View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Max is unbelievable, I reckon heโ€™s the best player Melbourne has had for a long time, since Robbie

ย 

Disappointing performance. Very little spirit in that showing.

Would Sparrow get a game in any other best 22? Has been coasting for years now.

Just now, Newport34 said:

Surely Goody gets the sack after that performance.

Mate, he has already been sacked.

Just now, Newport34 said:

Mate, he has already been sacked.

Leave me alone.

ย 

Not unexpected in my view. There was always a good chance of a down off the emotion of the recent weeks. We were ok after quarter time but that was more a 10-12 goal loss saved by their kicking.

What I did like was Chappy continuing to spin the magnets to see what we learn. Interesting that in the last quarter Rivers was in the pivot, Petty at CHB and Sparrow on a half back flank.
I actually would prefer us to be shown up like that today as I dont want an incumbent thinking you can in todays footy carry so many ball butchers in Oliver, Viney, Langdon, Trac and Sparrow.

Hopefully we try some new things again next week. Make a few changes subject to performance tomorrow and get through unscathed (lets hope for no Pickett last round suspension like the last 2 years).

Harry sharp is a reincarnation of Tom Gillies who imo is probably one of the worst footballers ive ever seen play for the red and blue.

Somes this team when we have gifted him close to 16 games this year whilst guys like Laurie and Billings work their [censored] off each and every week at Casey.

Nuke the joint and start all over again.

Wow. These guys killed one coach's career and now they're going to scare anyone off wanting to come near the joint.

Look at the age and experience profile of the 2 teams today...pretty similar but us with a bunch of 200+ gamers. Have our guys forgotten how to play football?

The fulness of time is going to judge Goodwin as a coaching genius. These guys are legit plodders.

Please let us get through one more week without a full Melbourne scoreboard implosion (I mean a 4 qtr one, not just a last qtr special).

That effort was an embarrassment to our famous colours. I want to swear, but itโ€™s not permitted. Grrrr! is the best I can do!

I thought we were outworked for a lot of that game and the final margin could / should have been an awful lot bigger.

4 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

But Paul Roos said we can win it next year !

Umm, Richmond lost by 19 goals in the last round of 2016. You can't base everything off today or recent months.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Harry sharp is a reincarnation of Tom Gillies who imo is probably one of the worst footballers ive ever seen play for the red and blue.

Somes this team when we have gifted him close to 16 games this year whilst guys like Laurie and Billings work their [censored] off each and every week at Casey.

I donโ€™t wanna pot our players but heโ€™s so goal hungry man, he just get itโ€™s and winds up. If he wants to play regular AFL footy in 2026 Iโ€™d suggest he works out how to pass it

Just now, Ted Lasso said:

I donโ€™t wanna pot our players but heโ€™s so goal hungry man, he just get itโ€™s and winds up. If he wants to play regular AFL footy in 2026 Iโ€™d suggest he works out how to pass it

If he is playing regular footy next year then we are in deep trouble.

9 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

6 goal loss isn't so bad in the end.

Just can't believe we won the inside 50 count.

Many many players disappointed today

We often win the inside 50 our game plan is dump kick it in to out numbered forward line so it gets kicked outside of 50 where we are often outnumbering out opponents so we win it best and dunno much it back in again rinse and repeat so we win inside 50s .

Classic display of top four contender versus bottom four contender.

ร‘ot expecting too much next year.

On Kozzie money I expect more than that .

But perhaps he's hardly motivated with some of his teammates.

A brave coach to take on this job.Melksham has done his usual turtle trick and gone back in his shell.

He's always been inconsistent. Had a purple patch for a little while but but constant form was always his problem.

Add on Fritta having an off day and ironically Petts was our best fwd.

For 3 weeks in row he's played his best footy.

Maybe after two years Goody was right.

Our backline pressure with Mcvee, McDonald and May not laying a single tackle isn't good.

Bowey ,Salem and Rivers 16 ...

Top effort.

Edited by Previously known as LITD.

2 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Umm, Richmond lost by 19 goals in the last round of 2016. You can't base everything off today or recent months.

Nor off Richmond nearly 10 years ago

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Other than speed I'm dumbfounded to know what he brings to the team. He appears to have no game sense or footy IQ. He is a yoyo player gets dropped then comes back, but hasn't improved whilst at Casey. I was hoping we'd be adventurous and play some kids while resting Sparrow, Viney etc....

Rivers tried hard, Trac tried but is one of the worst kicks in the league at they moment but even suburban standard. Max had his usual crack . That's about it. Salem's meaningless dink kicks and running past to recharge a handball then kick to a contest are doing my head in

ย 
1 minute ago, Stiff Arm said:

Nor off Richmond nearly 10 years ago

No, there are so many factors. Many we'll never be privy to.

8 minutes ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

Not unexpected in my view. There was always a good chance of a down off the emotion of the recent weeks. We were ok after quarter time but that was more a 10-12 goal loss saved by their kicking.

What I did like was Chappy continuing to spin the magnets to see what we learn. Interesting that in the last quarter Rivers was in the pivot, Petty at CHB and Sparrow on a half back flank.
I actually would prefer us to be shown up like that today as I dont want an incumbent thinking you can in todays footy carry so many ball butchers in Oliver, Viney, Langdon, Trac and Sparrow.

Hopefully we try some new things again next week. Make a few changes subject to performance tomorrow and get through unscathed (lets hope for no Pickett last round suspension like the last 2 years).

Itโ€™s nice when a coach has no pressure to win so can try lots of different moves.

I understand Bowey at half forward but glad they moved him when it didnโ€™t work. Also nice to see Rivwrs moved to the middle. We really missed Windsorโ€™s dash and with Kosi not doing anything, I thought Rivers really provided a nice line breaking speed. He carries the ball well. Not the best kick but certainly not as bad as some of our other mids who have no speed and turn it over constantly.

Really hope we play Jefferson next week