Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

PREGAME: Rd 01 vs St. Kilda

28 minutes ago, rjay said:

Not sure Sharpy has the footy smarts to go with him...

He seems like a disciplined character Sharpy and has a bit of toe, only one way to find out i suppose.

Not sure Sparrow has the discipline necessary for the role, this could be Sharpy's opportunity to hold onto a place in the 23 if he is successful.

He has been involved in 2 AFL programs and never had a defined role in either team.

This might be Sharpy's his moment where he complete emerses himself in a negating team role.

45 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Saints will have to cover Checkers, Roo and Fritta. Good luck there ( well..actually no... lol )

Not sure who Lyon has to, or can use to , cover both Picketts.

I’m not sure that tall trio is scaring anyone. Windhager has the best record of anyone against Koz and Latrelle had 2 touches in the last game he played.

At the other end the Pies undersize backline actually helped them take care of Sharman, Higgins and Ryan. Those guys will give us trouble with the right supply.

As with most games tho the midfield will be the most crucial factor and the Saints having a hit out helps them a lot. They need a lot more from Nas, Phillipou and Flanders.

If they fail to fire it does leave room for the Pickett, Windsor, River, Langford show, I really hope we see it. But Ross Lyon teams don’t let that happen very often.

38 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Wonder what we might glean from training this week 🤔 👀

Short answer: probs not a lot.

Long answer. Casey sessions are closed to the public. This is where the real stuff happens.

Tomorrow at Gosch’s there’ll be two sessions, each 45 minutes in length, with a break of an hour and 3/4 in between sessions. The players choose which session they’d prefer. I see S&Gs on the horizon.

The 30-minute captain’s run on Saturday at Gosch’s, if similar to last week’s captain’s run, is S&Gs guaranteed.

Edit: the Casey sessions are brutal… and long. Not a sch!tt nor a giggle to be seen.

Edited by Ghostwriter

Sharp on Nas would invite a personal, hand written 'please explain' from the AFL's integrity unit. My advice to the boys - do not put money on the Saints.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

Real pity Luker got injured.

If we only have Mihocek and JVR, we have to play Moose, especially against his old side and now with 5 on bench.

He is a chop out for Max and a big guy up forward they will have to counter.

Agree pity Luker injured but after watching round 0 and particularly now no Marshall I cant see any world where we play two rucks. We will definitely need the extra runner and we will find a way to work the 5 minutes a quarter Max needs a chop out.

Judging on last night, I reckon St Kilda (and probably Port) are going to be the biggest beneficiaries of the wild card top 10. Not quite good enough to beat the top teams consistently but will have no issues going to town on the bottom 8 or so sides.

They showed signs last night but were too inefficient inside 50. For example, if they win the inside 50 count by 21 again next week and improve their efficiency and accuracy then I can’t see us winning.

With Marshall out I’m pretty certain Heath won’t play. I doubt he would’ve regardless. Mihocek, JVR and Fritta should be enough height and marking power and I’d like to see Melksham as that third for fourth forward playing heavy minutes on the bench.

30 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Long answer. Casey sessions are closed to the public. This is where the real stuff happens.

Tomorrow at Gosch’s there’ll be two sessions, each 45 minutes in length, with a break of an hour and 3/4 in between sessions. The players choose which session they’d prefer. I see S&Gs on the horizon.

The 30-minute captain’s run on Saturday at Gosch’s, if similar to last week’s captain’s run, is S&Gs guaranteed.

Edit: the Casey sessions are brutal… and long. Not a sch!tt nor a giggle to be seen.

Ghosty, see if you can find out how long Jeffo is out for please!?

After watching the saints / Pies game, the Saints look very vulnerable to pace and the fast handball forward game that we are playing. Collingwood carved them up when they got a run on while the saints still try to play the kick/mark game. I wouldn't worry too much about Naz as he will have to try and negate our quick players cutting through their defence. They have a couple of small forwards, but in the middle and defense they only have he and Hill who run all day with pace. The combination of Rivers, Kozzie, Latrelle, Windsor, Sharp, Jiath, Taylor, AMW and Langdon (though obviously all won't play - probably 7 of them will) gives us a huge advantage.

Because Marshall is not playing, we don't need the 2 big ruckmen. TMac can play the Kentfield role doing a bit forward and back and a chop out in the ruck as he has done in the past. He also has a big motor and would put any second ruck of Saints under the pump to keep up. Heath will have plenty of games where he will play in sides having two big ruckmen (or maybe just tall defenders/forwards - eg Bulldogs with English, Darcy, Croft and Lobb - all 200+ ).

