Posted

Club has to stand firm, no other way to deal with this otherwise it just opens the flood gates to anyone and anything in future.  Take the power back club, the contract has to mean something.

Posted
11 minutes ago, BW511 said:

I find it interesting that Trac would specifically want Roffey gone - according to the caller?

How much interaction would he actually have with her?

Totally get that supporters want a new president/ceo/board for a million different reasons, this just seems very pointed.

Also, whoever is advising him thinking these tiny media snips will help are clearly not doing so in his best interests

Meaghan & Harry.

• Haha 6
Posted
1 hour ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

I'm taking on board from the media with a pinch of salt, as it's nothing more than rumour and innuendo, until we get an official statement from either Trac or the club. 

Any official statement from the club or CP5 on this should be taken with a truckload of pink Himalayan…

We have a generational player rumoured to be unhappy; with the club, and being at the club.

Posted
9 minutes ago, BDA said:

the only possible reason is the home base.

I think he really wants to leave for brand purposes and perhaps because he doesn't have faith in the list to win another flag. the rest is just post hoc rationalisations

Home Base would be a huge factor 

We don’t have one…

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

What better way to build the brand...or at least get heaps and heaps of followers, the brand will be in the toilet though.

From Ralph Lauren to Toilet Duck brand ambassador or adult nappies (no more leaks)?

Edited by Brownie
  • Haha 5
Posted
3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

It seems to me people at the club are also feeding the media. eg

• That it was uncomfortable having Petracca at the club function last Sat night.
  • Players are angry at Petracca and want him out ...
  • Petracca asked to be traded at the exit interview.  I assume the only the attendees were Petracca, Goodwin and maybe Richardson. 

That to me doesn't look like a club that wants to mend a relationship. 

Both parties are trying to discredit each other.  Both parties are damaging the club.  Its getting ugly and will become a very messy divorce.

The sooner they both stop feeding the media the better.

imv its time to bring in a neutral mediator and get the differences on the table and talk them out.  I don't have confidence that anyone at the club knows how to do such mediating. 

there are other explanations than the club leaked in the examples you gave.

those being petracca (or management ... same thing) and players talking to press (eg loyd's and age's public comments)

whether club or others or both i have no idea, but i can't see it in the club's interests at this stage.  

Posted
13 minutes ago, BW511 said:

I find it interesting that Trac would specifically want Roffey gone - according to the caller?

Perhaps it is not Roffeys interaction with Trac but rather her interaction with others at the club.

Posted

This situation is getting increasingly toxic with Christian Petracca.

I hope that the Melbourne Football Club can sit down with Christian Petracca and try to sort this all out and reconcile.

If not, this will be as big as Ronald Dale Barassi leaving the Demons at the end of 1964. There's a lot of young Demons supporters who run around with number #5 on their backs! Losing Petracca would de devastating. It will upset ALOT of young Melbourne supporters!

Having said that, if the relationship with Petracca cannot be repaired, the only club that has anything worthy on offer for Petracca would be Richmond with their number 1# pick in the 2024 AFL Draft and a player or two as well.

If Petracca wants to go to a big Victorian club....well you can't get much bigger than Richmond can you?

For the record, I want Christian Petracca to stay at the Melbourne Football Club. But if these matters cannot be resolved then the Melbourne Football Club must be adequately compensated IF Christian Petracca does leave.

Posted
1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Home Base would be a huge factor 

We don’t have one…

We didn’t have one 3 years ago when he signed a massive deal either. 
We may not have a home base, but the facilities at both AAMI and Casey are of a very high standard. It’s not like we are at Junction Oval with the rats. 

Carlton have a home base but they also play a lot of games at Marvel. Hawks well home games to Tassie. Essendon has been irrelevant since Y2K and the Pies have an ongoing racism issue following them. No club is perfect.

Posted
12 minutes ago, BW511 said:

Totally get that supporters want a new president/ceo/board for a million different reasons, this just seems very pointed.

