1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Didn't watch a second of the game as i was at a functional but was checking for updates. Seems we were challenges and rose to the occasion.. well done.

Will watch the full replay today.

I see Langford had another 20 plus possessions.. he would have to be right in the mix for the rising star now?

Max looks like he had a monster of a game as did Chandler?

Chandler was fabulous

Max was supremely dominant

Langford is a beauty. Reads the play well and has got footy smarts

11 hours ago, Pates said:

It would be so Michael Christian for him to give Melk a one weeks suspension, I have no faith in him making the right call.

Christian is a heathen

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Didn't watch a second of the game as i was at a functional but was checking for updates. Seems we were challenges and rose to the occasion.. well done.

Will watch the full replay today.

I see Langford had another 20 plus possessions.. he would have to be right in the mix for the rising star now?

Max looks like he had a monster of a game as did Chandler?

It wasn't pretty to watch but there were moments when we played some exciting footy dd.

56 minutes ago, clarrypetracca135 said:

sparrow has gotta be the most frustrating footballler

gotta bring jvr back and aj too. 1 key forward doesnt cut it imo.

alternitively drop sparrow and petty out for concussion and bring in jed adams and roo(disco swings forward)

melksham is crucial for our inside 50 delivery and spargo just isnt it. lindsay might need a run in the vfl and mcvee is out of form. at the surface we are lacking composure (cough cough 22)

this season is reminding me of brisbane last year

all we need is to get another tall in

Have you been watching this year? And perhaps listening to what Goody has been saying?

Sparrow has been given very specific roles and is playing extremely well. Drop him? You are kidding!!

2 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Have you been watching this year? And perhaps listening to what Goody has been saying?

Sparrow has been given very specific roles and is playing extremely well. Drop him? You are kidding!!

he's good about every second week

12 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I disagree. The modern game suits him perfectly.

He is ultra athletic for a tall lad. Beautiful kick and mark. He has every opportunity to become a high value player. Just needs the experience and belief.

I really have high hopes for him.

I wonder if a spell down back has been what has ignited his form. I've really loved seeing him play defence lately. He's looked really solid, but obviously his three goals might push him forward again.

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Further to the Kolt discussion ... playing as a small forward alone can be tough going (they don't call it starvation corner for nothing)

So if he finds his way back at Casey he should be played as a frontline midfielder

But as it stands, if we get the chance to give Kolt some midfield minutes in the seniors, we should do so ... get him into the play

Yeah it really seems like all he's lacking is to get his hands on the footy a bit more. Such a young kid, coming off an injury, and then to try and play a small forward is a tough ask. Has barely played any footy, so wouldn't be opposed to him getting a game at Casey.

Just feels like it's not too far away before it all clicks into gear for him.

Side note: who else celebrates every goal by a teammate as much as Kolt does. What a great team player.

It’s genuinely amusing to hear a commentator every week marvel at what Max does. Almost like they forget just how good he is. This week it was Adam Simpson with Pavlich playing the supporting role. Next week it will be someone else.

It’s fine to entertain the historical significance of Farmer or Stynes. Madden was a very different type of player. Cox v Gawn has been a legitimate conversation. But it’s time.

Max Gawn is the GOAT. It’s okay to say it.

3 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

Max seemed to mark the ball in the backline to save a goal against us and then magically appear up fwd.

Defied the time space continuum.

Also I finally think Chin has arrived as a high quality player.

Much more consistent and seems to have gained more speed.

Has picked up where Anb left but has more goal awareness.

To be fair to ANB, he always had good goal sense. And Chin's problem has been hitting the scoreboard consistently, something Nibbler was always pretty good at.

Chin has become a really important part of the team though. Loving his season.

Just now, Mike said:

Yeah it really seems like all he's lacking is to get his hands on the footy a bit more. Such a young kid, coming off an injury, and then to try and play a small forward is a tough ask. Has barely played any footy, so wouldn't be opposed to him getting a game at Casey.

Just feels like it's not too far away before it all clicks into gear for him.

Side note: who else celebrates every goal by a teammate as much as Kolt does. What a great team player.

Right across the league, small forwards are often inconsistent ... but it's a tough position to dominate anyway

Competition for midfield spots is hot but Kolt looks like a really good link player (team player) in the making

He'll get his chances as a forward/mid but he's young and needs to bide his time up forward for now

Expectations from the MC could be to get 10-15 possessions and apply as much forward line pressure as possible

3 shots at goal is not always going to end up in a 0.3 result. But having 3 or 4 shots at goal most weeks would be a terrific return

Project player learning on the job

8 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

According to the [censored]-rag known as ‘The West’, this was a hit job and intentional:

IMG-0640.jpg?dl=1

They live on a planet over in WA. It’s not planet earth, but it’s a planet nonetheless.

