10 hours ago, Jibroni said:

I do not think pundits realise the impact of live TV has on attendances (particularly wet conditions).

While the crowd was slightly disappointing the reaction does not surprise me.

Exactly! Despite his MCC membership my brother decided at the last minute to just stay home, not spend 50 minutes traveling to the G , and watch the game in a warm, dry house with all the creature comforts . It's bizarre anyone wants to pretend fans would never choose watching games on TV over suffering in lousy conditions. It wasn't exactly like this game was a final.

19 hours ago, Macca said:

The 'Pathetic' word should be removed totally.  It's demeaning to the site

It's inappropriate and quite frankly, wrong

On a site where we regularly call players spuds and list cloggers, and other supporters filth and scum I think we can unclutch our pearls from our grip on being called pathetic.

Will be back from holiday, cutting it short and will be at shiiizenhuisen stadium on Sunday🤩😎

55 minutes ago, rpfc said:

On a site where we regularly call players spuds and list cloggers, and other supporters filth and scum I think we can unclutch our pearls from our grip on being called pathetic.

Like a lot of other clubs on a regular basis, average to low attendances in any number of games are going to happen based on the home team's supporter base up against the opposition's supporter base numbers

So if you do the maths, the Demons vs most of the interstate teams isn't going to draw big numbers.  Same story for a number of other Vic teams

Ignore the media and ignore supporter-speak.  Oneupmanship is at play

But if you enjoy being called pathetic, good for you

7 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Just wish the club would recognise those that do show up to the lesser games like GWS week in week out more when it comes to the big high crowd drawing games, when they want to cast us asides into the depths of the top level unless you are willing to pay top dollar for reserved seats.  Yes they want to profit off those big games, yet if we didn't show up to the GWS type ones, they'd be screwed.

I don't think the club does enough to recognise long term members full stop, but particularly those who are attending 9+ home games each year. It is way more effective to look after the supporters you already have, rather than trying to sign up 3 game members who will drop off a year or two later.

7 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Exactly! Despite his MCC membership my brother decided at the last minute to just stay home, not spend 50 minutes traveling to the G , and watch the game in a warm, dry house with all the creature comforts . It's bizarre anyone wants to pretend fans would never choose watching games on TV over suffering in lousy conditions. It wasn't exactly like this game was a final.

To be honest, I reckon that's [censored] poor and personally I just don't get it.

(Well, i do if your brother in law is more a theatre going type fan than a passionate supporter of the dees - which is OK, each to their own).

One, no matter what the weather unlike lots of sports (eg tennis, golf, car racing, cricket) footy is so much better to watch live than on TV.

Two, we get what a dozen or so opportunities to get to the G each season to watch the mighty dees?

I get there's all sorts of reasons why it's not always possible to get to games, the cost being a key one. But not wanting to go coz the weather is inclement and you'd prefer tge comfort of your couch, particularly if you don't have to travel far, ain't a reason I can get behind. Not if you are a supporter as opposed to a semi engaged fan.

Three, i have no doubt crowds cam influence results, particularly in games where the crowd predominately supports one team.

You could feel the crowds influence and energy when we got those quick goals in the third quarter. And again in the last.

And I have no doubt crowds influence umpiring decisions.

If maybe 2k couch sittters turn up we win that game, not to mention the extra coin we xould use to improve our chances of being successful in the future.

The keen ones attend, the not-so-keen ones may not attend

Multiply that by every club in any sport, Worldwide

There is no uniqueness

I know plenty of people (who are members) of other clubs who will often not go to games.  Pies, Blues, Tigers and Bombers fans especially

But those teams (IMV) have at least 5 times as many fans as do Melbourne supporters

Face it, we are a medium sized club (just) and until we are a big club, attendances are always going to be a talking point

TV rules ... 

e.g.  If 2 million people watch a game on the telly where there are say, 40,000 at the ground, that means that 50 times more people are watching the game on TV

Honestly, we could fast forward 10 years and the same silly argument will still be around

And if we are a big club in 10 years time I'll be very surprised

8 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Went on Sunday and sat out in the open on level 1 of the Southern stand, got a little wet here and there, but thought it was a great atmosphere created by those that did come.  The collective clapping that the crowd with the Irish dancers doing the jig was awsome.  Actually liked being able to be close enough and quite enough to here the players and vice versa at boundary throw ins.

