View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

If he was more attracted to Tasmania, he wouldn't have wasted our time, if he didn't really want to coach he wouldn't have wasted out time.

He wouldn't have wasted his own time either.

Preparing for these meetings is time consuming, and if you believe the media he also spent time talking to potential assistants.

You don't go through this process if you are not keen.

Skipworth chose to pull out before going thru a formal process. Whether he didn't want the job, or thought he was no chance so didn't want to waste his time, I am not sure.

But either way, you don't waste time interviewing for jobs you don't want at this level. Especially when you are already an experienced coach who has been through the process before. He didn't need the experience.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Which I love, by the way.

And more importantly, I think it finally puts to rest who Scartlett headbutted in 2007.

20250916_101007.jpg

A perfect fit for the Deez. Get Mazie and Milky to referee the stoush at training. Charge $50 entry fee and we've covered Goody's '26 salary.

13 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'm not sure I believe Buckley here. There's no way the Tasmania job is better. An inaugural coach has never won a premiership and there's no way he can be sure the team will happen, so how is it better?

1 hour ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

The insularity of the Foxtel boys' club is deeply embarrassing for everyone involved.

Haha yeah that chat was wild. Might as well been a bunch of mates at the pub bagging Buckley's ex.

18 minutes ago, lorn said:

I'm not sure I believe Buckley here. There's no way the Tasmania job is better. An inaugural coach has never won a premiership and there's no way he can be sure the team will happen, so how is it better?

Bucks has lost his nerve. Tassie job = time server.

57 minutes ago, lorn said:

I would say it is better because expectations are low and he gets $7M for just turning up to work. Handy gig I reckon.

I think folks are going to be quite suprised how competitive Tassie will be from the outset. Reading between the lines the AFL is very keen on giving a lot of draft picks, but that they expect (demand) to be swapped for experienced players AND give them a sign on bonus fumd. GC and GWS coming in in consecutive years somewhat cannablised their own success. They had half their side under 20.

Additionally, the player landscape is a lot different to 2011. There is a LOT more money splashing around. Good players and very good players will get an opportunity to be inaugural players with very lucrative sign on bonuses (expecting tassie to have almost $2 mln to sign OUTSIDE the salary cap)

If all this sounds like a total rort and manufactured way to have the team competitive from its first or second season. It is. Buckley isnt an [censored].

6 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

I think folks are going to be quite suprised how competitive Tassie will be from the outset. Reading between the lines the AFL is very keen on giving a lot of draft picks, but that they expect (demand) to be swapped for experienced players AND give them a sign on bonus fumd. GC and GWS coming in in consecutive years somewhat cannablised their own success. They had half their side under 20.

Additionally, the player landscape is a lot different to 2011. There is a LOT more money splashing around. Good players and very good players will get an opportunity to be inaugural players with very lucrative sign on bonuses (expecting tassie to have almost $2 mln to sign OUTSIDE the salary cap)

If all this sounds like a total rort and manufactured way to have the team competitive from its first or second season. It is. Buckley isnt an [censored].

I think this is right on. The AFL are going to push this hard and so they would want to. They will do everything to ensure Tassie does not flounder and hits the ground running. Then all the other clubs will feel very hard done by!

3 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

Reading between the lines the AFL is very keen on giving a lot of draft picks, but that they expect (demand) to be swapped for experienced players AND give them a sign on bonus fumd. GC and GWS coming in in consecutive years somewhat cannablised their own success. They had half their side under 20.

And thus the move by the Clubs to put in their man as Chairman of the AFL.

No one is really interested in seeing Tasmania succeed. It's a completely different scenario to GWS and the Suns. Why would clubs allow a fox in the hen house when there is zero extra revenue coming in.

Sure you'll get some benefits and you might get Tassie as an academy but bottom 4 for the first three years is most likely.

Buckley has won the media spin and for the bulk of fans that's what counts

1 hour ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

I would say it is better because expectations are low and he gets $7M for just turning up to work. Handy gig I reckon.

Handy gig if the team happens

On 13/09/2025 at 09:41, Bombay Airconditioning said:

If we were in the finals race would we have sacked Goodwin?

This is true.... im just saying once the team you are transferring to drops out of finals contention it's less than likely that assistants need to be moved on if going for a spot that is not that of a 'head coach'.

Relating it to a head coach appointment makes no sense and may well end up being included in the top 5 dumbest DL posts of all time!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

2 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

This is true.... im just saying once the team you are transferring to drops out of finals contention it's less than likely that assistants need to be moved on if going for a spot that is not that of a 'head coach'.

Relating it to a head coach appointment makes no sense and may well end up being included in the top 5 dumbest DL posts of all time!

