The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

Col Sylvia and Liam J are perhaps spiritual leaders at Melbourne, at least as Icons of hope for the club. We are waiting for great improvement in both. Physically we cann't understanding why the powerfully built and multi skilled Col has not moved into the consistently A grade group. Liam for different reasons has still to cross that line. So the decision of the coaching staff chose them as the the players that should take the cut. The other 2 perhaps 3 were young guns, Marric, Nicholson and Tapscott (my guess for sub today- but who knows). So what about the backline. Chip, Riv and Col G are our experienced pillars of the backline and through all the other slaughters this year they remain unscathed even after last Saturday. Poor Nicholson and Tapscott had to take the rap for our three pillars who have shown signs of plateauing this year. They have been replaced by 2 re-treads in Bartram and J Mac both of whom, after 100 games each have shown they might have some strengths but glaring weaknesses. A statement should have been made to Col G or Riv that the backline needs to lift. It is functioning way below a finals backline. Warnock could have been given a game just as easily as Bartram and J Mac were used to make a statment.

Posted (edited)
Poor Nicholson and Tapscott had to take the rap for our three pillars who have shown signs of plateauing this year. They have been replaced by 2 re-treads in Bartram and J Mac both of whom, after 100 games each have shown they might have some strengths but glaring weaknesses.

Tapscott is in the team though :wacko:

Edited by Supermercado
Posted

We do seem to lack height down back, and have stuggled against tall, solid opposition forwards. Mind you, with poor forward and midfield defensive pressure these guys are really under the pump with the ball coming in so fast.

I'm not sure why Warnock has not been able to break back in to the key defensive position. I would play him.

Bartram has skill deficiencies but you can't doubt his courage and aggression, things we badly need rignt now.

Posted

It was very sorry to see either of Jurrah and Sylvia dropped. Bate and Dunn were less impressive to me. The message must be being sent to LJ to chase or else. Not only chase but cut the angles with more vigour and urgency. Sylvia hasn't been that bad. Maybe he has been white-anting because of his contract negotiations. Who Knows? I just hope that anyone who doesn't put in this week gets similar treatment. We should know by year's end who is fair dinkum.

My biggest criticism of DB is the same as with Neale Daniher. They were both teachers who wanted their boys to play well and always gave them the opportunity. Think about what ND said about Yze when he was playing dreadfully week afteer week. "This guy can win games for you", and he kept playing him until the noise to drop him became deafening and he couldn't ignore it. I admire this in both coaches because it is a very positive human quality and often releases the potential in a person. It also makes them very popular with their players. Unfortunately footy can be a very much more cut-throat situation and demands that clear lines be drawn at times.

This may seem like a contradictory argument, but at this time in the history of the club our player culture needs to make a massive change.

Incidentally, from all reports, Mick malthouse is very well liked by his players.

Posted

You'd be spared from chasing too much from our forward line by the fact we cant get the ball through HF

Agree.

It all starts in the middle. Invariably when the midfield is effective and first to the ball and we win our share, our forwards get more ball and our backline isn't under as much pressure. We need to be clinical where it counts. Moloney, Trengove, McKenzie, Gysberts, Jones, Sylvia, Gawn/Jamar/Martin, Scully.

Posted (edited)

Our selections have often been bewildering to me in many cases over many decades.

We simply aren't harsh enough and to me this tells the whole team, that it's ok to lose.....to a point. So what do they do week after week, until they're dead sick of it.....they lose.

Take the Hawks game. Lost by 54 points in Round 18. This was 9 points worse than our capitulation in the 2nd half of our round 2 game against the same team. And they had Roughhead in the team in Round 2. So basically our result, 16 weeks later, was without doubt worse IMO. Yet..... what changes did we make to the team for the following week?

Zero, Zilch...Null! And i say Zero as to me, the 1 omission was made only in order to return a previously crook Jurrah (a last minute ommission from the Dawks game) into the same, unchanged line up for the match against the Cats.

Lose by nearly 10 goals and in effect no changes!!

To me that message speak volumes to the whole group. Again, it's ok to lose....even by almost 10 goals.

What a disgrace.

And disgrace ourselves we did, the very next week.

Our black Saturday wasn't all to do with off field politics and shenanigans.