If we had have come away with the win, it would have been one of those days out at the footy to remember for mine.  It's one of those true joys being there as a die hard and savouring those moments and wins when all the band wagon jumpers and half hearted supporters have given up and don't bother to come and show their support. 

Just wish the club would recognise those that do show up to the lesser games like GWS week in week out more when it comes to the big high crowd drawing games, when they want to cast us asides into the depths of the top level unless you are willing to pay top dollar for reserved seats.  Yes they want to profit off those big games, yet if we didn't show up to the GWS type ones, they'd be screwed.

Best gameday experience I've had at the G in a long time. 

1 hour ago, binman said:

To be honest, I reckon that's [censored] poor and personally I just don't get it.

(Well, i do if your brother in law is more a theatre going type fan than a passionate supporter of the dees - which is OK, each to their own).

One, no matter what the weather unlike lots of sports (eg tennis, golf, car racing, cricket) footy is so much better to watch live than on TV.

Two, we get what a dozen or so opportunities to get to the G each season to watch the mighty dees?

I get there's all sorts of reasons why it's not always possible to get to games, the cost being a key one. But not wanting to go coz the weather is inclement and you'd prefer tge comfort of your couch, particularly if you don't have to travel far, ain't a reason I can get behind. Not if you are a supporter as opposed to a semi engaged fan.

Three, i have no doubt crowds cam influence results, particularly in games where the crowd predominately supports one team.

You could feel the crowds influence and energy when we got those quick goals in the third quarter. And again in the last.

If maybe 2k couch sittters turn up we win that game, not to mention the extra coin we xould use to improve our chances of being successful in the future.

It’s these games I prefer to go to. As an MCC member I’m not into the book ahead. I like to rock up, find a seat and relax. I also don’t particularly like big crowds although I do love the atmosphere at times. I’ll be heading to all the smaller drawing games, the Anzac match (Richmond mate books the tickets every year), Carlton and Hawthorn match’s.  KB if we’re travelling well. I absolutely hate Collingwood crowds and I’m not an MCC softy, I just don’t enjoy the aggressive, anger based supporting they belt out. I’ve had 3 of the last 4 ruined because of this. 

Don’t mean to rain on everyone’s parade but those girls were dancers. They wore green sparkly tops and they danced to whatever that music was but Irish dancing that was not. Does it matter? Yeah, it does to me, and likely other Irish folk. The whole “Jim’s Game” thing was half-baked tokenism. Either commit wholeheartedly or don’t do it at all.

Edited by Ghostwriter

While I’m at it (and in a grumpy mood) I’m over this whole thing of our fans being “pathetic.” I sat in that rain on Sunday, didn’t leave my seat once. We were up and about for the entire match despite being cold and wet. To come on here after the match (that is, after we pack everything up, twice as hard as usual when everything is waterlogged and weighs a ton) and see this thread title is galling. Stop it, already. Arguing about it is futile. 

14 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

The whole “Jim’s Game” thing was half-baked tokenism. Either commit wholeheartedly or don’t do it at all.

I agree.

It was a bit of fun and the crowd got into it as it went on. On the whole, I like Melbourne going for daggy entertainment rather than doing the cringeworthy "let's speak to the kids" straight-from-America garbage (the word "activation" brings bile to my throat) you see St Kilda and the Dogs do at Marvel. But as a celebration of Ireland it was one step away from leprauchans and people saying "twiddly diddly dee". As a celebration of Stynes it was an absolute mile off. 

