Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

NON-MFC: Round 06

Finally, a semi decent round of footy. Nine games, most competitive.

How the AFL could have cocked this season's fixturing up so woefully is beyond me.

Just now, binman said:

Finally, a semi decent round of footy. Nine games, most competitive.

How the AFL could have cocked this season's fixturing up so woefully is beyond me.

Awful mate.

Most games have been shocking to watch as well.

Feels very one sided this year so far.

3 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Awful mate.

Most games have been shocking to watch as well.

Feels very one sided this year so far.

So many rubbish games, including most of the Gather round games (not helped by the weather of course, but still).

For neutrals, i can only think of two great games this season - for the drama, our comeback win against the blues (but not a great game skill wise) and the Cats hawks Easter Monday game.

I might be missing some, but geez that's a pretty poor return for box office games after 5 rounds and OR.

18 minutes ago, binman said:

So many rubbish games, including most of the Gather round games (not helped by the weather of course, but still).

For neutrals, i can only think of two great games this season - for the drama, our comeback win against the blues (but not a great game skill wise) and the Cats hawks Easter Monday game.

I might be missing some, but geez that's a pretty poor return for box office games after 5 rounds and OR.

Draw isn’t much better.

Bulldogs soon have 9/10 games in Victoria… talk about a cruisy patch.

Our bye isn’t until r16.. 🥴

57 minutes ago, binman said:

I would add Crows v Bulldogs was a great game but otherwise I agree there have been few games for the purist to enjoy.

Add the issue of the Tigers, Eagles, Bombers and Blues only having 4 wins between and at times barely competitive is a big stain for the league.

Edited by Jibroni

Opening round - fail

Thursday and Friday night fixturing - fail.

Limited highlighting of the WA Derbies and the SA Showdown - fail.

And the AFL would be devastated that none of Blues, Bombers or Tigers will make the finals. It also looks possible that Collingwood might not either. A lot of AFL fixturing emphasizes these teams being promoted and favoured due to $ and crowd size.

A lot of games have been strange - high scoring and free flowing accompanied with a definite reduction in skills.

I am now going to confess something that I hope does not earn me Demonland suspension - I might actually be hoping Carlton win tonight...

34 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I am now going to confess something that I hope does not earn me Demonland suspension - I might actually be hoping Carlton win tonight...

Welcome aboard my Navy Blue brother 🤗

Thank goodness I'm working tonight so I'll miss most of the game.

But part of me hopes carlton wins. It's daicos's 100th. Will he take his dad out with him to run through the banner?

1 minute ago, dees189227 said:

It's daicos's 100th. Will he take his dad out with him to run through the banner?

Naicos took Tex Walker’s little boy to run through the banner last week, so anything can happen 🤣

20 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Opening round - fail

Thursday and Friday night fixturing - fail.

Limited highlighting of the WA Derbies and the SA Showdown - fail.

And the AFL would be devastated that none of Blues, Bombers or Tigers will make the finals. It also looks possible that Collingwood might not either. A lot of AFL fixturing emphasizes these teams being promoted and favoured due to $ and crowd size.

A lot of games have been strange - high scoring and free flowing accompanied with a definite reduction in skills.

I reckon the Blues will win as their weakness is their leg speed and ability to spread defensively, particularly as the games goes on.

The Pies are also dead slow running wise, and are not playing fast, instead using lots of the sort of chip kicks that the bombers used against us, which both mitigates their weaknesses and helps them defend (eg the bombers had an extra in defence, meaning when we did finally get the ball of them and go forward they had an outnumber, which was no doubt a big factor why we couldn't score from our back half the way we have done in other games).

Short version - the Pies won't exploit the Blues weaknesses and will do well to match their key strengths, their contest, clearance and stoppage work. And i suspect the likely wet weather will suit the blues given their strength in the contest.

And whilst the Blus are under the pump, like us last year they are playing better than the result suggest - again like us they are running out puff late in games. Conversely the Pies form is flattered by the results - thy don't look like a team that made prelim last year.

The 2.40 for a Blues win looks great value, with the safer bet being they make their 8 point line.

How’s my rotten luck…. Again we’ve dodged the Taxpayer Park bullet this season but I’ll be there tomorrow night all the same 😭 My Geelong supporting niece is reeaallly pushing the my auntie loves me limit.

Things I’ll need to bring: a heap of hand warmers and the will to live.

