View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

Contracted player. time to dig in. we want one of Sam Taylor or Finn Callaghan and 2 first round picks or he's coming back to the Demons.

Nar mate its over, very very unfortunate and sorry to say it feels not that different to a death in the family from my perspective😑

I really hope he rediscovers his love for the game and some weight is lifted off his shoulders. I said it the other day and I’ll say it again, at his best, he was the best player in the comp in my eyes.

I am really glad it’s GWS and not Collingwood. If he really digs in and rights the ship, which I genuinely hope he does, I’d much rather GWS improve than Collingwood.

Finally, let’s just get it sorted so the club can move on after a tumultuous few years.

3 quick memories tonight. Him grabbing at his hamstring that wet night against PA. Kicking that goal in the 21 GF and Dogga coming at him to celebrate and me thinking, How good is this and how good are these 2 going to be? The third was this season when he kicked the goal against the Swans and came to the bench to a standing ovation. Of course there was many more highlights and unfortunately as can happen when you get that high you crash and burn and boy oh boy did he and we go down in flames. Personally I hope he finds his groove at GWS and dominates again. I'll Boo Petracca but I'll only ever applaud Clayton, I've always preferred the misfits. I reckon it's the perfect place to resurrect his career. Kingsley won't put up with anything other than total dedication, over to you Clayton and thanks for the memories.

1 hour ago, Garbo said:

Big difference between saying we need to get better and bagging your own team. The way Oliver said it is the latter. If Oliver simply said how great it would be to play with whoever from gws or how he likes the vibe up there or whatever positive thing he could say about gws it would be fine, instead he essentially said as long as they aren’t Melbourne that’s what matters.

To a hammer, everything is a nail. You heard what you wanted to hear.

1 hour ago, Very Jaded said:

I know many here won’t agree but I’m very broken hearted about this one

Clarry holds a special place in my heart and I am incredibly sad that he won’t finish his career in red and blue

He isn’t perfect, in fact he’s a mess, but he’s our mess and I will always support him

I hope he is happy and healthy

Sad Studio Ghibli GIF

Sorry VJ. No way in the world I would laugh at your sincere comments about Clarry. Meant to tap the love button. I think you know like many, he was my favourite player.

Sooooo much going on, I've not been able to keep track(!)

Would someone remind me, please, why contracted-Petracca negotiations involve significant player/s or multiple high draft picks in return, and no salary contribution, but contracted-Oliver negotiations involve (at best) low draft picks in return and salary contribution?

I’m finding it hard to feel sorry for this bloke, you draft them, develop them, turn them into premiership players, pay them what most aussies could only dream of making, to where we’re now. He hasn’t held up his end of the bargain and now our club suffers incredibly from it, not only are we paying for him to play elsewhere, we don’t even get something decent in return.

Incredibly selfish and immature from Clayton, I’m sure the playing group is ecstatic to see the back of him.

This week, I’ve been reading on here but not commenting. I know you guys will laugh at me and all that—but I’m gutted by this whole situation. I agree he’s an adult and needs to make decisions and act like one. But I also feel like he’s been a media target—often for good reason—and I imagine that’s exhausting. I understand that it’s exactly what life as an AFL player on big $ will get. Doesn’t make it any easier. I also believe what actually occurred in that room is somewhere between the media version, the clubs version, and Clarry’s version (whatever that is). He was obviously hurt—in his mind, this was the first year (in the past 3) that he thought he wouldn’t be put up for trade—something caused him to think that. And then it changed very quickly.

I’ll be honest, the Collingwood comment, I took it as a guy who’s hurt lashing out. I’m not going to read to much into it, because like the airport nonsense, we see what the media wants us to—definitely not the whole picture. And again—he’s been hounded by the media incessantly—they’ve speculated about his personal life, continuously brought up his issues outside footy—even without reporting anything new on that front for over a year. I left a job last year after changes of CEO and lots of other things. I know that angry feeling. Thankfully, no one in the press gives a [censored] how I feel—but catch me on a bad day and who knows what I might say.

I’ve never been into sports-other than tennis. I moved to Australia in 2013 and got really into AFL in 2016 which was his first season. He’s been my favourite player and he was a gun for us. This hurts—because for me, it’s the first time I’ve given a [censored] about any kind of sports or any player. My family/friends in the US would be laughing at me if they saw how I’ve been—and I’m not young. My son is 29 and is a huge sports freak. I never understood when he got so upset about his teams (Patriots, Yankees, Bruins, and now Richmond) losing games/players. I get it now.