I will say, I think the way Max Gawn talks about Jim Stynes (especially stories about Jim encouraging young Max to defy convention and certain expectations as a reflection of how he spoke with young people in general) is underrated. That short presentation from Max on the screen at half time (?) was really good. Yes, I've heard it before, but I think it's a story worth repeating. I'd have liked to see more of that - how Jim's words and deeds affected others (or changed their lives for the better). Alongside a fun celebration of Ireland? Sure - but as you said, Ghostwriter, with a bit more thought and effort.  

There's a difference between saying 'it would be good if more people turned up' and saying Demon supporters are pathetic.

If someone were particularly agitated about it and had a constructive mindset, they might start a thread to discuss what the obstacles are for people who want to attend but find it difficult, or they might volunteer with the club to do some interviewing of supporters to really find out what would be a practical help or encouragement.

But this thread opened with someone basically having a tantrum and throwing insults, and its so obviously counter-productive thst I'm not sure they even really care about improving crowd numbers so long as they get to act superior.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

KB if we’re travelling well. I absolutely hate Collingwood crowds and I’m not an MCC softy, I just don’t enjoy the aggressive, anger based supporting they belt out. I’ve had 3 of the last 4 ruined because of this. 

Genuinely dislike going to pies games, unhappy insecure people who need to ruin everyone else’s day just to make themselves feel good. Hope we smash them on KBD

26 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

I agree.

It was a bit of fun and the crowd got into it as it went on. On the whole, I like Melbourne going for daggy entertainment rather than doing the cringeworthy "let's speak to the kids" straight-from-America garbage (the word "activation" brings bile to my throat) you see St Kilda and the Dogs do at Marvel. But as a celebration of Ireland it was one step away from leprauchans and people saying "twiddly diddly dee". As a celebration of Stynes it was an absolute mile off. 

I will say, I think the way Max Gawn talks about Jim Stynes (especially stories about Jim encouraging young Max to defy convention and certain expectations as a reflection of how he spoke with young people in general) is underrated. That short presentation from Max on the screen at half time (?) was really good. Yes, I've heard it before, but I think it's a story worth repeating. I'd have liked to see more of that - how Jim's words and deeds affected others (or changed their lives for the better). Alongside a fun celebration of Ireland? Sure - but as you said, Ghostwriter, with a bit more thought and effort.  

When Max talks about Jimmy it’s always a beautiful moment. But in every other way the celebration was farcical. For example, our banner had a massive graphic of Fritta for his 150th (it was worthy of a 250 game, or even 300 game milestone, but that’s just my opinion and is beside the point). The other side had a Beyond Bank graphic surrounded by a bunch of small shamrocks. I cut those shamrocks out and was cringing all the while but I left banner making early so didn’t see that side completed ‘til it was raised on the day. I had assumed there’d be a graphic, even a smaller one, of Jim and was so disappointed there wasn’t one. That’s just one example.

44 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

There's a difference between saying 'it would be good if more people turned up' and saying Demon supporters are pathetic.

If someone were particularly agitated about it and had a constructive mindset, they might start a thread to discuss what the obstacles are for people who want to attend but find it difficult, or they might volunteer with the club to do some interviewing of supporters to really find out what would be a practical help or encouragement.

But this thread opened with someone basically having a tantrum and throwing insults, and its so obviously counter-productive thst I'm not sure they even really care about improving crowd numbers so long as they get to act superior.

Excellent post

I came to terms with our crowd numbers decades ago

An example of that is comparing our number of absolute die-hards* compared to the Collingwood numbers

We probably sit about 12,000 - 13,000 where as the Pies would be 45,000 to 55,000

And there lies the answer to all the other questions

*My description of a die-hard would be those who rarely miss a game and even regularly travel interstate games

So, as a base, the Pies are miles ahead of us

Same for Richmond, Carlton & Essendon except the disparity wouldn't be quite so high as the Pies

If we were a big club, the counter argument would have relevance 

I haven't been to an AFL match in over 4 years.

