Posted

Just listening to Derm on SEN now.

He gave excellent praise for our second Quarter, but made the point that after Half Time in the Midfield we had 2 Big Bodies while Hawthorn had 8 Big Bodied players rotating through.

With the new interchange rules that just makes it so much harder.

I totally agree.

From that game we must take the positives from the second Q and be patient for our kids to bulk up.

Well said Dermott

Posted

Are you crazy?! We should be top four by now with all our high draft picks!!!

:wacko:

How many games have our high draft picks played compared to last nights opposition?

You expect "Add water instant success" It doesn't work like that.

Remember Hawthorn in 2003-4???

Posted

Haha. Sorry I was trying to be sarcastic, we really need a universally recognized emoticon for sarcasm :P

I think Dermott is pretty much on the mark. Coming into this year and this game I was very concerned about the ability of our midfield to stand up against sides like Hawthorn. So a smashing yesterday was not really surprising, its more the manner in which it occured and probably seems worse only because we somehow managed to have a 3 goal lead at half time. Had the hawks kicked straight in the first and taken a lead into half time I have a feeling it might have been a different game with us coming at them in the third only to be overrun in the last...

But thats just pure speculation...

Posted

Haha. Sorry I was trying to be sarcastic, we really need a universally recognized emoticon for sarcasm :P

I think Dermott is pretty much on the mark. Coming into this year and this game I was very concerned about the ability of our midfield to stand up against sides like Hawthorn. So a smashing yesterday was not really surprising, its more the manner in which it occured and probably seems worse only because we somehow managed to have a 3 goal lead at half time. Had the hawks kicked straight in the first and taken a lead into half time I have a feeling it might have been a different game with us coming at them in the third only to be overrun in the last...

But thats just pure speculation...

No Problems Mate!!! I was a little suprised at your answer on first read!

Dermott actually praised Melbourne more than Hawthorn, which i thought was interesting.

He said our ball movement in the 2nd Q was sublime.

We just have to get our boys stronger for longer.

Posted

He gave excellent praise for our second Quarter, but made the point that after Half Time in the Midfield we had 2 Big Bodies while Hawthorn had 8 Big Bodied players rotating through.

Stop it, WYL and Dermott. These are just excuses. We should take a stand, stop accepting mediocrity and draw a line in the sand. These are the actions at a minimum:

• Sack Bailey
  • Not bother renewing our memberships
  • Start playing with a bit of mongrel

I've had it up to HERE with all these excuses! Top 8 or Bailey is GAWN.

Posted

Stop it, WYL and Dermott. These are just excuses. We should take a stand, stop accepting mediocrity and draw a line in the sand. These are the actions at a minimum:

• Sack Bailey

Yes i know i am in the Minority over the last 24 hours :lol:

I didn't write it all in capitals either....it won't happen again....

Posted

Regardless of whether Dermott makes sense or not, you should never listen to a man who had a "perm" for the better part of two decades..............

Posted

• Sack Bailey

I have one concern only for this post. It's that many sufferer's won't be able to read the sarcasm.

:P

Posted

Regardless of whether Dermott makes sense or not, you should never listen to a man who had a "perm" for the better part of two decades..............

Being on Radio i didn't notice it to much.

His late 80's mullett was incredible!

Posted (edited)

• Sack Bailey

For Melbourne to make the 8, they need to WIN the next 5 and have a few upsets in order to make the 8, its a tough call but I think they have it in them. Last season they showed plenty of fight, after a couple of wins on the trot (BL & GC) Im hoping to see a side that will never say die.

Edited by Sturmmann
Posted

Bailey's too short to be a Gawn.

Quoted because I reckon that should get a second run.

I always liked listening to Derm. He has a pretty good footy brain for a thug.

Posted

Now that I've had my sarcasm overload (sorry about that - read one too many "we need some mongrel" posts last night and my brain exploded), it's nice to see someone in the media quantify exactly what many here have been saying. For all Moloney gets slammed on these forums at times, besides Sylvia and the inadequate Jones he's basically got no help in the mature body department.

Posted

Are you crazy?! We should be top four by now with all our high draft picks!!!

