22 minutes ago, layzie said:

Very happy with Bayley Fritsch's game today. 3 goals and 21 possessions (career high?). Found space and his instincts were to help the team today.

One slight worry - 0 tackles and 4 pressure acts. When you're finding space and getting opportunities like he did today then you don't worry about the defensive side, but he is not going to get the space he did today against a lot of the other sides in the competition. When his leads are blocked and the forward 50 marks aren't happening this is when most of us notice the lack of defensive pressure and being able to offer something other than his 1 wood. I hope we can see more of this from now till the end of the season, or just keeping hitting him lace out.

The 0 tackles wonโ€™t bother me if he puts that effort and team first decision making in on a weekly basis.

Was his best game since the Premiership

ย 

Bailey fritsch I take my hat off yo you.

That is the effort I want to see.

You kicked well, you actually put on defensive pressure, did some defensive spoils & the best thing yet you actually looked to pass it off rather than just blaze away at the goals.

Please play like that from now on

12 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I didnโ€™t think the Xerri hit was intentional. I thought it was a reckless fist from a big unco bloke. In any case, itโ€™s reckless/severe/high on the rating system which adds up to 4 weeks.

Just hope Sparrow recovers. Given that he still seemed to be lights out when he went off is not a good sign. I had a head injury like that as a child and it took months to come right. Iโ€™ll be surprised if we see him again this year.

I agree with your summation. We all hope for Sparras recovery.

But Xerri has got to get many weeks.

What a richard cranium! Welcome Gawny to your 8th AAP

A great day spent at the footy. My 5 year old first ever AFL game and boy did he love it!

It was pretty swirly and thought we converted well considering the conditions.

It was a scrappy game but when we were challenged in the 3rd quarter we rode the bump and found another gear.

Besides the scrappy disposal Petracca showed some of his old bursts from stoppages. He was strong and really tried to generate a lot of forward entries.

Tmac was close to BOG for me. Please dont drop him Goody..

Fritta and Rivers were good i thought.

Melksham will sign a new contract, mark my words! I am hoping Tmac is the same.

Langford will be a beauty!

Jefferson will be fine. As I said after the Adelaide game, you just have to load him up with games and experience. Could have easily had 3 goals for the day. For a guy of his size, he certainly doesn't mind crashing the packs and bring the ball to ground.

Loved JVR's game as well! Let's just leave both he and Jeffo in for the rest of the year.

And Xerri is a dirty thug, enjoy your holiday you [censored]

55 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Staggered that we canโ€™t find a place for TMac in the side. There has to be a role.

Sign Melksham for another three.

Seriously for the love of God, just play T Mac every game between now and the end of season if he's fit. Way more impactful than Lever is at the moment and deserves to end his career on a high if he doesn't go round next year (which I feel he possibly could, but probably won't).

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I didnโ€™t think the Xerri hit was intentional. I thought it was a reckless fist from a big unco bloke. In any case, itโ€™s reckless/severe/high on the rating system which adds up to 4 weeks.

Just hope Sparrow recovers. Given that he still seemed to be lights out when he went off is not a good sign. I had a head injury like that as a child and it took months to come right. Iโ€™ll be surprised if we see him again this year.

I don't think it was intentional either but i think collectively the sport needs to get its act together in what is ok on the field.

Reckless seems to be considered not such a big deal. Acccidental adjacent. Sure give him a few weeks, but it's not as if he meant it, yada yada yada.

Mooney's response in commentary was that sort of vibe. He'll get weeks, but geez he's a bit unlucky. A football act.

But reckless is a not accidental. And its not unlucky.

It is defined as 'acting without regard for potential consequences or dangers, often characterized by carelessness and a lack of caution.'

And that exactly describes Xerri's action.

The ball was at Sparrow's feet when he was struck. Xerri got nowhere the ball. And in doing so he showed no regard to the potential consequences of swimg on a closed fist in the vicinity of an opponents head.

And dees fans know full well how serious the consequences can be.

Tragically so do Pies and Eagles fans who have seen players in their team also have to retire because of concussion in the last two years.

We'll never eliminate the risk of concussion from footy, but if the AFL is serious about minimising the risk of an injury we know can cause LIFELONG damage then they need to get serious about penalising acts that show zero regard for potential consequences.

Four weeks is a total joke for that hit. Change it to six minimum and players might think twice before swinging a clenched in a way that could conceivably result in a player being struck to the head.

Xerri will definitely get weeks for the hit but the carryon by some posters is unbelievable. It was a reflex action that was reckless. I donโ€™t think heโ€™s a dirty thug. He will get two to three and thatโ€™s all.

Key points.

1. Goalkicking 18.11 wowโ€ฆThatโ€™s a difference. Goalkicking accuracy wins games !!!

2.Max is the All Australian ruckman for 2025. Saw off the challenger !! Loved his goal from his spot outside50

3.Melksham was incredible again. Heโ€™s the only player still that I have confidence in when kicking for goal.

4.Chin was very good. Pressure. Tackling. Hit the scoreboard. Thatโ€™s what he needs to bring every week.

5. Harvey Langford. Love the kid His composure is beyond his years. Battles in the contest Will eventually get an inside mid role once he gets a few pre seasons.

6. JV7. 9 tackles again. Maximum effort. He actually hit 2 or 3 targets today

7.Effort from JVR and Jeffo was okay. Thatโ€™s the competitive standard. They are still below par but need to give them a go. Jeffo kicking let him down again.

