Posted
29 minutes ago, binman said:

Spot on.

And as much as i can't stand Morris, he, and his masters, are only responding to demand from consumers.

One of the curious things about the discussion about social media platforms prioritizing hate and division in their algorithms is the one way criticism. That's to say its all reserved for the platforms and their owners and none for their consumers - us. 

The algorithm is simply responding to what consumers are attracted to - anger, car crashes, conflict. It's ever been thus - for example the wall to wall coverage Jack The Ripper received - sold a lot of newspapers at the time. 

If we feed the trolls we get what we deserve. 

Edward Wilson:

"The real problem of humanity is the following: We have Paleolithic emotions, medieval institutions and godlike technology. And it is terrifically dangerous, and it is now approaching a point of crisis overall"

Our paleolithic midbrains are the target of the god-like technology, and we find it hard to resist!

Posted
18 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Obviously he can't name names or give specifics around the concerns, but he can admit they exist and re-assure fans they'll do all they can to address them beyond speaking to players and coaches which is common place at every football club in the league every single off season regardless of the seasons outcome. 

I thought this is exactly what he said, but maybe I read between the lines.

I don't think anyone would have read that statement and thought "everything is peachy". It's very obvious that things are not great and we are working to certify the situation.

Posted

i'm still trying to work out exactly what morris is really saying

no source (even vague), no context, no details etc etc

i'd be absolutely amazed if everyone in the mfc and all its supporters weren't frustrated/disappointed (add any other synonyms you like) with the season the club has just had

i'd be rapt if tracc tweeted a response on miserable morris like jessie hogan did

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deelectable said:

25 pages basically devoted to the [censored] Tom Morris.  How embarrassing. 

He would be laughing his [censored] off at this.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

Must say it doesn't inspire confidence. 

Not sure why it’s sensible and fairly direct 

Personally I’d be more shocked and disappointed if these internal hard discussions weren’t already underway 

Our club has a chance to continue to compete at the pointy end but not without constantly challenging what we are doing and how best to achieve success

If players like Christian who seems to set very high standards are not calling for improvement again I’d be shocked 

Most of us fans are so why on earth would it surprise anyone that some of our leaders aren’t too 

Posted
40 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Might not be a coach. Plenty of people in the football department who are not coaches you know.

Sure, but what role do they have that would have a significant impact on the clubs performance and direction? 

I don’t think Trac is coming out and making all this noise for recruitment  or the Performance team. 

If @Little Richard statements are true I’d have my house in someone from the coaching team. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Sydee said:

Not sure why it’s sensible and fairly direct 

Personally I’d be more shocked and disappointed if these internal hard discussions weren’t already underway 

Our club has a chance to continue to compete at the pointy end but not without constantly challenging what we are doing and how best to achieve success

If players like Christian who seems to set very high standards are not calling for improvement again I’d be shocked 

Most of us fans are so why on earth would it surprise anyone that some of our leaders aren’t too 

The irony of course is that our fans are screaming the place down asking for everyone to be sacked, and yet they are upset that our players are voicing their own concerns.

I highly doubt that Cripps has never had a go at Carlton, while Neale was out the door at Brisbane. You have leaders in every club who would be unhappy, just as you would have employees in every business who are unhappy  when things are not going well.

If these discussions were not leaked, we would be none the wiser, and this would be just another end of season review for a club that has missed finals.

Posted
Just now, Gawndy the Great said:

Sure, but what role do they have that would have a significant impact on the clubs performance and direction? 

Literally any number of people from the football manager to the high performance manager would have a significant impact on the direction and performance of the club, and on Trac's career.

You think Trac only interacts with Goody and McQualter? 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Binmans PA said:

I think old mate might have been famed @The Riddler. Hi Tom.

And a good little Harry Potter fan will know who Tom Riddle(r) is.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Selwyn Griffiths? 

Clearly we've fostered a mindset of resilience and playing through pain and injury since the Burgess days. Perhaps this midset/tactic has taken to heavy of a toll?

Perhaps SG (or others in the FD) have played the card too often or too hard? If it's not Goody that's a source of discontent for CP5, who might a bigger influence than the head of high performance? 

It maybe true, but to come out and make noise about this because he is not content with head of performance seems overthetop. No, to me there are one of two people that are in the firing line: Richo or Goody. He has supposedly indicated that he has no issue with Goody.

So maybe it’s Richo? And maybe this was all born out of the way he presumably dealt with Trac post injury and he has yet to move past this?

Posted
22 minutes ago, Deelectable said:

25 pages basically devoted to the [censored] Tom Morris.  How embarrassing. 

Tom Morris 1 - Demonland 0.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

The irony of course is that our fans are screaming the place down asking for everyone to be sacked, and yet they are upset that our players are voicing their own concerns.

I highly doubt that Cripps has never had a go at Carlton, while Neale was out the door at Brisbane. You have leaders in every club who would be unhappy, just as you would have employees in every business who are unhappy  when things are not going well.

If these discussions were not leaked, we would be none the wiser, and this would be just another end of season review for a club that has missed finals.

I am glad that Players are voicing opinions. I said it last night. This piece of “news” has done one thing, it’s opened the door 

Big change must happen over Summer and they will…

Posted
4 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Literally any number of people from the football manager to the high performance manager would have a significant impact on the direction and performance of the club, and on Trac's career.

You think Trac only interacts with Goody and McQualter? 

I get what you are saying - however trying to match the role of said person and the way this has played out suggests the role has to be significant in stature. You’re not going out of your way to make this ruckus for just anyone. 

Trac would very much be aware of how destructive these events are and that is why I think it has to be someone quite senior l.

Posted
1 minute ago, Gawndy the Great said:

I get what you are saying - however trying to match the role of said person and the way this has played out suggests the role has to be significant in stature. You’re not going out of your way to make this ruckus for just anyone. 

Trac would very much be aware of how destructive these events are and that is why I think it has to be someone quite senior l.

Well yes of course it’s not the tea lady and her dry biscuits 😂

But I think if his issue was with Goodwin, then that clown Morris would be all over it. When in fact Morris went out of his way to say Trac has no issues with the coach. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

My guess is Mark Williams, surely he'd get on your nerves eventually? 😂

I'm not sure how long Choco has on his contract, but I hope we're extending him.

Development at Melbourne, particularly of players 1-4 years, is a strength.

Posted
1 minute ago, Binmans PA said:

I'm not sure how long Choco has on his contract, but I hope we're extending him.

OOC at the end of this year.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Well yes of course it’s not the tea lady and her dry biscuits 😂

But I think if his issue was with Goodwin, then that clown Morris would be all over it. When in fact Morris went out of his way to say Trac has no issues with the coach. 

Agreed I don’t think it’s Goody. My money in Richo.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Binmans PA said:

Is it ? I’m looking and seeing quite few not really setting the world on fire 

Posted

The letter is good, said what needed to be said.

Whether he's unhappy or not remains to be seen and if he is unhappy, whether it's about the handling of the injury or the direction of the footy club. 

Posted

Channel 9 must have read this thread:

image.jpeg.de3bb929198b34a1dc1e35f98528b3a9.jpeg

• Haha 15