Also, whoever is advising him thinking these tiny media snips will help are clearly not doing so in his best interests

I wouldnt be surprised if this is the next lot of leaks to come out of the Trac camp. 
At the minute all the stuff coming out about him wanting bigger crowds to help promote his brand is really bad for his brand and he looks like a [censored] so I expect the narrative to change over the coming days. 
I think he clearly doesn’t think he’s a good chance to win another flag with us and wants to more where he thinks he’s a greater chance at one and where he can build his brand more than he can with us. 

Posted

In what universe will this be a choice?

#TheLongerTheMysteryTheStoopiderTheThread

Posted
18 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Sammy Edmund this morning.

Christian Petracca

“These are the facts as we know it. He wants to leave Melbourne. He wants to play for another club. He wants it to be a big Victorian club with all the resources that sit behind that,” Edmund said.

“Over the weekend and into yesterday he made it clear to the Demons that he wants to be traded with the five years remaining on that contract worth $1 million per season.

“Melbourne remain absolutely resolute publicly and privately that he will not be traded under any circumstances.

“I can tell you Melbourne aren’t even completely clear as to what his issues are, which is incredible.

“Depending on who Petracca talks to, it’s different. If he talks to the players, his issue is with the leadership of the club and when he talks to the leadership, his issue is with the players and the off-field stuff.

“The brand side of things has always been very important to him and then there’s even some who wonder whether his relationship with Ben Simmons on the other side of the planet had something to do with it all.

“The club is so disappointed and so bemused by it all. They’re completely perplexed. They thought it would simmer down, but it’s now abundantly clear that that’s not the case.

“Some relationships with teammates are going to need repairing if he is to remain there. There’s some real frustration there.”

It strikes me, that if this is an accurate account, Trac is coming across as someone who is a little immature, in that he seems to have an issue with confronting those he believes are responsible for his dissatisfaction with the club.  

Alternatively, he may just have difficulty in being open and honest, something that many of us can probably identify with… that is something that would also reflect on his maturity.

My own thought is that he could be listening to people outside the club (friends, family, etc), commenting on how his association with a club that is currently struggling both on and off field, is reflecting poorly on his, er, ‘brand’, and he is just incapable of stating that directly; as a result he is looking to place the blame everywhere except at his own feet.

Posted
4 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Seriously, are you 13?

I’m Benjamin Buttoning…. you had me as 15 a few weeks ago. Remember? Coz I drink energy drinks 🙄 

Anyways, you still haven’t answered my question… a player told me things he’s read on here about himself. How would he be able to quote DL if he doesn’t read it?

Why is it so hard to believe players read DL? Club admin read it, players’ families and friends read it. Why wouldn’t players read it? 

Posted

Sadly I am starting to feel the Trac to Carlton move is inevitable - I mean once the Blue mafia gets hold it's a really hard thing to counteract and with him being an Italian boy, the passion and under the table dealing would be in overdrive.

Just look at almost all the big deals in recent years, from Jack Martin to Mitch McGovern to Zac Williams to Adam Cerra and the Blues have five of the highest-paid internals already - Cripps, Curnow, Walsh, Weitering and Harry, not to mention how much they had to fork out on TDK's deal. Luke Sayers is the master of legal deals apparently.   

And they have a home base and it's just 30 minutes from Armadale.

I know it's unpalatable, but maybe we have to start building young stock before the draft is totally compromised again with Tassie. The Blues have pick 11. I know that and their future first rounder sounds cheap for a Norm Smith Medallist, but maybe we have to retool again to challenge. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, Davos said:

You have to laugh. 

This is more James Harden than Simmons. Hopefully we go full Daryl Morey and make him sit until we get adequetly compensated.  

