots anyway staying with Casey? Granted he could be picked up by another club.

Funds? Doesn't the AFL have a serious clubs-will-pay-100%-of-tpp policy in motion? So we pay the 8 odd mill regardless of who is on the list?

Stifle development? If he's performing well enough (across the board) he'll be in the seniors and not at Casey, freeing up the FF position for developing forwards. Granted he could be picked up by another club.

Did the Tiger Brand suffer damage with Cousins? Did he add to the bottom line? Arizona? Fundraising is important - across multiple streams. Is it Fevs problem the club aired its dirty laundry?

I'm sorry, but I thought we abondoned the development policy when we dumped Bailey because the team lost by too much? Isn't that why Jurrah is at Casey? Why senior players that were selected sporadically through much this year now find themselves locked in? If you have another explanation I'd be keen to hear it.

I'm not even FOR Fev. Though not AGAINST.

A minor point. He isn't 31 yet. He's 30. Turns 31 in January next year. If he's managed well.....who knows. Might play till 33 / 34. Robert Harvey played till 37. that's an extreme i know. But with today's scientific and fitness programs being so advanced and with a little luck on his side injury wise. Who knows.

Spitting in Jmac's face? Mate, The Jmac issue walked out the door with Bailey. A new coach and his assistants etc will decide on the best mix of youth experience from here. And they certainly wont be worried in the least about past player's noses being outta joint if the right senior player is on offer, be it Fev or someone else ...maybe Pav! Maybe they'll get both, and we'll have a PEVLOVA combo forward line.

Nor did Fev cause the 'youth policy' Jmac issue either. It would seem that from your side of the fence, It's almost like everything bad that did happen and is likely to happen at the MFC past present and future, is already, and would be the fault of Mr B Fevola.... were he to ever come near our precious club rooms and delicate forwards. Maybe you'd prefer we return to our former lovely name of Melbourne Fuschias to further instill the delicate nature of our boys. Hopefully they can then grow and bloom a little without such a nasty Fev weed around to constrict them!

Stifling the development of Howe, Jurrah and Watts? :lol: Are you sure you aren't related to RR by any chance lol? How exactly would he do this were he to even get a contract at the MFC (something that is highly doubtful anyway)? Howe is getting plenty of opportunity right now and he certainly isn't of similar ilk or style of player in comparison to fev. That wont change if Fev happened to enter.

Same goes for Air Jurrah (AJ), whom may i add is where at the moment? Yep, you guessed it, playing in the magoos (or the equivalent at Casey) with Fev as AJ was doing so well at developing in the seniors recently without Fev alongside him!

Reality is AJ's isn't developing as the FD would have liked him to. Otherwise he wouldn't be there. This includes things that some peeps on here believe Fev wont be doing much of either, like not putting enough pressure on his opponents when he doesn't have the ball inside 50 (a deeflator for our young forwards you think?) and looking disinterested if things aren't going his way (a great example for our young developing forwards eh).

AJ also loves to try and dribble the ball through the goals when it's completely unnecessary and he could just as well kick it straight through for a certain goal, instead of just 1 point at crucial times during a match (deemoralising our young developing forwards maybe?).

Something i'm sure Fev would also do alot surely you think? Umm...well....no. Generally he's goal kicking is very effective. Hence all the Coleman medals.

Many forget what Fev was like when he was starring. He had an excellent all round game both defensively and offensively for a while there. Sure it wasn't very consistent i'll admit. But the potential for it is there and when it is, believe me, his tackles will stick.

As for Watts. Well Watts is playing 'bit part' roles in the forward line at the moment. And his bod just isn't ready to take the big hits on a full time basis as a key forward in a role similar to Fev. That and the fact that he's so versatile, an excellent ball user/link man, and that he's able to get to so many contests, makes him a prime candidate for Jack of all trades wherever the FD sees fit atm. And atm, a good percentage of that time is down back. He's probably 2 pre-seasons away at least from holding down or being able to compete in a key forward role full time. Which may well be the time that Fev departs, were he to be drafted, which again is 98% unlikely (at least by the MFC anyway).

