15 minutes ago, Deebaser said:

Poor form by Goodwin, just say Gawn had an off day. All this does is create gossip.

Terrible by Goody. This is the sort of [censored] Chris Scott says like when they got belted in the Prelim "I won't go into the details but we had a few players crook" sorta [censored].

Only thing is that Scott is a terrific game day coach and Goody is one of the worst.

Anyone jumping on Gawn for a poor game after being AA for 7 out of 8 years can GAGF. 

Bit of respect 

And Grundy is the only reason heis not 8/8

4 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Like to hear thoughts on our forward line positioning. I think the way the forward are being forced to set up is disgraceful and has destroyed all their confidence.

We could have 3 v 2 in the forward line. If the wrong guy has the ball kicking it in it doesnt matter.  We dont have enough guys that know how to kick to advantage, especially under pressure.  

Hey if the media starts having a go at your captain. As coach I like goody giving an insight that he is going through some personal stuff. Some players take a month off, Gawn fronted up

Not an excuse, a reason for a club legend being off

I’m so sad.

All that hope, the talk, and while it isn’t over, it’s only round 2, we just suffered our WORST loss in Vic in SIX years at the hands of a likely bottom 4 team (by no means a bad team and certainly on the rise, but still), and yet none of this is new, the signs have been there for a long while, and nobody has done a thing about it. This loss reminds me of the loss to the Eagles last year. They looked like world beaters after us and were then pantsed by pretty much everyone after that game. Same will happen here. 

We continue our downward slide.

We deserve better.

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue

1 hour ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

We haven’t had a forward line since 2021

Not disagreeing but how well did we do without one in 23?

Melksham made a big difference and without Gus going down we would have more than likely won a flag.

And yet here we are 18 months later playing like this.

It's mind boggling.

We know that we have had some players that have had trouble that has been advertised outside of the club.

Our backline today put in its worst effort I can remember. 

But back to our fwd line, Fritta has a lot to answer for and Jvr has definitely gone backwards big time. 

Why has the club been so lazy on not addressing this glaring dearth of consistent talent?

There's an old saying that complacency brings failure. Perhaps winning a flag after so long has contributed.

For whatever reason, this was a great list we had and it deserved more than one flag.

Surely heads must roll.

I think the frustration with Goodwin is about being beaten the same way for his entire tenure. 

Put one extra back, play fast, and run it out of the backline. How many times have we won i50 and lost the game? That would be a very interesting stat.

But nothing has changed. We had a good enough list to win a flag, until the game changed. As said earlier, we're all tooled up to fight the last war. 

10 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Viney needs to play majority forward, bring his pressure and his surprising goal nous, but his ball use in the midfield is a killer.

I agree. The manic intensity doesn't seem to be there anymore and the kicking is a huge problem. 

6 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Sparrow, Chandler and Viney

Not a convincing combination, but I thought Chandler into the middle was well worth a try. 

I thought persisting with Langdon for so long was truly bizarre. I have absolutely no idea why anyone at the club thinks he's a CBA midfielder. 

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Sack Goodwin. 

I tolerated last year but today has done it for me.. officially off him now.

Since 2021 we've gotten worse as each year goes by. The lovey dovey fake persona this off season was just a cover up for the rot that still exist within the footy club.

I certainly think his days are numbered. If he isnt replaced during the season, he should be at the end of the year. IMO he's gone as far as he can with this group

Happy to be proven wrong in 10 weeks, can't see it happening.

One flag from such an amazing list is underwhelming 

8 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Just heard Goodwin presser only a portion was played around Gawn having a personnel issue but wouldn’t  go into it saying everyone has a back story 

What’s wrong with his back?

1 hour ago, Hopeful Demon said:

That was arguably our single worst performance since Paul Roos' last game as coach.

The scary thing is that I don't even think North were that good. We were just absolutely atrocious on every front. We constantly fumbled, turned it over and failed to stick simple tackles. Our inability to hit a target in the f50 was comical.

I really don't know what year we are in for. All the confidence I gained after the GWS game is gone.

Can't disagree with this.

Given it was North, it was easily our worst performance in 5 years.

5 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

We dont have enough guys that know how to kick to advantage, especially under pressure.  

I don't think there's any getting around this. 

Kozzie suddenly seems like the most important player in the team. I'd expect Langford to be back in the side very quickly now. 

1 hour ago, Beetle said:

Essendon absolutely rubbing their hands together with the pick coming their way based on todays performance.

too bad this years draft is 10x worse then last years

I hope all is well with Gawn, he’s given so much a 7 xAA, bottom line though there a 23 other players who should have lifted, they played at a very poor standard! It may be just time for Goody sure our only living premiership coach but something just isn’t right tactical, game plan. 

1 hour ago, layzie said:

I'd say we probably stuck 18% of the tackles we attempted. 

True, but that is a strangely exact estimate.

1 hour ago, roy11 said:

Think comms said they scored 7 goals straight from the centre bounce. Unforgivable 

At one stage, the scoreboard said 8 goals to North from stoppage to 2 goals from us.

So we were clubbed with our 1 wood...

The only thing worse than our performance is Goodwin creating speculation on Gawn. Really poor form.

I do not read replies, reactions, or redactions. Past performance is not an indicator or future results.

The only sides than North will beat this year are the ones that don't turn up to play and today that was us. Our midfield were abysmal and the main cause of our demise today. 

12 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

I don't think there's any getting around this. 

Kozzie suddenly seems like the most important player in the team. I'd expect Langford to be back in the side very quickly now. 

I think there is.  Its been a problem for years.  For all the bemoaning of our forward line and its stucture and personnel, we've had the same look in the midfield through this time.     Langford today was good, but he's not Lindsay in terms of thought process and execution. We need to throw him the keys. 

Edited by Jjrogan

1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Reckon we saw more last week in terms of stretching the ground and better delivery inside f50, today was a big step back to old habits of just bombing it in. Really lacked Windsor and his run in transition, large parts of that 3rd quarter where we transitioned quickly but turned it over or allowed them to get numbers back by handballing to ground or just not hitting the teammate in the open 

Yeah, we weren't consistent early in the game, we were poor at contest for large parts of that first half, but the aggressive forward handball that we saw last week was on show multiple times and we looked dangerous. 

But those Viney entries in the 3rd killed the game, and the last quarter we gave up...

Nothing is ever as good or as had as it seems. Although it does feel like it today.

Edited by Adam The God