Edited by Ghostwriter

20 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

and expect this to be the reason why the draft value indexation and changes to the rules for drafting are delayed til after therei catasmania comes in

baggers, peptides have been loud about it (and the pear will benefit the most, arguably, with 2 high qualtiy nga and 1 father-son, to come in the next two seasons)

the afl would be ecstatic if three of the big four (filth, baggers, peptides, tigs) made the top 10 every year along with one of dingley and / or puddy tatt, plus at least one team from each of qld, nsw, sa, and wa

don't forget, the afl makes all the ticketing money in finals - home and away is a 'nice to have' for them but the finals is where they make attendance $$

1 hour ago, Jibroni said:

I would add Crows v Bulldogs was a great game but otherwise I agree there have been few games for the purist to enjoy.

Add the issue of the Tigers, Eagles, Bombers and Blues only having 4 wins between and at times barely competitive is a big stain for the league.

Yeah that Crows and Dogs game was a good watch.

I didn't see it but the Dogs comeback against the Lions in opening round, was that a good game?

9 minutes ago, layzie said:

Yeah that Crows and Dogs game was a good watch.

I didn't see it but the Dogs comeback against the Lions in opening round, was that a good game?

Yep, that was a good game

The comp is in a diabolical state by every metric meaningful to the average punter. It all looks spectacular from the Commission’s, and therefore the corporate, perspective. Mirrors the rest of society I suppose.

Why play 2 great games at the same time friday night?

We want to grow the game in sydney… uh let’s make sure no one watches the sydney derby

1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

Thank goodness I'm working tonight so I'll miss most of the game.

But part of me hopes carlton wins. It's daicos's 100th. Will he take his dad out with him to run through the banner?

Or will he walk out of the G early if they are losing? 😂

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

I reckon the Saints might be a smart bet over Adelaide.

Crows are missing a few and you’d imagine Dawson will be a crucial out unfortunately.

Meanwhile St Kilda are in great shape from an availability point of view.

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I reckon the Saints might be a smart bet over Adelaide.

Crows are missing a few and you’d imagine Dawson will be a crucial out unfortunately.

Meanwhile St Kilda are in great shape from an availability point of view.

you could be right mate but i was thinking the opposite

Dawson may play and they might do it for him.

Giants are my tip to go on a winning streak and beat the Swans

Re the games clash tomorrow evening

The AFL fails at the obvious

Meanwhile, the NRL doesn't. And I'm not trying to turn this into an AFL vs NRL debate about which is the better sport. Just comparing both leagues with each other

The NRL has 2 matches scheduled for nearly every Friday evening and has done so for well over a decade now ... one match is cable/streaming (6pm) and the other is FTA (8pm)

Obviously, there's no overlap

The AFL could split 2 games on a Friday evening quite easily ... just needs some creative thinking

With split rounds and byes etc, there wouldn't be a need for a double-header on a Friday, every single week

And there's always Monday night footy if they were to revisit that concept (I'd look at that, but not every Monday)

But Monday evenings would solve the issue of trying to fit 9 games into 8 slots. The 2 teams that meet on a Monday could get a bye the following weekend?

The wet weather games last weekend were painful to watch ... we went back to congested football and endless stoppages

Make the footballs for wet weather football less slippery? (dimples?)

It wasn't so long ago that we only used red footy's... when the yellow footy's appeared the complaint was that the yellow footy was too slippery (too much lacquer)

I'm not sure the thinking has changed or the condition of the yellow footballs has changed

5 minutes ago, Macca said:

The wet weather games last weekend were painful to watch ... we went back to congested football and endless stoppages

Make the footballs for wet weather football less slippery? (dimples?)

It wasn't so long ago that we only used red footy's... when the yellow footy's appeared the complaint was that the yellow footy was too slippery (too much lacquer)

I'm not sure the thinking has changed or the condition of the yellow footballs has changed

I've heard this before somewhere.

Never known why though. Is it deliberately done to get the ball more 'glossy' under the lights? Is it the dye process they use to turn it yellow? Is it just more dewy at night?

Is it something that footy public is just not meant to know?

Edited by layzie

3 minutes ago, layzie said:

I've heard this before somewhere.

Never known why though. Is it deliberately done to get the ball more 'glossy' under the lights? Is it the dye process they use to turn it yellow? Is it just more dewy at night?

Is it something that footy public is just not meant to know?

Different process for the end product apparently, layz (red vs yellow)

But I do remember the furore when they were introduced, way back when

Like most other things, they got used to it and got on with it

But to me, the same issue remains ... the yellow footy's are too slippery and too hard to mark