Brave Eagles and Flagmantle doing a fine job for WA football.

THE Melksham/McGovern incident was an unfortunate tetralogy and purely accidental. Melksham never too his eyes off the ball. What Ginbey did could arguably be considered worse because he shoved Petty into McGoverns path and didn’t even go for the ball.

Edited by John Crow Batty

19 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

According to the [censored]-rag known as ‘The West’, this was a hit job and intentional:

IMG-0640.jpg?dl=1

Thanks. I am a little short on toilet paper :-)

18 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

IMG-0640.jpg?dl=1

Such a disgraceful headline.

It was good play by Melksham. Used his body to nudge McGovern under the footy AND TAKE THE MARK !!! no free kick. That’s a mark. Dees will fight and suggestion otherwise!!!

Must be written by the now unemployed Dutton campaign managers. Sickening !!

Can I just say Harry Sharpe is turning out to be a handy sub & player.

When he came on he used the ball well & kicked a nice goal.

I'd keep him & would love to see what he could do in a full game

13 hours ago, adonski said:

Tholstrup had an almost game, 0.3 could have been 3 snags

Not really because if he kicks the first one, the ball goes back to the centre

22 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

They live on a planet over in WA. It’s not planet earth, but it’s a planet nonetheless.

Brave Eagles and Flagmantle doing a fine job for WA football.

Bless their little Sandgroper hearts 😉

10 hours ago, Wrecker45 said:

I hope i don't get banned for religious comments. Could Max be th

In an extremely dangerous game our 10% mental hardness factor turned up last night in a game where I haven't even looked at the maggot factor.

14 hours ago, Sydee said:

Surely not he used his body to out position his opponent - that’s legal

And he marked the ball, a fundamental difference between his and other suspension cases

First off, it was great to watch the win live. But we’re still clearly a team developing under the new game plan.

The Eagles looked to play a high-pressure, defensively focused game. With the exception of one player who consistently stayed forward of the pack near their goal, they relied on quick handballs out to launch their slingshot attack. When the ball was out in space, they were very quick—showing a level of leg speed we lacked—which made them hard to defend. We concentrated numbers around the ball to win the contest, but that left us with little space to break free.

I was expecting us to showcase more of the quick slingshot-style movement once we got on top, but we rarely did. We still look slow and hesitant to spot the free man and commit to hard running to create overlap. (Yes, the Eagles were playing a high-pressure 1:1 structure to stop it, but they managed to pull it off.) So instead, we moved the ball steadily with short kicks, then went long into the 50. That just led to repeat contests and constant rebounds.

Kolt had a rough start—two marking errors early on. The dropped ball with Gawn was right in front of me. It was clearly Kolt’s to take, but he seemed to hesitate as Gawn came in, and that led to the drop. Then there was the chest mark he spilled later. But credit to him—he kept working and stayed in the game.

Fritta… his off-the-ball work really needs attention. There’s a noticeable lack of support for teamates, no shepherds or pressure acts. He seems more focused on getting into space to receive the ball himself, often ignoring teammates in better positions.

Around the contest, we desperately need to develop a wide option to exit congestion. As usual, we overuse the short handball in tight, and that’s more about poor positioning than poor skills.

As for the forward line until Turner was moved down there we looked very short. It’s tough to generate a contest when you’re undersized everywhere.

That said, it was good to see Max get a goal (just!).

Three wins in a row now, even if they’ve come against lower ranked teams it builds confidence.

13 hours ago, Pates said:

He was frustrating, an almost game is exactly it. Each behind he definitely could've (should've) got, he dropped easy chest marks but takes a good grab on the goal line.

I'm on the fence, it's tempting to give him some time at VFL but someone made a good point that his biggest issue isn't getting involved it's getting up to the pace of AFL. Playing at Casey won't help that.

Kolt is a lock in our best 22, even with his middling numbers.

He leads up hard has good hands is good on the ground and brings great energy.

He has an X factor and just seems the sort of player who if he gets his end up he can do a lot of damage.

Break out games are a bit of myth I reckon, or least rare, but I could see kolt having a massive breakout game - lots of quality score involvements and a bunch of goals.