1 hour ago, Wiseblood said:

If he had any interest in us, or vice versa, it would probably end up being a relatively similar deal to the one that got us Jordan Lewis.

Perhaps even less so. Lewis was 29, Smith is about to turn 31

2 hours ago, hemingway said:

My mail is that it is not so much that the Hawks want to trade Isaac but more the case that Isaac wants a change that will maximize his remuneration for the remainder of his career.

The implication is that in the past Isaac has accepted less favourable terms to stay at the Hawks. 

Added to that is the rumour that the relationship between player and Clarkson is not strong at best. .

Turns 31 in December so Hawthorn would project he is not in their next flag team. Isaac has played his best footy but still played to a reasonable standard this season. From a Dees perpsective he fits an obvious need but given likely to get  only 1 or 2 good seasons Hawks will likely want more than he is worth.  

I’d say it would be a late 2nd rounder or early 3rd.  Hawthorn are a very good club to deal with bases on past trades. 

22 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

I’d say it would be a late 2nd rounder or early 3rd.  Hawthorn are a very good club to deal with bases on past trades. 

Exactly, they're very obliging when trying to get a player where he wants to go. I cant see them asking for the farm, although they would do well if he wanted to go to GC.

Sorry but too old. At 31 he could get through half of next season and fall off the cliff. 

• 3 weeks later...

"If I was another club, I would give Isaac Smith 3 years. But I think the Hawks should offer 2" - Terry Wallace #AFLTrade

I still think we need to experience, run and kicking Smith provides, and if we must trade Sam Frost i don't mind the idea of trying to get Smith in return. 

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

It’s been mentioned elsewhere but for posterity ...

Issue is we have nothing to give to Hawthorn unfortunately. 

10 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Issue is we have nothing to give to Hawthorn unfortunately. 

Unless GWS comes to the party and provides us with something as part of a trade for pick 3. Perhaps part of a deal involving Bonar to the Hawks?

20 minutes ago, Demonland said:

It’s been mentioned elsewhere but for posterity ...

He also said last night the Saints were into him big time.  Pickering was fairly strong he was staying at the Hawks.  However, If he gets a very attractive  longer term offer i guess anything's possible by the close today.

Smith has one year left on his deal. Wants an extra 2 on top. Brisbane looked at him and moved on. We are having a look.

Personally I'm not a fan of taking quick blokes after 30. 

Anyone else get excited the moment you see chook in perth post anything? haha

1 minute ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

Anyone else get excited the moment you see chook in perth post anything? haha

Mate i got next to nothing this year. They're a vault. 

7 minutes ago, Demonland said:

It's not just the pick it's the fact that he's 30 and we just traded in two wingman.

Turning 31 in a few weeks.

I would pass. We can do better.

Edited by Redleg

Give him one year if "get" possible then a 2 year coaching posse afterwards.............

1 hour ago, Chook in Perth said:

Something i am glad about in a sense, we don't leak. hopefully it also means we are up to something

1 hour ago, Chook in Perth said:

Blah, Demonland insiders are so far and few between these days.

Bring back Cameron Schwabb! 

Just now, Jaded said:

Blah, Demonland insiders are so far and few between these days.

Bring back Cameron Schwabb! 

I'm not a connection but can see his posts when others like them, seeing him on linkedin talking leadership, culture and the like makes me vomit.