waynewussell 6,976 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 hours ago, Garbo said: Not good particularly when he was already behind the 8 ball fitness wise, was hard to see him been 100% this year before this, even more so now Garbo! Quote
waynewussell 6,976 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 hours ago, Garbo said: Maybe I’m just paying more attention this year but, from what I’ve seen he still seems to be lacking cardio and just doesn’t have the same spring in his step Troll audition! 3 Quote
waynewussell 6,976 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 In the 1950's the Garbo was one step above the Dunny-can man. In modern times the gap seems to have narrowed! 3 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,538 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 Many have played with broken ribs before, so it can be done. If he is not peak fitness in the first half of the season, play him forward. He’ll give many a defender nightmares as a permanent forward. 1 Quote
deejammin' 2,420 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 Maybe I’ve missed something but Trac is in the 2K time trial video from today? Looks fit and runs well. Was this pre the rib injury? Same session I assume but after the 2k? 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,753 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 minutes ago, deejammin' said: Maybe I’ve missed something but Trac is in the 2K time trial video from today? Looks fit and runs well. Was this pre the rib injury? Same session I assume but after the 2k? Must’ve been. Unless they did a time trial yesterday. Quote
640MD 3,570 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 3 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said: They have their own problems it seems with Nick Daicos dealing with plantar fasciitis…. Sorry to nick. But good !! Media look at them not us, Quote
GS_1905 360 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 I’d be cry-laugung if we somehow fudge the post injury treatment up. Let’s see if we have applied the learnings from the initial incident. 1 Quote
DiscoStu17 876 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 hours ago, deejammin' said: Maybe I’ve missed something but Trac is in the 2K time trial video from today? Looks fit and runs well. Was this pre the rib injury? Same session I assume but after the 2k? I believe it was actually during the 2K, while under intense shelling using live rounds. There may yet be more casualties. Those that survive will be battle hardened. Might be a good time for some players to see what’s available in some lightweight carbon fibre body armour in case anything is needed later in the season. Ideally we don’t lose too many before the season proper. 6 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,354 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 Cracked ribs ... been there, done that. Ouch !!!! Quote
chook fowler 19,783 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 Wonder if he has had his bone density checked? 3 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,562 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 (edited) Apparently it takes 6 weeks for a cracked rib to fully recover, so if you go by that timeline he’ll miss the first practice match (V maybe North around 20 Feb??). This is on the assumption they go fully conservative on him. Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. The first key to success for 2025 is to have a strong and healthy pre season. Already we have our best 2 players missing the entire January… Edited January 10 by Bring-Back-Powell 2 Quote
forever demons 2,370 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 19 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Apparently it takes 6 weeks for a cracked rib to fully recover, so if you go by that timeline he’ll miss the first practice match (V maybe North around 20 Feb??). This is on the assumption they go fully conservative on him. Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. The first key to success for 2025 is to have a strong and healthy pre season. Already we have our best 2 players missing the entire January… who is missing Quote
chook fowler 19,783 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 1 minute ago, forever demons said: who is missing Maxxy Quote
forever demons 2,370 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 10 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Maxxy surely he can still train with no contact and stay fit 2 Quote
demoncat 1,723 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Apparently it takes 6 weeks for a cracked rib to fully recover, so if you go by that timeline he’ll miss the first practice match (V maybe North around 20 Feb??). This is on the assumption they go fully conservative on him. Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. The first key to success for 2025 is to have a strong and healthy pre season. Already we have our best 2 players missing the entire January… I’m no expert but I would have thought both Max and Trac would be able to run and participate in non contract drills given their injuries won’t prohibit their movement They should hopefully be able to keep their fitness up even if they’re not participating in match sims etc 2 Quote