58 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Ghosty, see if you can find out how long Jeffo is out for please!?

No worries. 👍🏽

Also, want me to pass on to Chin your abundance of praise for him and how much love and respect you have for him?

Round 1, 2016 vs a highly fancied GWS side and we knocked off. We can do the same to St Kilda, albeit they aren’t as talented as what that GWS side was.

The side we have now is still capable of competing. On paper, we should be pushing for finals (7 or 8). All the talk from “experts” about wooden spoons and bottom 4 is [censored]

A fit Lever can form a strong core with Turner, McDonald and/or Petty amongst the likes of the emerging Blake Howes and a Salem who can still contribute.

Then there’s the midfield. Langford can seriously break out such is his talent and Windsor + Lindsay playing with a lot more freedom and license to just roam. Compound those 3 with Rivers, Pickett, Langdon the reliable Steele, that’s an exciting midfield blend of youth, speed and experience.

The forward line is the most interesting part . JVR has shown potential in his first 4 seasons, so he should be gearing up for a big 2026, but a fit Mihochek will help him immensely. Fritsch, Chandler and Sparrow to boot . Not a bad forward setup.

The side we rolled out in round 1 2016 is not as talented as the one we will roll out in 6 days time and beat the side that many tipped to make the top 4.

I just don’t rate St Kilda at all. We can beat them and beat them well by around 3-4 goals.

Edited by VNightCityLegend

Really looking forward to Sunday & seeing what we are now.

Officially our dynasty is over & for different reasons we underachieved & now have a new look team.

But I hope the demon fans show up in Sunday

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

No wonder they don't like driving to Casey ;)

30 minutes ago, VNightCityLegend said:

Round 1, 2016 vs a highly fancied GWS side and we knocked off. We can do the same to St Kilda, albeit they aren’t as talented as what that GWS side was.

The side we have now is still capable of competing. On paper, we should be pushing for finals (7 or 8). All the talk from “experts” about wooden spoons and bottom 4 is [censored]

A fit Lever can form a strong core with Turner, McDonald and/or Petty amongst the likes of the emerging Blake Howes and a Salem who can still contribute.

Then there’s the midfield. Langford can seriously break out such is his talent and Windsor + Lindsay playing with a lot more freedom and license to just roam. Compound those 3 with Rivers, Pickett, Langdon the reliable Steele, that’s an exciting midfield blend of youth, speed and experience.

The forward line is the most interesting part . JVR has shown potential in his first 4 seasons, so he should be gearing up for a big 2026, but a fit Mihochek will help him immensely. Fritsch, Chandler and Sparrow to boot . Not a bad forward setup.

The side we rolled out in round 1 2016 is not as talented as the one we will roll out in 6 days time and beat the side that many tipped to make the top 4.

I just don’t rate St Kilda at all. We can beat them and beat them well by around 3-4 goals.

I concur... much doom and gloom from some corners. I think a lot of the media just hold each other's......... hands 🙄 Very little individual thinking going on there.

I dont think will romp it in.... but very good chance of a win. I really didn't see much last night to get frightened of.

Last time we played we were a diametrically different game style playing team.

The Aints looked like they play to kick to a player/ contest after a few handballs... reminds me of a team 🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔

Every time the Pies broke the line the Aints were in bother. This will be us.... bothering them .

Looking forward to the game 😀

Given the environments King has coached in, the likes of Scott and Bevo, I'd be staggered if he's not up for tagging the opposition playmakers.

40 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Really looking forward to Sunday & seeing what we are now.

Officially our dynasty is over & for different reasons we underachieved & now have a new look team.

But I hope the demon fans show up in Sunday

Agreed. Hoping we get a decent turn out of Dees fans. New coach new era let’s all be there from day one. Keen as!

8 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Given the environments King has coached in, the likes of Scott and Bevo, I'd be staggered if he's not up for tagging the opposition playmakers.

My money is on Langdon on Nas.

3 hours ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

Agree pity Luker injured but after watching round 0 and particularly now no Marshall I cant see any world where we play two rucks. We will definitely need the extra runner and we will find a way to work the 5 minutes a quarter Max needs a chop out.

forget Marshall hes not very arresting

6 hours ago, picket fence said:

Sharp!

Not sure he is physical enough Picket.

Langers gave Daicos the hardest tag I reckon he's ever received, reckon he's the man.