I’m heartbroken and will always have a special place for Clarry. I well and truly hope that this move brings him the peace and recovery that settles him. I also want to see him back to his best. I believe he can get there. I know he wasn’t at his best the past couple of years, but come on, he did not “single handedly” cause us to not contend. That’s ludicrous.

It’s been a strange week for me with lots of emotions. So, if you want to laugh at me and react with vomit emojis or whatever have at it.

I was gutted about Clarry for the past 2 years

He will always be a Demons Champion but I’m not sad now. He’s had plenty of time and people bending over backwards to change his ways.

We need to let him go and accept we’ll get not much back

1 hour ago, adonski said:

“Giants expect Melbourne to pay significant portion of contact”

What are we the Salvation Army here to help the new franchises out?

(I understand why we have to pay a chunk of his contact but it doesn’t make the situation stink any less)

1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

It is what it is. Like a lot of people I have a soft spot for him and am sad to see him go. However, the club is bigger than any individual and anyone watching Claz these past couple of years can see that he's a shadow of his former self. Gazza was not going to help Rangers win our 10th league in a row all those years ago and Clarry isn't going to win us our next premiership. Onwards and upwards.

Gazza. I love watching his highlights. best british player of all time? he’d be up there.

pure talent

purely mental

25 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Sooooo much going on, I've not been able to keep track(!)

Would someone remind me, please, why contracted-Petracca negotiations involve significant player/s or multiple high draft picks in return, and no salary contribution, but contracted-Oliver negotiations involve (at best) low draft picks in return and salary contribution?

Trac has been performing well with no off field ‘issues’

Clarry has not

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

I largely sit here, but with sadness too.

It’s just an all round sad situation that we’re in.

No it's OK, some fruit will blossom from this pruning. That's how the universe generally rolls.

Go coach go .sort this [censored] out.!!!!

40 minutes ago, 710 Asbury St said:

This week, I’ve been reading on here but not commenting. I know you guys will laugh at me and all that—but I’m gutted by this whole situation. I agree he’s an adult and needs to make decisions and act like one. But I also feel like he’s been a media target—often for good reason—and I imagine that’s exhausting. I understand that it’s exactly what life as an AFL player on big $ will get. Doesn’t make it any easier. I also believe what actually occurred in that room is somewhere between the media version, the clubs version, and Clarry’s version (whatever that is). He was obviously hurt—in his mind, this was the first year (in the past 3) that he thought he wouldn’t be put up for trade—something caused him to think that. And then it changed very quickly.

I’ll be honest, the Collingwood comment, I took it as a guy who’s hurt lashing out. I’m not going to read to much into it, because like the airport nonsense, we see what the media wants us to—definitely not the whole picture. And again—he’s been hounded by the media incessantly—they’ve speculated about his personal life, continuously brought up his issues outside footy—even without reporting anything new on that front for over a year. I left a job last year after changes of CEO and lots of other things. I know that angry feeling. Thankfully, no one in the press gives a [censored] how I feel—but catch me on a bad day and who knows what I might say.

I’ve never been into sports-other than tennis. I moved to Australia in 2013 and got really into AFL in 2016 which was his first season. He’s been my favourite player and he was a gun for us. This hurts—because for me, it’s the first time I’ve given a [censored] about any kind of sports or any player. My family/friends in the US would be laughing at me if they saw how I’ve been—and I’m not young. My son is 29 and is a huge sports freak. I never understood when he got so upset about his teams (Patriots, Yankees, Bruins, and now Richmond) losing games/players. I get it now.

I’m heartbroken and will always have a special place for Clarry. I well and truly hope that this move brings him the peace and recovery that settles him. I also want to see him back to his best. I believe he can get there. I know he wasn’t at his best the past couple of years, but come on, he did not “single handedly” cause us to not contend. That’s ludicrous.

It’s been a strange week for me with lots of emotions. So, if you want to laugh at me and react with vomit emojis or whatever have at it.

No vomit emojis here mate. You said it perfectly.

It has been a long time that we had a player so good that it made people care, and made us relevant again. Clarry was that guy. I always thought he’d run out his last game in the red and blue, with a Brownlow and maybe even a norm smith to showcase. Can’t believe so much has happened in 4 short years. How the picture changed. It’s just a sport. Nothing real and not as real as serious things in life, but it’s a release and a way for us to bond and connect and as a human being with flaws I always connected better with Clarry than, say, Trac

With you 100%

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue

48 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

“Giants expect Melbourne to pay significant portion of contact”

What are we the Salvation Army here to help the new franchises out?

(I understand why we have to pay a chunk of his contact but it doesn’t make the situation stink any less)

I still don't.

41 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Trac has been performing well with no off field ‘issues’

Clarry has not

Is that all?