:wacko:

Maybe not top for but you expect the players to show some passion instead of jogging around the field. Rather pathetic. Down hill skiiers??

Posted

Maybe not top for but you expect the players to show some passion instead of jogging around the field. Rather pathetic. Down hill skiiers??

No more pathetic than that post.

I find it amazing when some people attribute success entirely to emotion.

"we didn't have enough PASSION!"

Generally there is a logical sequence of cause & effect that some insist on ignoring.

Posted

I'm still concerned that we were able to do nothing when we were put under pressure. Or did we need to wait until a break (3/4 time) before remedial action can be taken?

This thread is interesting. If we need more "big bodies" on the ball, that can be done (or even Dunn). There's also Green, Grimes, Bartram, Petterd. We don't lack options, it's just that they're not being used.

This year the midfield is just so important, for every team but especially for us. Losing badly because we're getting smashed in the midfield does nothing for the development of any of our young guns (except perhaps Tapscott & Martin in defence where they're seeing far too much of the ball).

We need a "get out of jail" strategy for when we're getting smashed in the midfield. On Sunday we had nothing. The most concerning comment on the weekend was the one that we "didn't expect" the Hawks to over-run us like they did. No wonder we didn't have a strategy in place to counter it.

I think strategically we've got a hell of a long way to go.

Posted (edited)

I thought we played pretty well until just after the Pettard goal. The Hawks were applying severe pressure but we were still standing up. At that stage the game was being played out with each team having dominant periods. The real crack in our game IMO happened when Sylvia had the ball on members half forward not long after Pettard goaled. He wheeled around to his right and it appeared he was going to bomb it long to the square. But instead he goes risky, long and wide to the other flank on a one on one. He kicks the ball slightly backwards thus bringing another Hawk into play. The Hawks take the ball and move unchallenged to goal. Then we just fell apart. A real bad mistake by a senior player.

Posted

Now that I've had my sarcasm overload (sorry about that - read one too many "we need some mongrel" posts last night and my brain exploded), it's nice to see someone in the media quantify exactly what many here have been saying. For all Moloney gets slammed on these forums at times, besides Sylvia and the inadequate Jones he's basically got no help in the mature body department.

Once again, thank god for Tapscott.

I think Dermott is right on the money with this one. Easy to scoff at Roos' suggestion On the Couch that we should've kept Miller for a bigger body up forward, but there is some merit to it...even if it is Miller.

Posted

After reading this thread and seeing sarcasm going unrealised with no emoticon I think that all sarcasm should be followed by (TPFIC)

Tongue - placed - firmly - in - cheek

Posted

After reading this thread and seeing sarcasm going unrealised with no emoticon I think that all sarcasm should be followed by (TPFIC)

Tongue - placed - firmly - in - cheek

Better yet, just use the <sarcasm> enter your witty commentary here </sarcasm> tags.

Posted

Paul Roos can shove it up his arse. Miller had no place in an AFL team, big body or not, Nick Smith anyone! We're developing youth and it takes time. The club is actually fast tracking the process by cutting the likes of Miller, Bruce and McDonald. That's 3 young guys playing upto 22 games this year. If Roos can't see that then he should stay on TV. The thing about Roos is he saw it differently. He successfully topped up with mature bodies, we've taken a different route but the end result should be the same.

Posted

This thread is interesting. If we need more "big bodies" on the ball, that can be done (or even Dunn). There's also Green, Grimes, Bartram, Petterd. We don't lack options, it's just that they're not being used.

This year the midfield is just so important, for every team but especially for us. Losing badly because we're getting smashed in the midfield does nothing for the development of any of our young guns (except perhaps Tapscott & Martin in defence where they're seeing far too much of the ball).

We need a "get out of jail" strategy for when we're getting smashed in the midfield. On Sunday we had nothing. The most concerning comment on the weekend was the one that we "didn't expect" the Hawks to over-run us like they did. No wonder we didn't have a strategy in place to counter it.

good post

Posted

Quoted because I reckon that should get a second run.

I always liked listening to Derm. He has a pretty good footy brain for a thug.

Thanks.

I agree re: Derm - he's better than average.