Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 05 vs Essendon

I don't have a lot to say after that really. Think the words are escaping us.

Can I have some bath water please,

Obviously a lot about or was during this last week,

I need to drink something ! Just plain disappointed. I was unable to watch after 15 m of the second. We were ok sort of, but it was not easy watching.

Then watched the scores after the break, Disappointing covers it !

30 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Makes zero difference when we front up next week against Brisbane.

Yeah Essendon were absolute puss against North 2 weeks ago and I'd personally hoped that would continue, but it didn't. They showed signs against the Dogs last week amd we just happened to be their mark this week.

Too bad, tough shiiiit. Move on.

What do you want - us to flagellate ourselves for the rest of the season?

Nope, I hold our professional, well paid footballers to account every week, too pick and choose is the very reason why we are Melbourne.

We are not chance next week on today's effort.

So we’re back to critiquing press conferences.

It’s what he does on the training ground this week that counts not whether he’s a smooth performer in front or the cameras

Pretty much 50% more experienced than them and we looked like a team of rookies. The reality will hit soon that King is dealing with the same issue that Goodwin and all coaches prior dealt with...getting rookie like performance from 100+ game players on the regular. Not sure how you coach a team with guys who've played 250 games and regularly look like they've never played the game before. I don't even know, other than having a culture of low expectations, how so many players just seem to get worse the more experienced they get. It is baffling and coach killing. There is almost nothing he can bank on (outside Gawn, Pickett and probably Steele).

1 hour ago, Dees1911 said:

Time to play Max Heath.

Other Max, yes is GOAT, but makes us so predictable, he cannot carry us every week.

Backline needs change, need to get better ball users.

Teams sag off Lever and tmac hoping ball goes to them, there kicking is F grade level

WTF does this even mean?

Um I don't want to understate or overstate this but can I say this.... If last week was one of the best wins in the last 3 years, TODAY WAS OUR WORST LOSS IN THE LAST 5 OR 6 Years, maybe even on par with JEELONG 186..

So many players had obviously swanked around like they had 100 hotels on Mayfair and Park lane but the reality was they had a 59 dollar mortgage on OLD KENT RD which is worth 60 bucks.

Shameless and spineless. I'll park and name a few now..

JVR KIcked 6 round 1 and has been an embarrasment since. If he is in the team next week it will deserve a royal commision. Tolstrup, Windsor, Lindsay, Langdon, Culley, Chandler, Have been drinking there own bathwater. T.Mac is shot, Salem ditto, Melky played sore, Latrelle just doesnt get it enough, we had serviceable performances from Kozzy, Turner, Steele our only goers.Howes was also OK

Need to bring in ASAP MOOSE, JEFFO, LUKER, AMW AND TAYLOR,

2 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Um I don't want to understate or overstate this but can I say this.... If last week was one of the best wins in the last 3 years, TODAY WAS OUR WORST LOSS IN THE LAST 5 OR 6 Years, maybe even on par with JEELONG 186..

Bit of a stretch, don't you think?

So basically watching kings presser is he wants a response next week. This is really his first test & he now realises coaching sometimes can be tough.

The freo game you can kind of excuse because we gave them to much of a start & they're expected to finish top 4.

1 minute ago, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

Nup!

2 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

Nope, I hold our professional, well paid footballers to account every week, too pick and choose is the very reason why we are Melbourne.

We are not chance next week on today's effort.

3 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

We are not chance next week on today's

1 minute ago, BDA said:

Greates

5 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

WTF does this even mean?

I'm not here to bag Max, I'm saying 28 hit outs and 24 disposals, how many were score involvements.

Every other club is trying 2 rucks, we have a young guy in form in 2's so why not bring him in and throw something different at opposition.

Like I said Max can play unbelievable football, but not every week (case in point today !!) So we just except that when Max is off we dish up that [censored], or what happens when he retires ???

In position we are this year and probably next, have to be looking past current champions.

Just my point of view and in no way do I understate what they have done and are doing !!!

Game will always punish you when you don’t turn up to play! Looked lethargic why who knows, cant just play attacking footy need to bring contest & defence pressure at both ends.

52 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

King looked shell shocked and nonplussed in his presser. Hope he has some answers.

Yeah I'm giving him some time as it's early days but I'd expect him to show a bit more anger at the lack of intensity and performance in general than that

33 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Missed the game due to other commitments, was looking fwd to the replay but don’t think I’ll bother.

Honestly mate. The scoreline doesn’t really give much indication of how poor we were. We should have lost by 80. Absolutely woeful.

The whole team was down today BUT we can no longer play all 3 tortoises in the backline at the same time(TMac Salem and Lever) when the ball hits the ground goodnight they just can’t change direction.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

you can talk about game plans and team selection all you like, but without pressure none of it matters

why no heat today? not acceptable to pick and choose

i expect us to come out against the Lions breathing fire

I would add this . . . you can talk about game plans, being out-coached and team selection all you like, but without pressure none of it matters. Norm Smith couldn’t coach a bunch of blokes who refuse to unconditionally put their head over the ball and stick tackles. This deficiency was noted in the game day thread about 10 minutes into the game. Commitment to the contest is a non-negotiable regardless of age, experience, seniority or footy ability. This is what happens when 12 bruise-free footballers turn-up to play.

3 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

I would add this . . . you can talk about game plans, being out-coached and team selection all you like, but without pressure none of it matters. Norm Smith couldn’t coach a bunch of blokes who refuse to unconditionally put their head over the ball and stick tackles. This deficiency was noted in the game day thread about 10 minutes into the game. Commitment to the contest is a non-negotiable regardless of age, experience, seniority or footy ability. This is what happens when 12 bruise-free footballers turn-up to play.

On the money Queanbeyan!

14 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

I'm not here to bag Max, I'm saying 28 hit outs and 24 disposals, how many were score involvements.

Every other club is trying 2 rucks, we have a young guy in form in 2's so why not bring him in and throw something different at opposition.

Like I said Max can play unbelievable football, but not every week (case in point today !!) So we just except that when Max is off we dish up that [censored], or what happens when he retires ???

In position we are this year and probably next, have to be looking past current champions.

Just my point of view and in no way do I understate what they have done and are doing !!!

He was probably our third best player today - and if not, def in our best six. what are you talking about?

1 hour ago, samcantstandya said:

He dropped/rested Rivers a couple of weeks ago.

Rivers has a knee issue, and has had for a while. Thus the time out of the team.

I get the impression that Langford thinks he isn’t being used in a manner that highlights his strengths (under-employed)… and I tend to agree. He is showing nowhere near the potential he displayed in 2025, and yet he had 17 possessions and kicked an elite goal. He should now be a 25 possession inside mid. Leave him on the wing at your own peril.

2 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Rivers has a knee issue, and has had for a while. Thus the time out of the team.

Great idea playing in the origin game then.

Absolute [censored] show. So Melbourne.

1 hour ago, samcantstandya said:

He dropped/rested Rivers a couple of weeks ago. Let's see what he does if Casey play well tomorrow does he reward form or keep the faith in players. I hope he swings the axe, I don't players to think that they can play [censored] and still play the next week.

No vfl this week I think