View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I'm still not warming to Buckley

all my pies colleagues reckon he held them back for a number of years. reckon he should have been sacked long before the axe eventually fell

10 minutes ago, BDA said:

I'm still not warming to Buckley

all my pies colleagues reckon he held them back for a number of years. reckon he should have been sacked long before the axe eventually fell

I don’t think I’d rely on the collective UnWisdom of Collingwood fans to determine my coaching decision. I mean, look at their behaviour when Angus was deliberately near-decaptitated.

Not saying you are, just a general comment

One more bump for Craig Jennings…

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/16hHaeLz6n/?mibextid=wwXIfr

Tactical genius, who has explicitly expressed his desire to prove it in the big chair. Currently midfield/transition coach at GWS (Mr. Orange Tsunami). Strong ties to the Dees, and heavily-rated by his peers.

If not for the main job, then let’s get him back to his home state as assistant.

But I’d have him as head coach. Can’t say I’m excited by either Bucks or Longmire. Both bad luck charms.

Just now, Mel Bourne said:

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/16hHaeLz6n/?mibextid=wwXIfr

Tactical genius, who has explicitly expressed his desire to prove it in the big chair. Currently midfield/transition coach at GWS (Mr. Orange Tsunami). Strong ties to the Dees, and heavily-rated by his peers.

If not for the main job, then let’s get him back to his home state as assistant.

But I’d have him as head coach. Can’t say I’m excited by either Bucks or Longmire. Both bad luck charms.

Would love to bring Craig Jennings back. Don't know if this counts for anything but he coached our AFLX side in 2018 and we won. Otherwise is a tactical and analytical genius who can bring some new ideas and tactics to the team. I feel like he would be great as a Senior Assistant, and I would been keen on bringing in Danny Daly from the Lions as a head coach, who is very highly rated in the industry.

11 minutes ago, KoltTheRam said:

Would love to bring Craig Jennings back. Don't know if this counts for anything but he coached our AFLX side in 2018 and we won. Otherwise is a tactical and analytical genius who can bring some new ideas and tactics to the team. I feel like he would be great as a Senior Assistant, and I would been keen on bringing in Danny Daly from the Lions as a head coach, who is very highly rated in the industry.

Agreed, Daly is worth a good look at as well.

But it feels like the winds are blowing in the “safe choice” direction. If I’m being honest, I don’t think we’re in GF contention for at least three more years. Too many other sides’ lists in bloom while ours has some pretty gaping holes (forward line and a currently-lacklustre midfield). Do Bucks/Longmire have that kind of patience (particularly in the face of what will considerable media scrutiny)?

And in the case of Longmire, I have an aversion to a coach that walks around with his own personal Grand Final-hoodoo.

6 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

Agreed, Daly is worth a good look at as well.

But it feels like the winds are blowing in the “safe choice” direction. If I’m being honest, I don’t think we’re in GF contention for at least three more years. Too many other sides’ lists in bloom while ours has some pretty gaping holes (forward line and a currently-lacklustre midfield). Do Bucks/Longmire have that kind of patience (particularly in the face of what will considerable media scrutiny)?

And in the case of Longmire, I have an aversion to a coach that walks around with his own personal Grand Final-hoodoo.

I completely agree with you. While I will back in and support whoever gets hired for the role, I feel with the way the league is moving we put ourselves at risk of going further behind with "safe choices" such as Buckley and Longmire. I believe we both need someone that is able to be sturdy and a strong communicator, especially in the Head of Football role, while a coach needs to have new game plans and ideas as well as engage the players in order to bring ourselves back to contention as soon as possible.

2 hours ago, demon36 said:

But 3 years of a dysfunctional forward system was enough for me to know simon was timed out ( whom I love and will be grateful to) and Board made correct call now.

It’s kind of interesting hearing the players talk they all seemed totally oblivious and that this all came as a shock, where as speaking with anyone on the outside it was something everyone had seen coming even to those who supported Goodwin staying on till next year.

I think I'd prefer a highly credentialed assistant coach to a ex senior one who's arm needs to be twisted.

15 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Chaplin has been there since 2016. He'd hardly be a new voice. If he had any brilliant ideas you'd think he would have shared them already. The fact that the team has no real newbies other than Adams and a veteran ruck who can't play forward would indicate same same but no different.

I read somewhere the club has already formed a coaching sub committee and Richardson is on it. Why? I think he should be cut and a new Head of Football be recruited. He has overseen the coaches and frankly failed.

The fact we’ve told Troy Chaplin not to pursue the role seems to be some evidence we either already know who we want or what we want, or we don’t want anyone from the previous FD involved at all.

42 minutes ago, cantstandyasam said:

Chaplin has been there since 2016. He'd hardly be a new voice. If he had any brilliant ideas you'd think he would have shared them already. The fact that the team has no real newbies other than Adams and a veteran ruck who can't play forward would indicate same same but no different.

26 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

The fact we’ve told Troy Chaplin not to pursue the role seems to be some evidence we either already know who we want or what we want, or we don’t want anyone from the previous FD involved at all.

Also interesting Chaplin said the playing group will have a new coach in 5-6 weeks. Would suggest we aren't running an exhaustive process that takes a long time, and matched up nicely to the BnF on 9 September.

15 minutes ago, Mickey said:

Also interesting Chaplin said the playing group will have a new coach in 5-6 weeks. Would suggest we aren't running an exhaustive process that takes a long time, and matched up nicely to the BnF on 9 September.