What are the other four nominees?

5 hours ago, Jjrogan said:

i think they'll be given a plethora of advantages

but building a 'team' is a very different process to simply assembling players

it will take some time to gel

46 minutes ago, demoncat said:

What do we reckon - will he be a box or boundary man?

box i reckon

If anyone's thinking of watching that "Behind The Scenes" video, I'd strongly advise you to take a seasickness pill beforehand.

6 hours ago, lorn said:

Precisely, but what was he expected to say, with a hole in one pocket and a rat gnawing at the other one for the next foreseeable future. Such is life.

8 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

watson on sen this morning said that we are keen on matthew scarlett as the assistant defensive coach

A quick scan around confirmed that Scarlett worked alongside King at the Dogs, specifically in the 'development of young defenders', not a primary line coach. I actually think that exact role would be a great pickup in itself, even if Scarlett wasn't interested in anything more intense, because we must surely be looking to develop our next wave of defenders with each of May, Lever, and Mcdonald all getting on a bit or a lot.

Most recent info I can find about Scarlett is that he basically hanging out at the Barwon Seagulls making himself useful any way he feels like! Most recent AFL-level article is about him deciding it was time to take a break from coaching and the AFL world for a while, in 2021;

geelongcats.com.au
No image preview

Scarlett Steps Away

Matthew Scarlett's incredible journey at Geelong comes to an end

I'm sure Adams, Howes, Turner and the incoming White would all be thrilled at the chance to improve their game under perhaps the most effective and versatile tall defender in the AFL era. It is basically between Scarlett and Silvagni (Senior, Junior. I mean, junior to senior but senior to junior. You know the one.) for best full back in living memory and Scarlett's counter-attack makes him more suited to the present game.

I am talking myself into a froth about the possibility of getting him.

12 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Paul guerra needs to sit down with that McClure & explain in simple terms why king got the job.

He still can't get his head around why we didn't offer bucks the job & this process still doesn't seem right.

Mind you he's probably still convinced Harley won't go to west coast

Why should Guerra waste his time explaining to an airhead what he has been told already but couldn’t get it through his thick cranium??

11 hours ago, lorn said:

The old rule did work fine but the game changed and congestion became a problem, so we needed a way reduce the amount of throw ins to ease congestion

One way to reduce congestion, which has always occurred by the way, would be to have the boundary umpire throw it in from 10 meters inside the boundary - it would certainly reduce repeat throw ins and if applied deep in forward / defence make forcing it out of bounds very unattractive for defenders.

10 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

You think? This is Demonland. The sacred charter here is to endlessly re-litigate every missed coach, failed draft pick, and half-baked rumour until the heat death of the universe. Norm Smith, Tilbrook, Tempo right through to Neeld, Schwab, Buckley. Doesn’t matter, they all live rent-free here forever. The day we stop obsessing over blokes who did or didn’t get the job is the day Andy shuts down the site and we all have to pretend to be normal people again. This discussion has at least another 60 years left in it.

Who would've thought a discussion forum would foster discussion.

9 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

watson on sen this morning said that we are keen on matthew scarlett as the assistant defensive coach

Is he still coaching? I know he was with the Cats for a while after retirement but thought he'd been out of the mix for a while.

8 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

A quick scan around confirmed that Scarlett worked alongside King at the Dogs, specifically in the 'development of young defenders', not a primary line coach. I actually think that exact role would be a great pickup in itself, even if Scarlett wasn't interested in anything more intense, because we must surely be looking to develop our next wave of defenders with each of May, Lever, and Mcdonald all getting on a bit or a lot.

Most recent info I can find about Scarlett is that he basically hanging out at the Barwon Seagulls making himself useful any way he feels like! Most recent AFL-level article is about him deciding it was time to take a break from coaching and the AFL world for a while, in 2021;

geelongcats.com.au
No image preview

Scarlett Steps Away

Matthew Scarlett's incredible journey at Geelong comes to an end

I'm sure Adams, Howes, Turner and the incoming White would all be thrilled at the chance to improve their game under perhaps the most effective and versatile tall defender in the AFL era. It is basically between Scarlett and Silvagni (Senior, Junior. I mean, junior to senior but senior to junior. You know the one.) for best full back in living memory and Scarlett's counter-attack makes him more suited to the present game.

I am talking myself into a froth about the possibility of getting him.

I’ll repeat again - a great footballer does not necessarily make a great coach.

Dig a little deeper into his “coaching journey” and relationships with others.

26 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

I’ll repeat again - a great footballer does not necessarily make a great coach.

Hird, Voss (among others) validates this, though Hird will undoubtedly claim that he was sabotaged by others.