8.Trac getting back to near his best. Good at contest. BUT his delivery inside50 is still horrible and handballs to put others under pressure and missed tackles

Room for improvementโ€ฆ

1.Lever. Looked slow again and caught twice when he was so slow to get rid of the footy. Not sure he stays in when May returns

2.Mcvee lost most of his contests and struggled against Curtis (until Curtis got injured)

3.Kolt looked lost or disinterested at times. Failing to chase on 2 or 3 occasions was a bad sign. Not sure he fits anywhere but at half forward. I had hoped we would get an intense aggressive goalkicking youngster

4.Goodwin. Allowed Mckercher to run loose as a quarterback half back. 20 possessions to half time. Had a lot of kick run and receive without pressure. Others would destroy us if allowed such freedom.

5.Lost centre clearances. 11-17. Roos minus Wardlaw and LDU so had a 2nd rate midfield and they beat us Phillips, Powell, Simpson.

Hope Tom Sparrow is okay It was a nasty hit Xerri. Careless High Severe impact so 3 weeks at least !!!

ย 
6 minutes ago, binman said:

I don't think it was intentional either but i think collectively the sport needs to get its act together in what is ok on the field.

Reckless seems to be considered not such a big deal. Acccidental adjacent. Sure give him a few weeks, but it's not as if he meant it, yada yada yada.

Mooney's response in commentary was that sort of vibe. He'll get weeks, but geez he's a bit unlucky. A football act.

But reckless is a not accidental. And its not unlucky.

It is defined as 'acting without regard for potential consequences or dangers, often characterized by carelessness and a lack of caution.'

And that exactly describes Xerri's action.

The ball was at Sparrow's feet when he was struck. Xerri got nowhere the ball. And in doing so he showed no regard to the potential consequences of swimg on a closed fist in the vicinity of an opponents head.

And dees fans know full well how serious the consequences can be.

Tragically so do Pies and Eagles fans who have seen players in their team also have to retire because of concussion in the last two years.

We'll never eliminate the risk of concussion from footy, but if the AFL is serious about minimising the risk of an injury we know can cause LIFELONG damage then they need to get serious about penalising acts that show zero regard for potential consequences.

Four weeks is a total joke for that hit. Change it to six minimum and players might think twice before swinging a clenched in a way that could conceivably result in a player being struck to the head.

I agree with what youโ€™re saying. Make reckless the same penalty as intentional is now, and make intentional immediate deregistration.

I reckon in that second quarter we saw glimpses of our future midfield.

We had Clarry's hands back to his best again, releasing to Langford, Lindsay and Kozzy on the outside. We pushed Bison and XL up for a number of stoppages in the first half of the 2nd, and we really dominated. I loved it.

44 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

Xerri coming over to check on Sparrow, Petracca taps him on the rump whilst Viney gives him a bumpโ€ฆ

Sounds like you have it in for our BOG. Everyone is different mate.

You would be giving Melksham and TMac another 12 months on todays Performance.

Lever is now a serious liability, Playing him in such a crucial position has to be looked at long and hard

1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

@dazzledavey36 hope your young fella enjoyed his first trip to the G today

Nice sentiment.

Was quietly concerned for the lad.

Hope they had a great day together.

2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Lever is now a serious liability, Playing him in such a crucial position has to be looked at long and hard

Agree

The only caveat I will throw in is i have serious misgivings that Lever has really ever been 100% rtr this year. Agree , he's a bit of a concern presently.

I think the Xerri case will be fascinating.

He has gone passed the ball, and is not even looking in the direction of Sparrow. If it goes to tribunal what he argues will have to be pretty unique, because based on previous โ€˜eyes on the ballโ€™, โ€˜contesting the playโ€™ arguments he is in real trouble.

9 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

๐Ÿ’ฏ

That was my first concern coming into the room to see how Tommy was. He is up, he is talking, he has his family and friends around him,โ€ Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin said on Sunday

โ€œThe pleasing thing is he is up and about, but he goes straight into the protocols. We will take no risk with Tom.

โ€œHe will get monitored really closely by our medical team. They will make the best decision there. He is up talking, can remember the majority of the game. Thatโ€™s a good sign, but clearly he is going to be monitored quite closely by our medical team.โ€

13 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I think we need to see what Adams can offer in Leverโ€™s spot.

3 minutes ago, Heart Beats True said:

I think we need to see what Adams can offer in Leverโ€™s spot.

Now is the perfect opportunity to do it

6 games left in the Season

ย 

Nice win. Very good second half. A few random observations:

• Melks in outstanding form. Leadership personified in our forward line;

• Great to see a few of our experienced players back approaching their best, after a quiet run of form (Tracc, Clarrie, Salo, Chin, Fritta);

• Max a step closer to to AA number 8;

• Langford playing like a 100 game veteran. Will become a โ€˜household nameโ€™;

• Some of our youngsters looking very weary (X, Windsor). End of season canโ€™t come soon enough for them, I expect;

• Not yet fully convinced by Jeffo, but today was a step in the right direction. Keep it up, young fella;

• Horrendous hit on Spaz. He was โ€˜out to itโ€™ before his head bounced after hitting the ground. Fingers firmly crossed for him.

• Loved the turn around in the goals to points ratio. Delivery into the forward half had a fair bit to do with that.

Edited by Deeoldfart
Typo

Never know with the tribunaL - Maynard-Brayshaw.

You don't throw your arm around like that in tight traffic and expect a 'fresh airy'. Always going to be damage.

Perhaps a momentary lapse by Xerri but that carries no weight with the tribunal.

He will get weeks for sure.