Chook 15,069 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 I think we have to reluctantly go for Brisbane today, right? 5 Quote
Demon_spurs 1,984 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Ump 22 just makes hs own rules up 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Excellent forward pressure by Lions. Need to convert more into goals Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 3 minutes ago, Chook said: I think we have to reluctantly go for Brisbane today, right? Yep. I couldn't care then who would win out of Sydney v Brisbane 1 Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 "unreasonable contact" by Stewart. Really ump? 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Nathan Williamson is umpiring. Somehow Melbourne will manage to get crucified today. 4 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,857 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 nathan williamson remains an atrocious maggot 4 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 1 minute ago, Brownie said: "unreasonable contact" by Stewart. Really ump? I can see why it was paid, but it wasn't there 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Just now, Brownie said: "unreasonable contact" by Stewart. Really ump? I truly reckon there should be only 3 field umpires, with 2 'subs'. If a senior umpire up in the control booth think one or more umps are having a bad game, sub them out! 2 1 Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 2 minutes ago, ANG13 said: This is entertaining. Hope they beat the carp out of each other and the Swans run over one of them next week. Really don't like either team but it's the hate for Geelong that makes me hope Lions get up by one point. 1 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 How could you leave jezza loose like that? Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Poor Oscar, in lots of pain! Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 I was just thinking that Brisbanes advantage is in the ruck. Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 (edited) 31 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: Having spent 2 years working in the Advertising Department of GTV when Kerry ran the joint, we did a lot of Research into all the things you mention. But I don’t buy it so much today. People will watch Sports on an iPhone now, so you don’t have to be home at a certain time. I watched last year’s GF on the AFL website Live on the phone, this push for the night timeslot is overrated, as are Fireworks and Halftime entertainment But how many people have shifted away from FTA? A big number, I'd agree but Rugby League & the AFL still gets millions of eyes watching ... on FTA There has certainly been a shift and Free-to-air is struggling but it won't die. Not in the near future and certainly not with regards to the 2 big sports in this country And FTA is paying the NRL & the AFL $Billions for the right to broadcast the games They are not forking out that sort of money unless they are getting a decent return My view is that the FTA commercial networks needs live sport more than they ever did. Why else would the the last AFL broadcast deal go for $4.5Billion? But you won't see the commercial networks clamouring for the A-League in a hurry. Doesn't rate (although, the A-League is on 10Bold on Saturday nights and 5pm Sundays The main Ch10HD channel will be broadcasting an NBL every Sunday afternoon from 2.30pm (every week) throughout the summer AFLW gets heaps of live coverage on Ch7. 2 games every Sunday for starters So there seems to be more live sport on the FTA channels as there ever was Which can only lead to one conclusion ... that people are still watching FTA TV in large numbers (sports included) The overseas model paints a different picture but the overseas captive audience is enormous https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2022/sep/06/seven-and-foxtel-to-keep-afl-rights-in-record-45bn-seven-year-deal Edited September 21, 2024 by Macca Quote
picket fence 18,186 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Umpires already instrumemtal in 2 BRIVEGAS Goals no 22 shocking Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Oscar McInerny looked in incredible pain with that shoulder. Quote
Jibroni 5,057 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 FFS Abbie, stop saying you'll keep us updated. That's your job. 1 1 Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 9 minutes ago, The heart beats true said: Nathan Williamson is umpiring. Somehow Melbourne will manage to get crucified today. We've seen how poorly he umpires the footy for years and he's been no better this year. How does he get selected to umpire a prelim? #umpiringhasneverbeenbetter 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 Oscar will come out with one arm missing. He's tough Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 1 minute ago, Moonshadow said: Oscar will come out with one arm missing. He's tough Hopefully they can put it back in & strap it. They need him out there Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 21, 2024 Posted September 21, 2024 3 minutes ago, Brownie said: We've seen how poorly he umpires the footy for years and he's been no better this year. How does he get selected to umpire a prelim? #umpiringhasneverbeenbetter Every time I see him I laugh about the story that he told security at the MCG to tell our cheer squad to stop calling him ‘haircut’. It’s too funny! 3 Quote