The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Scully and Trengove

grant

Posted

Just on a side note: on Footy Classified last night Caro wondered why we continue to treat Scully and Trengove like a 'package' by resting them both in the same round. She suggested that we should have rested one in one week, and the other the next week, to avoid this idea that they are twins or something and they do everything together. Interesting thoughts, even though I don't actually think it matters.

Posted

Caro gets caught up in this small insignificant crap all the time. They will always be regarded as Scully & Trengove picked 1 & 2 by the Melbourne Football Club at the 2009 National Draft. They now have a lot in common and will have a strong bond as a result. What bloody difference would it make if we rested one one week and the other the next. The FD will assess each player individually and decide whats best for that player if that so happins too be they rest/miss at the same time for the next 15 years so be it. I love them both playing got the MFC and our club is sensible enough to "rest" them when required from what i know of these two future stars the week off has probably made them hungrier than ever..... look out Carlton!

Posted

Just on a side note: on Footy Classified last night Caro wondered why we continue to treat Scully and Trengove like a 'package' by resting them both in the same round. She suggested that we should have rested one in one week, and the other the next week, to avoid this idea that they are twins or something and they do everything together. Interesting thoughts, even though I don't actually think it matters.

Interesting, I was talking to Chris Judd (a friend) about this last Friday and he said that he thought it was a very good idea to rest the kids during the season but that we should have rested them on different weeks. I told him that we rested them together because we had just played a hard game in Darwin and because we were setting ourselves for you blokes followed by QB. He replyed "obviously".

Posted

Interesting, I was talking to Chris Judd (a friend) about this last Friday and he said that he thought it was a very good idea to rest the kids during the season but that we should have rested them on different weeks. I told him that we rested them together because we had just played a hard game in Darwin and because we were setting ourselves for you blokes followed by QB. He replyed "obviously".

You're friends with Chris Judd?

Posted

You're friends with Chris Judd?

Yes, I see quite alot of him. My wife is best friends with twigs, we usally eat together at least once a week, came to my wedding etc. I have mentioned this before on this site most importantly a thread on why Judd did not come to MFC. Having said that though, I have never and will never talk out of school when it comes to these two and feel uncomfortable just saying this.

Posted

Yes, I see quite alot of him. My wife is best friends with twigs, we usally eat together at least once a week, came to my wedding etc. I have mentioned this before on this site most importantly a thread on why Judd did not come to MFC. Having said that though, I have never and will never talk out of school when it comes to these two and feel uncomfortable just saying this.

Thats fare enough and completely understandable. Just Curious how long have you known him and do your wife and her know each other from school or something?? Anyhow i do remember your post regarding Judd had alot too do with facilities yeah? As he was a melbourne supporter has he mentioned how we look?

Posted

Never forget to remember the MFC to Chris in the years ahead. I still hope that he may end his career in the forward pocket a Demon...it would be nice.!!

Posted

Scully - Simon Black, combined with Robert Harvey's endurance

Trengove - he plays like Voss, hope he becomes that massive a unit

That's 2 out of the fab 3 ... but I reckon we could live without an Akermanis!

... and here's a wishlist for some of the others:

Watts - Riewoldt, but less of a sook

Blease - Peter Matera

Gysberts - James Hird

Tapscott - Paul Chapman

McKenzie - Brett Kirk

Grimes - Andrew McLeod

Frawley - Steve Silvagni

Jurrah - Liam Jurrah

Dean Bailey - Norm Smith

Posted

Never forget to remember the MFC to Chris in the years ahead. I still hope that he may end his career in the forward pocket a Demon...it would be nice.!!

:lol: @ forward pocket.

Thanks for sharing that GNF.

Who do they remind me of ?...I'll say Scully reminds me of Judd (but some credit to dee-luded, I can see a likeness of Paul Kelly in him - Kelly could run all day) and Trengove I'll agree with some others - Jimmy Bartel. Better left foot than Bartel.

Posted

Who do they remind me of ?...I'll say Scully reminds me of Judd (but some credit to dee-luded, I can see a likeness of Paul Kelly in him - Kelly could run all day) and Trengove I'll agree with some others - Jimmy Bartel. Better left foot than Bartel.

Cant say I can compare Scully to anyone else, I think he'll end up being added to an elite list on his own.

Time will tell. He is still delevoping, as he gets stronger, I would expect his kicking to be more penatrating.

So I'll take a backseat on a comparision for now.

As for Trennners, every time I see him, I think back to Alan Johnson.

As I do that I try to convince myself its ONLY because he is wearing number 9

But then sometimes, he'll take a mark, or run to position to receive or give off a handball

There I remember Jonno, Jonno was a silky mover, a brillant kick and a great mark for his size.

As I type this I am still thinking its because he wears N09.

No way a dead ringer for Jonno, but he reminds me of him.

Posted

I would never compare Scully to Judd. I don't think Scully will captain a footy side who fall into a drugs culture, then leave that club and go to another for money where he captains a side with a serious booze culture.

I would never compare Trengove to Cousins. I leave the filling in of the reasons as an exercise for the students.

The pair of them remind me of two youngsters starting out their careers, with loads of talent, loads of encouragement from club, teammates and supporters, who could be brilliant, but will be brilliant in their own moulds. Lets look again when they have 50 games or so on the board.

Guest Thomo
Posted

Twigs eats?

Posted

I would never compare Scully to Judd. I don't think Scully will captain a footy side who fall into a drugs culture, then leave that club and go to another for money where he captains a side with a serious booze culture.

I would never compare Trengove to Cousins. I leave the filling in of the reasons as an exercise for the students.

The pair of them remind me of two youngsters starting out their careers, with loads of talent, loads of encouragement from club, teammates and supporters, who could be brilliant, but will be brilliant in their own moulds. Lets look again when they have 50 games or so on the board.

Oh please.

This thread is refering to on-field likenesses. In that regard I have no problem likening Scully and Trengove to Judd or Cousins. I'm sure they'd enjoy hearing those comparisons too.

Guest The Boss
Posted

Dean Bailey - Norm Smith

Not likely, I will be suprised if he is still hanging around in few years time.

Posted

Well done mate. I respect that. It's nice to know some old values are still alive.

Posted

Can you refresh our memories and repeat why he didnt come to MFC :blink:

Guest The Boss
Posted

Twigs eats?

She definately swallows

Posted

The Boss = Immature Clown with little of any relevance or substance to say. Would fit better as a collingwood supporter.

Posted

Not likely, I will be suprised if he is still hanging around in few years time.

What is it about Bailey that you don't like? i am sick of reading these snide comments.

DB has done a very difficult job over the last 2 1/2 years. And he has done it with style & authority.

Who would you prefer to be in his position???

Let's hear it.....