Wow the Pies got screwed, especially considering they missed finals

Their 2 bottom 6 teams are us and Crows. Then Lions, Blues, Freo, Hawks

lol

• Clap 4

Posted
54 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Here is a 'ready reckoner' for the season. 

image.png.bc4a6e99c9e07721c94c2b6a5c664456.png

Can't fault the draw.  Something for everyone: 

• Fans get day games.
  • Very fair lot of teams played twice
  • Roughly consistent days breaks which helps players with recovery then prep etc 
  • Players don't leave Vic in the last two months
  • 1/state games well spread. 
  • A good break after Alice game
  • The 3.20 Sunday games (plus Anzac Eve and KB) will be FTA (so sponsors should be ok).
  • Anzac Eve and KB should make the financials ok. 
  • Day games should also help financials with more fans to games

Hopefully, we get the full 14 day bye unlike the shortened 8/9 day break of recent years.

On the back of that we should make top 4.  If we don't make top 8 well ...

No-one can whip up a quality spreadsheet quicker than you LH!

• Love 4

Posted

I'm down in Melbourne for a few days July. Be gutted if no game on then! 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Garbo said:

Eagles at marvel late in the season hard to see 20k showing up for that, might be better if fan boycott so the afl stops with the stupidity 

Get along to Marvel, it’s a home game, easy to get there, as 31 pointed out easy access to food and drink and viewing is pretty good. Car park is useful if trains/ trams aren’t convenient. We will be there supporting our boys. It’s a hell of a lot closer than Alice Springs and I would much prefer playing at Marvel than interstate.

PS( 7 interstate games and three of those are in Adelaide, our best run for a long time, thanks LH😁)

Edited by DeeZone
Posted
4 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

Get along to Marvel, it’s a home game, easy to get there, as 31 pointed out easy access to food and drink and viewing is pretty good. Car park is useful if trains/ trams aren’t convenient. We will be there supporting our boys. It’s a hell of a lot closer than Alice Springs and I would much prefer playing at Marvel than interstate.

Can also splurge a little and get medallion seats. Amazing viewing!

Posted
16 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Can also splurge a little and get medallion seats. Amazing viewing!

They are great. I got gifted tickets there for the Bulldogs game. Seats were fantastic. Result not so much.

Posted

Absolutely ecstatic. Booked a holiday to NT several weeks ago, due to fly in to Alice Springs on June 1.

Now I just have to break the news to the spouse. If this turns out to be my last ever post you'll know it wasn't well received.

Seriously we can have no complaints. Last seven weeks in Melbourne is huge and we were always going to cop Geelong down there having missed out this year.

Posted (edited)

Carlton with the third easiest draw. The AFL is desperate to get them a flag. 

Edited by Jaded No More

Posted
3 hours ago, FearTheBeard said:

Fixture is a debacle.

Sunday 3:20 galore, home game at Marvel. Off to Perth for West Coast again, back to Geelong, twice at Adelaide Oval.

But, last 7 are in Victoria.

Home vs Saints in Alice and WC at Docklands.....

Probably as good as we could have hoped for considering, we have a lot of home games vs interstate it feels like and THREE interstate trips in a row after Kings Bday (with a bye thrown in) means more than a month between games in Melbourne.

Starting the season with 3 games in Melbourne and finishing with 7 games in Melbourne is a plus, Collingwood again in fi al round, can we just beat these [censored] please?? Sick of losing to them 🤮

Posted
43 minutes ago, old dee said:

That's majority of games I can go to.

Oh right, I thought you'd be happy with all the day games

At least you can do 4 of them

Posted
4 hours ago, drdrake said:

Our CFO has just re written the budget for 2025, you couldn't ask for a worse commercial draw.

Gws, suns, freo as home games mcg games to kick off the season.

4 hours ago, Roger Mellie said:

Financially, it's a disaster for the club

Yes but we do also host Anzac Eve and Kings Bday so swings and roundabouts.

Posted
56 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Carlton with the third easiest draw. The AFL is desperate to get them a flag. 

I think they also awarded Cripps the 2025 Brownlow Medal too.

Posted

The thing with easiest draw etc is you don’t know how teams will go next year, they could rise and be good when they were bad or like us, capitulate and be bad when we should have been very good.
Teams pre 2024 season starting wouldn’t have wanted to play us twice, after a few weeks would have been lamenting of only drawing us once.

Posted
2 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Here is a 'ready reckoner' for the season. 

image.png.bc4a6e99c9e07721c94c2b6a5c664456.png

Can't fault the draw.  Something for everyone: 

• Fans get day games.
  • Very fair lot of teams played twice
  • Roughly consistent days breaks which helps players with recovery then prep etc 
  • Players don't leave Vic in the last two months
  • 1/state games well spread. 
  • A good break after Alice game
  • The 3.20 Sunday games (plus Anzac Eve and KB) will be FTA (so sponsors should be ok).
  • Anzac Eve and KB should make the financials ok. 
  • Day games should also help financials with more fans to games

Hopefully, we get the full 14 day bye unlike the shortened 8/9 day break of recent years.

On the back of that we should make top 4.  If we don't make top 8 well ...

Magnificent work Lucifer. You just need to swap the days for rounds 4 and 5.  Dates are correct. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes but we do also host Anzac Eve and Kings Bday so swings and roundabouts.

Yes, like I said, a commercial disaster. We'll make money in Round 7 v the Tiges if their supporters show up, Round 9 v The Hoikball Experience and Round 13 v the Pies. We may make some coin v the Dogs in Round 22, maybe not depending on the time slot. That's 3 (or 4 at a stretch) games out of 24! That's royally [censored]!

The 'we deserve this line' doesn't wash with me at all (not your line by the way) when you see the ongoing leg-up to certain clubs. Just a huge bugbear of mine as there are ways to make the draw fairer for all clubs.

Posted
4 hours ago, DubDee said:

I don’t know about you all but I want to win a flag so i’m very happy with that fixture!

Me too.

I'll take Sunday arvo games over night games every day of the week.

Well, Sunday.

Add a couple of 1:20pm sat games with a red sherrin and the lions at the gabba at 3.20pm (not nearly as slippery as the night games and much better in terms of the impact of travel, ie no red eye) and it will do me nicely.

And I don't mins marvel - I'm on the west side of town and by pt door to gaye one 'm there in 45 mins.

Posted
5 hours ago, No. 31 said:

Sounds like a good draw for the Dees. Don't be too down about a Marvel home game. Marvel is actually a decent ground to watch footy in. Definitely prefer the MCG on a nice sunny day with a solid crowd but if the weather is windy and wet, Marvel is good value and can get a decent atmosphere if you get over 30K in. Handy being next to Southern Cross Station and its easy to get a beer or snack there without lining up too long.

Marvel is not our home ground.

Carlton and Essendon should be playing their home games there, it is their home ground.

Posted
4 hours ago, DubDee said:

what's the answer though?

move it to MCG just to get a couple more thousand attending?

Move it to Alice Springs and play Saints at the G.