I think a lot, well.. some folk might be buying into the idea we are only NOW canvassing options.

Logically to me you would not move on a coach until you have 'some' idea of who and what is available and when. There would have been arms length enquiries prior to the 'dismissal' ... now they bring things in and ramp up.

You're going to want the nucleus of your Football Honchos sorted by/or immediately after the big dance.

56 minutes ago, BKKBooga said:

I read somewhere the club has already formed a coaching sub committee and Richardson is on it. Why? I think he should be cut and a new Head of Football be recruited. He has overseen the coaches and frankly failed.

It is highly likely as said by some others on this thread that with Goodwins contract pay-out, under the soft cap we can not afford to cut Richardson as well. It is expected that he would be moved into a different role than head of football, with someone else coming in to take that spot (hence the discussion that Melbourne is targeting 2 big names according to Footy Classified)

22 hours ago, lorn said:

Great news for us, now we can pick whoever we want to coach

Unless Fremantle go all "Freo" on everyone and lose their last 2 games of the year.

No way Longmuir is coaching Freo next year if they miss finals.

Danny Daly is a happy medium between experienced and untried.

Sure he hasn't coached an AFL game, but he's had experience in assistant coaching and administration so he knows how an AFL football club is supposed to be run.

He's also obviously been instrumental in Brisbane's rise to become a perennial top 8 contender for the last 7 seasons, as he and Fagan have been a tremendous duo for that club.

But the thing I like the most about him is his media interviews. He comes across as respectful, knowledgeable, transparent and full of common sense.

I think a Dany Daly is exactly what we need. The new manager type coach that will keep the egos in check is one I want running the club. Richardson has done nothing but cheerlead the illusion of a stable club.

We are in transition/rebuild phase. I don't know that going down the untried coach path is what we should be doing to be honest. I know very little about Daly, other than he has been involved in a lot of AFL clubs and never played AFL. He seems like a good bloke, but one suited more to a GM of Football role. If the Club looked worse under his leadership at the beginning of the season next year, he doesnt have the credits in the bank to appease the faithful. Crowds and sponsorship would drop off. The media scrutiny would build. It is a lot on a 'newbie'. He may be great, it's just not the path I'd be going down.

I just feel like Buckley could build a professional culture and command respect instantly. I feel he has a fire inside that yearns for a flag, something that has eluded him, despite other degrees of success. He will be hungrier the 2nd time around.

if brisbane have told Danny Daly "you are the next BL coach" what would it take, if possible, for the Dees to get him? Seems unlikely he is an option for that reason.

7 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Have been , as no doubt are most of us , having a bit of a think about this .

I can only sense that the club will go forcan experienced operator, but that may NOT rule out a very capable senior assistant. Only time will unveil.

I would only want someone with the enthusiasm and energy to take the reigns. They could be there for a few years so I'm not looking for a temporary solution.

I note, well it's my gut feeling ( could just be the farts 🤷‍♂️ ) that not everyone mentioned is there by their own impetus. Horse is high on lists but is HE really that interested or keen to uproot. I wonder. I've moved away from Simpson. I just don't think he is THAT fit for us. He's capable but is he our best option ? Then there's Bucks. My first gut reaction was very nearly a gut reaction... lol But in thinking I've considered the qualities required.

You need to thoroughly understand Football. He does. A very good head for it. He knows where this game is. Also where it might head. Tactically I think hes shown nouse. Can he coach ? I'd have to deduce he can. His time at Collingwood. I think he was on a bit of a hiding to nothing ...and white ants were apparent. He seems keen. Thats good in my book . I don't want someone there who you had to drag there.

Something that is a trademark of Bucks in footy. He took games on !! Both as a player, and i thought a very very good player, a match turner-winner kind of player and in his coaching. He would try to win games. Im not a fan of trying to protect a win ( too early ) .

Horse likes to move magnets. Im not a fan of Simpson footy.

I hope we are not too blinkered in our search.

I want someone to relight the fire in the players.

Any which way 26 will be , imho , a sorting come discovery year. Need to become super relevant in 27.

Who ever comes needs to wrangle together assistants who can impart skills and craft.

Im a little buoyed, excited and at the same time nervous . Simon certainly didn't get everything wrong. Far from it. But we'd stalled... and like a plane that's not good. If someone can fire up those jets and wrestle control back so we can lift well, dare I say the sky's the limit.

Im warming to Bucks , but I'm not sold. Horse is the Horse of course , of course.. and not one talks like the Horse of course.... Just not feeling it for Simpson. Might be a better fit elsewhere.

So who else ??

Interesting fortnight ahead.

Meanwhile.... good luck Troy 👍

I'm actually distinctly warming to Buckley for all the reasons you mention.

Think he has a good mix of approachable mate coach, but also able to set high expectations and give the team a good rev-up when they need it. I think he was set up to fail the way the transition worked at Collingwood under Malthouse and with Eddy in the background. His closeness to some in the playing group probably didn't help either.

I initially defended Horse's initial reaction, but the more I reflect it seems he really doesn't want the job. I'm also somewhat turned off by his shocking GF record. Asides from the one premiership he actually won with them, Sydney were pretty much trounced in every other GF they played under him, which isn’t a good sign for me.

As a real left field thing - could we coax Roosy back?

4 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

Didn't we sack him?

klopp for me

On 05/08/2025 at 09:30, Frustrated Demon said:

What about Bucks if he wanted to coach?

Was not the best communicator from what I heard. His way or the highway type of fellow. Bit arrogant