View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I’m so pleased with the positive comments on here. I was dreading reading this thread but needn’t have been. Seems almost everyone is embracing this appointment 🥳

It’s only been a couple of hours, we’re still kicking the tyres, but to anyone who’s receiving this news with negative thoughts please consider this…

I was arguably Goody’s #1 fan. I was shattered when he was sacked and couldn’t imagine warming to any other coach. At the time I despised the new coach and I didn’t even know who it was, such was my heartbreak. So…

If I can get behind our new coach from day dot, anyone can. And not just get behind him but support him and have full trust in him, welcome him wholeheartedly.

Here’s the thing… he’s our coach whether folks like it or not. B!tcching and moaning won’t change that.

Before his appointment, when the interviews were still underway, of course there were negative and positive comments about all the candidates and that’s perfectly normal. But the nanosecond Steven was given the job, the negativity needs to stop because it immediately becomes unproductive and a waste of time and energy. It won’t change anything.

GOOD LUCK KINGY!!!

1 minute ago, Demons11 said:

I reckon he’ll be with us next week. Can’t see him riding out the season with the Cats

I really hope so. I thought he would carry on and see out the season with Geelong, which doesn't make much sense for us who are wanting to get the ball rolling with player/FD changes.

Anyone know of a similar situation where an active opposition coach got the job in the midst of a finals campaign?

Jay Clark at Herald Sun - Geelong unofficial number 1 ticket holder

Nathan Buckley was asked specifically if he was given the Melbourne job would he accept it. Buckley said he was still unsure. He wanted more info from the Devils first. Ultimately, Dees picked Steven King, and Buckley remains front runner for Tassie.

heraldsun.com.au/sport/geelong-…

2 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Nathan Buckley was asked specifically if he was given the Melbourne job would he accept it. Buckley said he was still unsure. He wanted more info from the Devils first. Ultimately, Dees picked Steven King, and Buckley remains front runner for Tassie.

We don't want anyone who has doubts

Edited by lorn

2 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

I really hope so. I thought he would carry on and see out the season with Geelong, which doesn't make much sense for us who are wanting to get the ball rolling with player/FD changes.

Anyone know of a similar situation where an active opposition coach got the job in the midst of a finals campaign?

Can’t remember. When was YZE appointed for Tigers at end of 2023. I think we’d already gone out !!! I think he literally got the gig about 3-4 days after we got knocked out

His first big challenge will be to get some equally experienced heads for the lines and ball movement. If Chaplin goes to the Tigers will be completely bereft with only Jones with 0 outside experience in the club

4 minutes ago, R.I.P. Troy said:

I find it quite fitting that our new coach shares a name with the most famous horror novelist of all time...

I'm surprised that nobody made that connection earlier.

1 hour ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Can someone explain to me why so many people wanted Buckley? He was a poor coach last time. He took over a side consistently playing finals and took them to the bottom. He was unpopular with the players. He never won a flag as a player or coach. What exactly does he bring to the table aside from a famous name?

He was a very nice kick in 1997. And that's important.

9 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Ok so the story is that Buckley comes out and says he wants the Dees job when it’s first announced and continues to do so through the whole process, does the interview and the presentation and does a heap of study for it and tries hard and doesn’t rule himself out at any point. Then decides, right at the end of the process, when the Dees ultimately pick someone else that he’s more interested in hearing about a job that doesn’t yet exist, for a team that hasn’t met the stadium requirements it needs to exist in a process that hasn’t started and will probably include several other high profile candidates (Longmire, Hinkley, Simpson and Hird for example) rather than the job he spent months of time, energy and put his public statements on. Yeah, seems likely, not face saving PR at all 🙄

I don't rate a lot of output from modern journos, and had no respect for most of their dribble about candidates, interviews, expectations. Seemed like guesswork to me rather than solid investigative journalism. So I am not going to respect the carp they are putting out now about Buckley which is just people being wise after the event.

Feeling good about the appointment for three reasons:

1. There were no apparent leaks from the coach selection panel or board

2. His player and assistant coaching pedigree is strong

3. It is not what I was expecting.

I can't wait for him to start, to chat with the leadership group and key senior players, and see how he wants to pursue during trade and draft.

Welcome big fella.

44 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

It’s OK Adam he didn’t return to Cats until 2024 so he missed the ‘22 flag.😁👍

Is Google lying to me? 🤦

From an article:

King’s appointment was “unanimously accepted” by the club’s board after a recommendation from the selection panel, which included former Essendon captain Jobe Watson and Melbourne Storm director of football Frank Ponissi

The club and board have handled themselves very well through this despite much hand wringing on here.

Kudos to them

Edited by jnrmac

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Is Google lying to me? 🤦

He also wasn't premiership captain. That was the other tall bald guy, Tom Harley

I don't mind Gerard broke it. Better than Tom.

According to ralphy the journos had no idea and thought it was down to 3. Didn't find out until the players got the email.

Once again I'm glad there was no leak. A good start

4 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

From an article:

King’s appointment was “unanimously accepted” by the club’s board after a recommendation from the selection panel, which included former Essendon captain Jobe Watson and Melbourne Storm director of football Frank Ponissi

The club and board have handled themselves very well through this despite much hand wringing on here.

Kudos to them

Hopefully the media can stfu for 5 minutes as well.

40 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

I mean for a start.... how the bloody hell is Ghost Writer supposed to get up that high to apply her mandatory hugs!!??

Uhm… I don’t just hug indiscriminately, ya know. I’m a discerning hugger, not a nilly-willy hugger. I have a ‘hug list’ (true story, ask the other track-watchers) and I don’t yet know if Kingy will make the cut.

Yeah nah, I’ll bring a stepladder to Gosch’s 🤪

2 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yeah nah, I’ll bring a stepladder to Gosch’s

What happened to your real ladder?

1 minute ago, Ghostwriter said:

Uhm… I don’t just hug indiscriminately, ya know. I’m a discerning hugger, not a nilly-willy hugger. I have a ‘hug list’ (true story, ask the other track-watchers) and I don’t yet know if Kingy will make the cut.

Yeah nah, I’ll bring a stepladder to Gosch’s 🤪

He seems a genuinely lovely guy from the youtube pressers and training vids I've seen of him mic'd up at GC training as coach.

Definitely one that values close relationships with the players and hopefully shows that same love to our favourite track watchers/general legends #Ghosty.

Edited by Young Blood