View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

16 hours ago, John Demonic said:

I dunno. I reckon Caro would make a fantastic defensive coach with her miserliness

A offensive defender with the motto: "let nothing true"

Edited by Hellfire Dub

23 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Would…? Jordan Lewis to become involved at some level whether that be the newly formed position of head of strategy or some other role that's less time demanding.

Having Jordan Lewis involved would be an excellent idea. Intelligent, insightful and tuned in. During the immediate discussion post the Goodwin dismissal.

He suggested the new coach would need to instil some ‘fear’ into the playing group. As John Cale of Velvet Underground fame opined “Fear is a man’s best friend.”

Edited by Tarax Club
Velvets before Snopp everytime edit

17 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

i think, he thinks he is a chance to succeed Fagan when he leaves and probably what has been promised to him behind closed doors.

23 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

i think, he thinks he is a chance to succeed Fagan when he leaves and probably what has been promised to him behind closed doors.

I know which job I'd take.

10 hours ago, Demonland said:
30 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

I thought it was said that Daly would take over at Brisbane. Either way I’d have Daly at the front of our queue…..Have I said that before??

Edited by Roost it far

8 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I thought it was said that Daly would take over at Brisbane. Either way I’d have Daly at the front of our queue…..Have I said that before??

🤔🤔 lots of ppl given the nod 🙄🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️

Have we already got our new coach?

Someone must’ve made the decision on Tmac & Melksham?

2 minutes ago, Billy said:

I suspect those contract had been offered a little while ago.

23 minutes ago, Billy said:

List management is still in place and coaches are but one voice.

3 hours ago, Tarax Club said:

Having Jordan Lewis involved would be an excellent idea. Intelligent, insightful and tuned in. During the immediate discussion post the Goodwin dismissal.

He suggested the new coach would need to instil some ‘fear’ into the playing group. As John Cale of Velvet Underground fame opined “Fear is a man’s best friend.”

velvets would never make a grand final half time entertainment show with their songs about murder and sadomasochism

not to mention the tea party right wing boosterism from moe tucker

On 27/08/2025 at 06:07, zoe1617 said:

We should also be looking for an assistant coach to coach the forwards preferably someone who played as a forward who knows and can teach forward craft.

Irrelevant.

And that's not opinion, it's fact. Go through the top 8 and get back to us as to how many of those (successful) clubs have ex forwards as their forwards coach.

2 minutes ago, Deez21 said:

Bevo is back on the watchlist

He should be under a lot more pressure than he is

16 minutes ago, Deez21 said:

Bevo is back on the watchlist

I like Bevo but the Dogs should never have extended him before the end of the year as finals should have been the determinant

They’ve lacked a defensive system for years now and it doesn’t look like it’s improved at all this year

3 hours ago, Tarax Club said:

Love a link to lyrics/music. My life is a litany of moments to a fantastic ‘subjective’ soundtrack. 

Anyway this is a favorite topic of mine…

On the subject of ‘fear’ as a way to motivate.

There’s a popular belief that fear drives performance – that if people are a little scared, they’ll focus more, push harder, and deliver. And yes, in the short term, fear can create movement. It fires up the stress system, releasing adrenaline and cortisol, sharpening the senses for immediate action. But fear has a cost. Those same stress hormones also narrow thinking, limit creativity, and, over time, exhaust the very systems we need for consistent performance. It’s a short burst, not a long game.

Essentially, fear is the best motivator in the world...........................................short term.

When the brain is on alert, it’s less able to adapt, solve problems, or recover from mistakes – exactly the skills a footballer, or any performer. Of course each game, each athlete is under immense scrutiny and pressure

When athletes feel supported and challenged at the same time, different systems switch on – dopamine, oxytocin, serotonin – which broaden focus, improve resilience, and unlock better decision-making. The research is clear: people perform best when they feel safe enough to take risks and confident enough to stretch.

Fear in terms of selection and career Is ever present… they don’t need an angry parent as a coach - It’s 2025 and a professional work place.

So while fear might spark effort, connection sustains it. Teams that trust each other, and their coach, don’t just work harder – they think clearer, adapt faster, and stay together longer.

For Melbourne (or any club), fear may win moments. But connection builds seasons.

And, you can do accountability WITH empathy, it's not an either/or proposition.

Edited by Engorged Onion

42 minutes ago, demoncat said:

I like Bevo but the Dogs should never have extended him before the end of the year as finals should have been the determinant

They’ve lacked a defensive system for years now and it doesn’t look like it’s improved at all this year

They should have never extended him before they saw the outcome of the year and are now stuck with his extension

However, we might offer them a bail out

Was reported earlier in the year that we made contact with him and he shut it down out of respect for Goody and then signed a new deal

not making finals changes things for Dogs and Melbourne are very much watching the situation very closely and have made contact again

Doggies have never finished top 4 while Bevo's been coach

He is not better than goody. There has to be better options out there.

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Irrelevant.

And that's not opinion, it's fact. Go through the top 8 and get back to us as to how many of those (successful) clubs have ex forwards as their forwards coach.

To comment on my own post ... (!!), even if you did want to link coaching positions to ex-player positions, you'd actually be better off with an ex defender as forwards coach. They will have spent their career seeing how the best forwards work, and coming up against a whole range of forward systems and structures.

But the discussion is moot in any case. You just want good (assistant) coaches, where they played in the AFL is irrelevant. Even IF they played in the AFL is irrelevant.

8 minutes ago, BDA said:

He is not better than goody. There has to be better options out there.

He's a coach. He knows how to do the job. That's all that matters. This whole idea of "better" or "worse" coach is a furphy. Any of the names being thrown around could do the job, presumably - though always a bit of an unknown with someone who's only ever been an assistant.

On the other hand, what's starting to go-on off-field and with the arrival of Guerra is both more interesting and more important. if we want to see any real improvement it's not the coach we need to be worrying about, it's the list, admin and FD.

Goodwin's parting comments on the club that Todd Viney, Peter Jackson and Mahoney built say it all. We've fallen a long way "in that space" since they all left.

10 minutes ago, bing181 said:

This whole idea of "better" or "worse" coach is a furphy.

Maybe we should just get Mark Neeld back

1 hour ago, BW511 said:

He should be under a lot more pressure than he is

Only Sam Darcy saved his arsey.

The club leaks seem to be drying up… all of the intel on this club-selection process now seems to be coming from the candidates and not the club + we’ve heard very little on player exit interviews (especially Clarry).

My best guess is incoming CEO and president have had to step in. This is a good sign.

9 hours ago, beelzebub said:

She could...

And then the haters could hate hate hate

Mate, whatever has possessed you, shake it off! Shake it off! 😀