Trac no off-field issues? Different type, maybe, but...

Clarry not performing well? Not nominal-pick/salary-contribution badly!

Will Dogs be stumping up JUH salary?

I need more.

Throw Me A Frickin' Bone Here - Bella and Canvas White Marble Shirt - Size S - Picture 1 of 2

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

I loved his dedication and what he could do at his best. He was always decent when meeting my kids and the likes, but I'm sorry to say that him moving on is a good thing.

As per the agreement we all signed and respect for Demonland I will not say anything specific. Suffice to say that remaining team-mates are better off not having him around in an off-field capacity.

Much like his recent comments his other shenanigans are mostly to do with immature stupid tendencies rather than malice, but none of it is helpful to the team or the club.

I hope he gets things together personally and goes only alright at GWS so they hover around the 8. I'll be annoyed if he turns it around like Hogan, but I reckon he's his own worst enemy so that's unlikely without good support and guidance. Farewell Claz and take it easy.

10 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie 2 said:

Dr Gonzo seems to think what I said was amusing as he does often. I challenge him to disprove my points about Richmond, Clarry embraced by his team mates and playing with maximum effort in all his games. Up to you Doc!

DR Gonzo declined to accept my challenge. Hmm!😄

4 hours ago, Very Jaded said:

I know many here won’t agree but I’m very broken hearted about this one

Clarry holds a special place in my heart and I am incredibly sad that he won’t finish his career in red and blue

He isn’t perfect, in fact he’s a mess, but he’s our mess and I will always support him

I hope he is happy and healthy

Sad Studio Ghibli GIF

Love Totoro too.

3 hours ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

I’m finding it hard to feel sorry for this bloke, you draft them, develop them, turn them into premiership players, pay them what most aussies could only dream of making, to where we’re now. He hasn’t held up his end of the bargain and now our club suffers incredibly from it, not only are we paying for him to play elsewhere, we don’t even get something decent in return.

Incredibly selfish and immature from Clayton, I’m sure the playing group is ecstatic to see the back of him.

Your summarising as if it’s all totally Clarry’s fault we are down the ladder.

You fail to give him credit of stabilising his off field happiness and lift in the last few matches in form and confidence. I thought this was a good base to build upon with a new and positive vibing Coach that made all the right statements re our list etc. then has dragged out his whip and decided otherwise without a decent meeting with a Club Champion to give him an opportunity to state his case.

I am not against the restructuring of our midfield, 35% disposal from Trac Clarry and JV cannot continue to be tolerated but surely Clarry could kick 35/40/50 goals a year from a forward pocket or flank. And let’s be honest he would play 2 games at Casey be BOG and demand selection in the Seniors. Which position?

Wouldn’t King be tempted if we were 3 goals down at half time to throw Clarry on the Ball??

Guess what we get up and win and Clarry is back with little changing! Back up to forward pocket as a decoy and kick gatherer near the sticks.

Please tell me this isn’t an unreal prediction so he is not going to get any favors from our Footy chiefs and be sent to Siberia!!

Our No 1 or top 3 player in 50 years has been treated poorly in some respects. He is hurt again and no wonder is looking to go to GWS to a soulless crowd and finish his career.

Sad how he has been treated and we can’t even say good bye and thanks to him.

Hopefully I haven’t ignored his last 2/3 years but we should and have tried to nurture him and support him as well.

All the best Clarry you have set a benchmark in personal attitude to competitiveness on the field. I have never seen a player play the last quarters as hard as Clarry.

Please give him some respect And not replace No 13 this season until worthy recipient arises.

PS Maybe not Humphrey if we can snag him!

Good luck Clarry a decade of determination classic inside mid play and handballs that talked. Only real fault was your kicking but it still passed when your best was on display in our top 4 years and important games and Finals.

Keep healthy and happy and good luck for your future. Thanks again for the memories especially in 2021 and bang bang bang!!

5 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Imagine a centre square with Tom Green, Finn Callahan and Clayton Oliver 🤤

You need 2 way runners in a midfield there isn’t one there

4 hours ago, 710 Asbury St said:

Not hard for me to thoroughly and easily agree with what are reasoned and thoughtful remarks.

More the better

24 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

You need 2 way runners in a midfield there isn’t one there

Pennant I value your opinion.

Given Clarry and Tracc will be gone, would you take Steele for a couple of years, if Saints paid some salary and he was basically a throwaway pick?

I have warmed to it, as he is an extractor and good team man, now with a point to prove.

Edited by Redleg

8 hours ago, 710 Asbury St said:

We totally get it. These are strange times. As you rightly suggest the truth is somewhere in there amongst it all. I doubt anyone's laughing.