Posted (edited)

Our backine was touted as very promising early last year. Since then there has been a steady decline. Losing Sean Welman in hindsight has not helped. Warnock and Davey have been a real letdown. The most consistent backman has been Garland with Frawley slowly regaining some of his old form. Disposal is our biggest weakness down back. All the backmen are substandard or at best only average in that regard except Tapscott. Structure at stoppages all too often invites cheap goals for the opposition. Aaron Davey despite his subline kicking skills has been too much of a showboater. Has become a parody of Travis Johnstone. Always kicking precise direct passes that look great when they come off but with no margin for error and usually severely punished when they all too often don't come off. Why not just kick to the ball to advantage instead?

Posted

We do seem to lack height down back, and have stuggled against tall, solid opposition forwards. Mind you, with poor forward and midfield defensive pressure these guys are really under the pump with the ball coming in so fast.

I'm not sure why Warnock has not been able to break back in to the key defensive position. I would play him.

Bartram has skill deficiencies but you can't doubt his courage and aggression, things we badly need rignt now.

Warnock is not there because he gets the yips when he takes possession to such a degree that I have to look away! He is a very good defender, but an A-grade turnover merchant.

Posted

No bloody wonder they're shellshocked, they've been defending for the best part of four years.

Posted

Clearances help.

We hardly won one.

Bad defense is bad midfield play.

Posted

Clearances help.

We hardly won one.

Spot on, Captain! Actually thought the back line held up pretty well given the weight of easy ball into Carlton's forward line. 14 individual goalkickers for the Blues tells you the backline wasn't to blame. Really like Garland on Betts and thought Rivers and Frawley more than held their own. Tappy had a crack as usual and Joel played a pretty reasonable game. Our midfield was gutted pretty much all day. Funny how Moloney (who apparently bleeds for the club!!) can't seem to get near it against decent opposition.

Posted (edited)

Clearances help.

We hardly won one.

Spot on dude...Garland, Macdonald, Rivers & Watts all worked hard today i thought.

They were bombarded for atleast 60% of the game.

Posted

Col Sylvia and Liam J are perhaps spiritual leaders at Melbourne,

Theatrical. Both are players that have not complied with team rules during the past couple of weeks. Says alot about our spirit.

It all starts in the middle. Invariably when the midfield is effective and first to the ball and we win our share, our forwards get more ball and our backline isn't under as much pressure. We need to be clinical where it counts. Moloney, Trengove, McKenzie, Gysberts, Jones, Sylvia, Gawn/Jamar/Martin, Scully.

Nutshell.

Spot on dude...Garland, Macdonald, Rivers & Watts all worked hard today i thought.

They were bombarded for atleast 60% of the game.

Rivers and JoelMac looked pedestrian today. Rivers is another leader who is invisible.

Posted

Rivers and JoelMac looked pedestrian today. Rivers is another leader who is invisible.

No the midfield looked Pedestrain, the backline just had too much work to do.

losing Strauss the way we did would have shook them up quite a bit to.

That was horrific

Posted

No the midfield looked Pedestrain, the backline just had too much work to do.

losing Strauss the way we did would have shook them up quite a bit to.

That was horrific

Rivers looked pedestrian last week too. The man cannot play body on body Oh, I guess the scoreboard shook them up a bit. That was horrific. For the record, there were other more junior players that continued to plough after the Strauss. But I forgot Rivers is in the leadership group.

Posted

Rivers looked pedestrian last week too. The man cannot play body on body Oh, I guess the scoreboard shook them up a bit. That was horrific. For the record, there were other more junior players that continued to plough after the Strauss. But I forgot Rivers is in the leadership group.

ok well why don't you just bring out the tent and shoot him Rhino....Rivers looked out of his depth today because Carlton's midfield ripped us apart..

I am suprised you didn't see it that way.

Posted

ok well why don't you just bring out the tent and shoot him Rhino....Rivers looked out of his depth today because Carlton's midfield ripped us apart..

I am suprised you didn't see it that way.

I guess the tent line is the extent of your thinking.

Given our midfield has been pumped against medium to top class opposition this year its a fair assessment of the disposition of Rivers. Gets found out under pressure. FWIW, Richo and David King on AW werent too impressed with his contribution and body work through out the day.