In addition.....Fev has a strong distast for the Filth, similar to us......

He also hits hard if you get in his way in a marking contest...but in a fair way ie., just going hard at the contest. Might be handy in taking out opposition loose men in defence, like Nick Maxwell......and low and behold....this might make things a tad easier for other smaller bodied forwards therafter, like Howe, Jurrah and Watts. In addition, by having Fev there and so dangerous to the opposition, they may well double team him. Again this frees up our younger brigade as a potential option when this happens. He also shows some sportsman like conduct at the end of this clip...

Maybe his best days are behind him..... but gee he was awesome wasn't he.... an excitement machine and match winner on his day....and this was pre Judd and Kruezer cup days.....

Fev Show vs The Bombres

And boy, could he kick straight...and from any angle. Oh, he also kicks goals at grounds that we usually suck on, from any angles . Like deep in the pockets at footy park (ok so that's going). But seems to love Etihad too! Basically it doesn't matter. He's a goal scoring machine if he's in form and fit. He also chases, tackles, causes turnovers (forward press) and goals from them when he's fit and in form. And, if he's on, and we're getting the best out of our group even as they stand now, we can beat anyone on our day...how exciting would that be while our young rookies grow and develop. Wow, we start to develop a winning culture at the MFC a little earlier as a result...god forbid....

Yeah, i know, there's gonna be a heap of you clamoring to post your 20 or more "Fev's worst" in order to hit me over the head with many bad Fev examples. Fire away peeps. I've seen it. I know the ugly 'off field" side lol. Heyy i don't particularly like the guy in that regard. Like i said earlier....this is about hypothesizing and 'what ifs'. And in my case 'Subject to' a whole lot of things being done correctly from a management and contract side.

Before i finish on this. And i mean finish. I don't wish to spend any more time on something that has a 2% or less chance of happening lol. You may want to check out the KC review of the match against Coburg. 1 match doesn't make a season or a player or a potential returning veteran/draftee....but it's worth a look just to see what's taking place. I've included a few excerpts. Oh, for those who hate Fev, or the thought of him coming anywhere near the MFC...look away now!! ....

The Casey Scorpions missed out on the perfect opportunity to secure a top four position on Saturday when they capitulated for the second time this year against a more determined Coburg Tigers.

The defeat came despite a strong performance by full forward Brendan Fevola who was in fine form with his marking, leading and kicking to finish with seven goals.

Matthew Bate struck a purple patch with two goals within minutes to restore the lead. Bate had an opportunity to further extend the lead but the redhead's rushed snap from 15 metres missed everything and went out of bounds on the full.

From this point onwards it was mainly all Coburg for the remainder of the term with Fevola the only Casey forward who looked like kicking goals.

Fevola was always the danger man and he added two more goals to easily stamp himself as his team's best player.

How about the headline;

FEVOLA the PHEONIX

Brendan Fevola just like Ben Cousins is proof that a mans will is greater than his reputation. Fevola has straightened up the demons by playing deep in forward line and enticing the melbourne midfielders to kick the ball long and direct to the goal square. Not only has fevola kicked 90 goals for the season, but he has been a god send to wonamirri, also the showman who is relishing the direct style of football and has kicked 60 goals for the season crumbing off Brendan. Fevola has taken the pressure off watts and also freed up Liam Jurrah, allowing the players to roam and develop without pressure. Fevola as the focal point deep at full forward, has reduced midfield turnovers by demanding a direct and long kicking attacking style. He is a dead eye dick and has strong hands taking the best and biggest backman. Melbourne now has a genuine chance at impacting on the finals campaign and all credit must be given to new coach Matthews/Malthouse who understands that champion full-forwards are worth their weight in gold when coached with confidence and dicipline.

Just like cousins, Fevola has added a new enthusiasm to the demons players and supporters, with membership at 44000 and greater attendances the MFC has found the momentum they need to embark on their new journey of success.

Is this possible?

Hahahahahahahahahahabahhahahahabaahahah

Oh my!

It certainly is interesting taking a peek inside the world in your head...

You're not a relation of Fev's, by any chance..?