I have been MCC/MFC member for over 20 years.

I never miss a match on TV even when overseas.

I consider my membership a donation to the club! 

Am I pathetic?

I take umbrage to the suggestion. 

Calling a supporter pathetic shows a lack of empathy and intellect. You know who you are. If I could say go [censored] yourself to your face I would.

On 16/03/2025 at 18:14, Demon Disciple said:

Typical half-hearted effort from a lot of our so called ‘supporters’.

Bad weather? It’s a winter sport.
GP was on? WGAF

What else are you going to do on a Sunday afternoon?

Was going to drive from Adelaide to the 'G but my Kayo subscription, which connected Saturday before the game, had to be somewhat justified in the eyes of 'she who must be obeyed'. Fairy Nuff?

On 17/03/2025 at 23:18, WERRIDEE said:

I like the older music she likes the new music.

perhaps see if shes interested in dancing and point out she could participate in the Jimma Jig

7 hours ago, Macca said:

Like a lot of other clubs on a regular basis, average to low attendances in any number of games are going to happen based on the home team's supporter base up against the opposition's supporter base numbers

So if you do the maths, the Demons vs most of the interstate teams isn't going to draw big numbers.  Same story for a number of other Vic teams

Ignore the media and ignore supporter-speak.  Oneupmanship is at play

But if you enjoy being called pathetic, good for you

I didn’t think 23k was bad at all… and posted that.

but if you want to get angry at things that don’t matter, good for you

31 minutes ago, rpfc said:

I didn’t think 23k was bad at all… and posted that.

but if you want to get angry at things that don’t matter, good for you

There's no anger, more so an observation of a silly thread

But, again, if you are happy to be associated with your fellow supporters being labelled pathetic, good for you

7 hours ago, binman said:

Sorry, I can't quite agree here. It's impossible to know whether just my brother, i.e. less than 1/20000th of a crowd, or even more that the probable rain caused 1000 to not go (still less than 5%), would change much.

The more I think about it's rarely important who people support or how. Of course all DL would love it if we were a bigger side with more guaranteed fans at each game. And personally I get annoyed with supporters tucking into players , and the coaches, at the ground or online. But overall football is meant to be fun - whether you support no team and just watch the GF or you even watch every Casey match and read any Demons-related book or webpage and listen to podcasts and know every DL track watcher from attending sessions or you only watch a few Melbourne games on TV and clap heartily whenever that  number 5, 13 or 36 do something amazing it shouldn't matter. Barring the fact that oppositions will score and win a good portion of the time long-term the moment supporting a team feels like a chore is the moment some supporters give up. I'm sure some people have family members and friends that tried to get into footy who when pressed would say they couldn't when they stopped enjoying it. As for my brother, hopefully he's changed in recent years, ( I have refused to sit near him when Melbourne play for a long time now) but if he hasn't I think any fellow supporter or player who just happen to hear him whinge from the member's would probably be grateful he didn't dis-grace the GWS game with his presence.

So, sorry, as much as I wish more Melbourne people would turn up to games, or that game, overall I can't agree with you.

2 hours ago, ManDee said:

I haven't been to an AFL match in over 4 years.

I have been MCC/MFC member for over 20 years.

I never miss a match on TV even when overseas.

I consider my membership a donation to the club! 

Am I pathetic?

I take umbrage to the suggestion. 

Calling a supporter pathetic shows a lack of empathy and intellect. You know who you are. If I could say go [censored] yourself to your face I would.

Some supporters are pathetic. But telling them or confronting them really isn't gonna help. Sure, if supporters are calling out cruel comments at games or punching strangers even the MFC might step in , ban them, and probably lose them completely. But even the supporters who come to only a few games yearly yet still add voice to the crowd and put some money in the coffers deserve to do this and help us. Let's not scare (potential) supporters away.