Posted

Jack Viney played in yesterday's trials for the forthcoming Under 18 championships and, from a mate who was there, the reports  are good. Although he is bottom aged (i.e doesn't turn 18 till next year) he came under notice for his strong play and  good footskills.

Posted

Jack Viney played in yesterday's trials for the forthcoming Under 18 championships and, from a mate who was there, the reports  are good. Although he is bottom aged (i.e doesn't turn 18 till next year) he came under notice for his strong play and  good footskills.

I suppose there is plenty of time to knock that out of him. Can't have him upsetting team balance :)

Posted

FWIW, I spoke to an inside observer of Jack's footy at Carey, and he is apparently 'scary tough', fast and hard. I know it's only school footy, but it sounds like he might just be a chip off the old block.

Posted

I would love to know his current height.

Posted

FWIW, I spoke to an inside observer of Jack's footy at Carey, and he is apparently 'scary tough', fast and hard. I know it's only school footy, but it sounds like he might just be a chip off the old block.

Well his old man was tough and hard, an absolute bullock. One of my faves.

Guest watts04
Posted

lookin forward to jack...shame he is 18 - 24 months away

have to be careful not to track the kid too closely as only a young fella

the expectation (Watts) could be ridiculous

Posted

Another Carey insider told me that Jack was told to tone it down his bumps when he was only 14, because other players just didn't know how to brace for a big hit!

Play him against the blues.

Posted

I suppose there is plenty of time to knock that out of him. Can't have him upsetting team balance :)

My smile is back Thanks again DC

Guest Artie Bucco
Posted

Some say his favourite colour is invisible to the human eye...

Some say he can make young girls pregnant just by winking at them...

Others say his pubic hair is used to make steel wool...

He is... JACK VINEY.

Posted

Some say his favourite colour is invisible to the human eye...

Some say he can make young girls pregnant just by winking at them...

Others say his pubic hair is used to make steel wool...

He is... JACK VINEY.

Sure it's not the STIG!!

Posted

Don't worry, we'll have him in Ladd'ettes to Ladd'ies in No time. :)

Posted

From the bigfooty boards discussing the under 18 champs trials, these guys generally know some good stuff about the juniors so heres the small part on viney:

"Viney worth a mention too, for the dees supporters. Good little hard nut, nice skills by foot when he gets outside. Slightly outmuscled a time or two, to be expected considering he's playing against bigger and older blokes, but tracking really well for an underager."

reply:

"Outmuscled? I believe he nearly killed a kid with one of the best blocks I have ever seen at a level under the elite.."

full thread:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=785253&page=19

Guest Artie Bucco
Posted

And the follow up to that, by "Humble Minion":

Was a great hit, wasn't it? Big, low, cross-body bump using every gram of his body weight. Can't quite remember who it was on though - Haynes maybe, or perhaps Marusic? Bigger bloke anyway, and stopped him in his tracks.

Was more referring to him *almost* getting a couple of very nice burst clearances from traffic, but being unable to get that last step to break a one-handful-of-jumper tackle. But I reckon he'll be doing it just fine next year.

Can't wait for this kid.

Posted

Jack's been named in the Vic Metro squad.

I will definently be watching when its on Fox.

Here's the full squad:-

VIC METRO U18 SQUAD

1 Seb Gotch 12 Jul 93 172 71 Oakleigh Chargers/Caulfield Grammar

2 Toby Greene 15 Sep 93 180 78 Oakleigh Chargers/Wesley College

3 Alex Greenwood 24 Oct 93 178 71 Eastern Ranges/Vermont

4 Adam Kennedy 12 Jul 92 179 69 Western Jets/Melton

5 Liam Sumner 16 Aug 193 182 70 Sandringham Dragons/St Paul's JFC

6 Tim Totevski 5 Aug 93 173 66 Northern Knights/Mill Park

7 Jack Viney 13 Apr 94 178 77 Oakleigh Chargers/Carey Baptist

8 Max Warren 29 Jan 93 181 78 Eastern Ranges/Healesville

9 Alex Woodward 11 Jun 93 179 79 Sandringham Dragons/Dingley JFC

10 Mitchell Wooffindin 3 Feb 93 178 76 Oakleigh Chargers/Templestowe

11 Jack Newnes 24 Feb 93 184 74 Northern Knights/Ivanhoe

12 Alex Brown 26 Sep 93 191 80 Oakleigh Chargers/Doncaster Heights JFC

13 Michael Bussey 5 Jul 93 196 81 Eastern Ranges/Rowville

14 Rory Atkins 12 Jul 94 183 75 Calder Cannons/Maribyrnong Park

15 Hayden Crozier 24 Dec 93 184 68 Eastern Ranges/Rowville

16 Tom Curran 18 Sep 93 195 85 Oakleigh Chargers/Wesley College

17 Matthew Haynes 19 Mar 94 190 76 Northern Knights/Carey Baptist

18 Will Hoskin -Elliot 2 Sep 93 182 73 Western Jets/North Sunshine

19 Hal Hunter 15 Jul 93 185 86 Calder Cannons/Wesley College

20 Elliot Kavanagh 19 May 93 187 78 Western Jets/PEGS

21 Daniel Markworth 3 Apr 92 189 76 Calder Cannons/Macedon

22 Doug Morris 27 Sep 93 183 85 Northern Knights/Northcote Park

23 Thomas Sheridan 28 Oct 93 185 76 Calder Cannons/Riddells Creek

24 Jackson Paine 21 Jun 93 193 87 Sandringham Dragons/Melbourne Grammar

25 Lachlan Plowman 11 Sep 94 190 81 Calder Cannons/Macedon

26 Xavier Richards 25 Apr 93 194 81 Sandringham Dragons/Xavier

27 Michael Talia 11 Feb 93 193 87 Calder Cannons/Greenvale

28 Adam Tomlinson 10 Aug 93 192 86 Oakleigh Chargers/Trinity Grammar

29 Dom Tyson 8 Jun 93 186 82 Oakleigh Chargers/Trinity Grammar

30 Nick Vlastuin 19 Apr 94 186 83 Northern Knights/Eltham

31 Matthew Arnot 21 Oct 93 180 83 Oakleigh Chargers/Vermont

32 Brandon Ellis 3 Aug 93 181 81 Calder Cannons/West Coburg

33 Jack Beech 23 May 92 200 85 Sandringham Dragons/De La Salle

34 Chris Prowse 26 Feb 93 203 87 Oakleigh Chargers/Xavier

35 Sam Frost 28 Aug 93 193 85 Sandringham Dragons/Wesley College

36 Fletcher Roberts 3 Jun 93 197 80 Sandringham Dragons/Melbourne Grammar

37 Ben Darrou 25 Nov 93 190 91 Sandringham Dragons/Wesley College

38 Jonathon Patton 20 May 93 197 95 Eastern Ranges/Scoresby

39 Leif Cope 22 Aug 92 203 99 Eastern Ranges/Yarra Valley GS

40 Billy Longer 12 May 93 202 95 Northern Knights/MacLeod

Posted

Would love to see him on the track in red and blue next year, and on the paddock the next :)