I think I must have been living under a rock. Am I supposed to know who these people are?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Sadly I am starting to feel the Trac to Carlton move is inevitable - I mean once the Blue mafia gets hold it's a really hard thing to counteract and with him being an Italian boy, the passion and under the table dealing would be in overdrive.

Just look at almost all the big deals in recent years, from Jack Martin to Mitch McGovern to Zac Williams to Adam Cerra and the Blues have five of the highest-paid internals already - Cripps, Curnow, Walsh, Weitering and Harry, not to mention how much they had to fork out on TDK's deal. Luke Sayers is the master of legal deals apparently.   

I know it's unpalatable, but maybe we have to start building young stock before the draft is totally compromised again with Tassie. The Blues have pick 11. I know that and their future first rounder sounds cheap for a Norm Smith Medallist, but maybe we have to retool again to challenge. 

If the club is this soft then we may as well fold

Posted

I’d be pretty happy now if a club comes knocking with assets. A Top 5 pick or someone like McKay in exchange for someone who is 29, coming off a serious injury and totally lost the plot is a win IMO. I’d still rather keep him than sell him off for peanuts but this is become borderline untenable. 

He has five years left on a contract but realistically he has about 50 games left as an elite player and that’s best case scenario. Wouldn’t surprise me if he takes a year just to find his feet again. Dusty was certainly different after a similar (less serious) injury. 

Very sad situation and we’ll never quite know why it has come to this, but footy is a business. Time to move on I reckon. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I’m Benjamin Buttoning…. you had me as 15 a few weeks ago. Remember? Coz I drink energy drinks 🙄 

Anyways, you still haven’t answered my question… a player told me things he’s read on here about himself. How would he be able to quote DL if he doesn’t read it?

Why is it so hard to believe players read DL? Club admin read it, players’ families and friends read it. Why wouldn’t players read it? 

The club are reading it right now hoping to decipher what his issue actually is. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

I’d be pretty happy now if a club comes knocking with assets. A Top 5 pick or someone like McKay in exchange for someone who is 29, coming off a serious injury and totally lost the plot is a win IMO. I’d still rather keep him than sell him off for peanuts but this is become borderline untenable. 

He has five years left on a contract but realistically he has about 50 games left as an elite player and that’s best case scenario. Wouldn’t surprise me if he takes a year just to find his feet again. Dusty was certainly different after a similar (less serious) injury. 

Very sad situation and we’ll never quite know why it has come to this, but footy is a business. Time to move on I reckon. 

McKay was floated by a media joke. And then people drink the koolaid...

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

I am sure there are clubs advising him on how to reduce his trade value because they don’t want pay full price given his sky high net worth and injury concerns. Creating a toxic relationship between Tracc and the club will force the club to move him on cheaply.

Edited by John Crow Batty
Posted
8 minutes ago, hardtack said:

It strikes me, that if this is an accurate account, Trac is coming across as someone who is a little immature, in that he seems to have an issue with confronting those he believes are responsible for his dissatisfaction with the club.  

Alternatively, he may just have difficulty in being open and honest, something that many of us can probably identify with… that is something that would also reflect on his maturity.

My own thought is that he could be listening to people outside the club (friends, family, etc), commenting on how his association with a club that is currently struggling both on and off field, is reflecting poorly on his, er, ‘brand’, and he is just incapable of stating that directly; as a result he is looking to place the blame everywhere except at his own feet.

This is a good post. 

The nuffie Demons fan in me - my inner Swooper Northey - is screaming "How dare you treat the club this way!" I find the idea of a genuinely great player just walking away from a club because it no longer suits him outrageous.

The angel on my shoulder, however, keep reminding me, this is a human doing completely normal human things: being overwhelmed and disoriented by trauma, finding confrontation difficult, telling different versions of a story to different people, getting bad advice from radically biased sources. I also have no doubt he has legitimate concerns that the club should treat extremely seriously. 

The "personal brand" and "bigger team" stuff is hard to swallow. The rest, if it's true, is understandable and even relatable.