fr_ap 2,566 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 11 hours ago, Sideshow Bob said: He'll be right. Aye Might have just found our new FF. Play Trac out of the goal square pagans paddock style. Roo at CHf, koz and chin sprinting in from points of the square Fritta starts 30 m out 3 rows in to grandstand. 6th man sprinting straight to defence at the centre bounce This won't help him and in fact will make it worse - we kick it on his head, he waits under the pack and knees come for his ribs from all around. The injury is relatively common - I've done it myself - but his mental state around this is the big watch out. You'd have to think he'll be hesitant and nervous under high balls and generally around contact for quite a while. Can't reset by going to Austria every time. If he had another year under his belt since the big one that would be ok - but it's happened in a pretty short time which will leave him thinking this is going to be regular thing. Not good. Our chances this year just took a hit. 1 Quote
Cranky Franky 2,270 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 4 minutes ago, fr_ap said: If he had another year under his belt since the big one that would be ok - but it's happened in a pretty short time which will leave him thinking this is going to be regular thing. Not good. Our chances this year just took a hit. Agree - this is a minor disaster. 2 1 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. Nup. No woundering - man is a beast. I think he'll be running for the role as the black knight after he retires from football. 1 1 Quote
Scoop Junior 3,582 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Apparently it takes 6 weeks for a cracked rib to fully recover, so if you go by that timeline he’ll miss the first practice match (V maybe North around 20 Feb??). This is on the assumption they go fully conservative on him. Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. The first key to success for 2025 is to have a strong and healthy pre season. Already we have our best 2 players missing the entire January… I'm not a doctor but I think it depends on the severity of the fracture. I had a cracked rib in junior footy, probably just a small crack. It was painful for about a week but then healed quickly and I think only missed one game. I think the 6-week timeframe you are referring to is when there is a full break of the bone, probably like what May had last year and then Trac. That would obviously be a longer healing process, despite the fact some players continue to play with it. If Trac just has a small crack, rather than a full break of the bone, I would have thought it would heal pretty quickly. 3 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 10 hours ago, GS_1905 said: I’d be cry-laugung if we somehow fudge the post injury treatment up. Let’s see if we have applied the learnings from the initial incident. So I think Brad Green sent flowers to Trac's mumma and they're doing full exploratory surgery with Australia's best truma doctors tomorrow, to make sure he hasn't pulled a heart mussel as well. Personally I'm a Trac fan in many ways, but that [censored] show around him last year at the end of the season was a disgrace. He could have shut it down way earlier. Think he actually has to build back some trust with the supporter base. The team winning and planting ourselves back up top of the ladder off the back of a few bogs from him and Clarry will probably do it! Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,753 Posted January 10 Posted January 10 I wonder if this was one of the same ribs he broke last year or a completely different area…. I think that information is also important 2 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted January 11 Posted January 11 16 hours ago, Garbo said: Not good particularly when he was already behind the 8 ball fitness wise, was hard to see him been 100% this year before this, even more so now Rubbish. You obviously haven’t read our track experts posts of Trac’s training so far. Yes he may be a little apprehensive inwardly te body contact when games start but he has not apparently been avoiding body contact at training. Suggest you read the training reports or better get your half glass empty body and brain down for your eyes to see when he resumes. Snd I expect an apology when you do for such incorrect posting. Garbo by name Garbo by nature and information!! 4 Quote
seventyfour 1,248 Posted January 11 Posted January 11 6 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Apparently it takes 6 weeks for a cracked rib to fully recover, so if you go by that timeline he’ll miss the first practice match (V maybe North around 20 Feb??). This is on the assumption they go fully conservative on him. Makes you wonder how and why May missed just one game with his fractured rib. Having broken ribs myself, the recovery is mainly about pain tolerance. You can do pretty much everything you would normally, but some things are just a lot more painful. Even things you wouldn't expect, like pull ups. It's an upper body exercise, but having your arms in the air pulls on your ribcage. Hurts. So you can train and play but it'll be uncomfortable. Trac I expect it will be in the yellow bib at training for a bit so it heals fully. 8 Quote