What a weird career for Jake, but a very good career all things considered.

Never quite found his spot at the Bombers. Went through the drugs saga then came to us, and was in much the same position until Goodwin put him forward of the ball, which was a masterstroke.

In 2018 he was incredible. 32 goals and was one of the best i50 ball users in the league

Then he regressed? Couldn't make it into the 2021 flag winning side.

2022 he looked done.

2023 had a late season resurgence, including that forever memorable goal against Brisbane, then unfortunately got injured. With the way he was playing, the injury took away a goal or two a game and may have cost us a shot at the flag.

Will hit 250 games in 2025 if he plays every week.

Is he the last of the suspended Bomber drug scandal players still playing?

2 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

Is he the last of the suspended Bomber drug scandal players still playing?

With Dyson Heppell's recent retirement, I believe that is the case.

EXCELLENT outcome.

A classy, experienced, intelligent player - something we need a lot of right now, especially up forward.

Was happy with his return this year, I imagine he will be vital next year. 

Onya, Melk! 

Good news

He had a ripper season in 23 before I reckon his injury cost a flag ( along with Gus going down)

I must say prior to last year he had a couple or more fairly inconsistent seasons.

Even after coming back this year he came back on fire but then went quiet. I guess flattening out at the end of this year he had a good excuse in terms of fitness and conditioning 

But last year and a couple of games this one, he's proven he still has what it takes. For his size he has great strength and takes some great marks. Hard at the contest and not afraid of being bruised. Adds a little bit of " controlled" agro up forward.

Edited by leave it to deever

42 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Article doesn’t say if he will remain on the rookie list or not. Given we seem to be getting tight for rookie spots I assume he’s back in the main list. Anybody know for sure?

He's always been one of my favourite players.  He seems to run like crazy and he's tough. 

My favourite trait is his kicking.  Hopefully he can teach his teammates.  

He's normally clean and accurate, but sometimes his kicks are the sweetest peaches, beautiful to watch.  

13 minutes ago, Hellfire Dub said:

He's always been one of my favourite players.  He seems to run like crazy and he's tough. 

My favourite trait is his kicking.  Hopefully he can teach his teammates.  

He's normally clean and accurate, but sometimes his kicks are the sweetest peaches, beautiful to watch.  

Melksham’s field kicking is amongst the best in the league. Not so his set goal kicking unless he takes shots from ridiculous angles. 

By any meaningful measure, Billings and Hunter are far better players. I wonder why the difference in the love?

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

48 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

By any meaningful measure, Billings and Hunter are far better players. I wonder why the difference in the love?

Are you serious? not being argumentative just asking

Melksham:

You have the best kicking skills on both feet in the team. 

You are a great mark for your size

You are an experienced leader

Act like it, stay focused and involved in games and you can dominate 

I admire his body work in out-positioning his opponents. Makes it look easy. Something I wish Fritta was able to do, or more precisely learns to do. 

On 12/09/2024 at 17:07, drysdale demon said:

Are all those that kept saying he was only getting a game because he is mate of Goodwins' or that he has photo's of Goodwin in previous years going to support this, the hypocrites will of course.

That was then and if you knew anything about footy he was lazy and didn’t play with  any  spark or enthusiasm. Thsts why he wasn’t anywhere near our Premiership team.!

Thats why so Many then ( not now) echoed the Goodwin angle.

Nothing to apologize for.   

1 hour ago, 58er said:

That was then and if you knew anything about footy he was lazy and didn’t play with  any  spark or enthusiasm. Thsts why he wasn’t anywhere near our Premiership team.!

Thats why so Many then ( not now) echoed the Goodwin angle.

Nothing to apologize for.   

Yeah sure .