Goodwin needed to go after heโ€™s second straight sets exit with all the so called culture issues, playing Oliver after missing preseason Iโ€™m sorry sends a poor message to the others busting their read ends, issues riddled from the president down to CEO , Green I feel for him and no CEO how do I make longer term decisions

ย 
1 hour ago, fr_ap said:

Goodwin our 'premiership coach's on paper only. Roos, Jackson, Viney, Mahoney the real legacy and the ones who actually turned the place around.

I keep seeing this disrespectful nonsense from the constant neggies and it's the most naive,.ridiculous statement you could make. You don't fluke a flag, it is won by many.

Until last night I was in Goodwin's camp. But not after these:

• At half time he said: Petty is going forward as we need the aerial presence. NSS!!!!! That was obvious on Thursday night.

• In his PR several times he put it all on the players: not enough fight.

• "...but we need to show more fight than what we showed.

โ€œWe did it for a quarter, thatโ€™s all Iโ€™ll say. We did it for a quarter.โ€

• Sure they didn't perform to the level required but no need to rub it in or publicly shame them.

• In his PR he said: it isn't about me... King rightly took issue with that.

I have this sick feeling Goodwin has gone into self-protect mode.

And, I no longer trust his decision making.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Lose back to back against Freo at the G and a struggling young Tigers side on ANZAC eve and I can't see Goodwin surviving.

15 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

• At half time he said: Petty is going forward as we need the aerial presence. NSS! That was obvious on Thursday night.

• In his PR several times he put it all on the players: not enough fight. Sure they didn't perform to the level required but no need to rub it in or publicly shame them.

He kept saying he has the โ€˜credentialsโ€™ to fix the issues at the club. It sounded like he was making his case to not be sacked in that presser.

13 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

• At half time he said: Petty is going forward as we need the aerial presence. NSS! That was obvious on Thursday night.

• In his PR several times he put it all on the players: not enough fight. Sure they didn't perform to the level required but no need to rub it in or publicly shame them.

He doesn't have the fortitude to deal with pressure like this. He's an anxious personality and crumbles when the media apply the blowtorch.

Blaming the players publicly was Neeld-esque. But a massive misstep from him too. If the players can't execute what he's asking of them then it's a coaching failure. Its a failure of the clubs program and a failure of communication.

He's lost the players and he knows it.

Just now, BoBo said:

He kept saying he has the โ€˜credentialsโ€™ to fix the issues at the club. It sounded like he was making his case to not be sacked in that presser.

That is how I heard it: looking after himself.

And he said (paraphrasing): it isn't about me, it is about the club, these players.

If he has gone into self-protect mode is it any wonder the players are doing the same on the field.

Oh! My kingdom for a CEO!

ย 
24 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Until last night I was in Goodwin's camp.

I'm the same mate.

The Goodwin era looks done. I honestly canโ€™t see us beating Richmond atm. If we lose that I think he needs to fall on his sword. For mine the worst part of last night was watching us guard grass in the last quarter while Essendon just chipped it around to each other. Thereโ€™s no dare, thereโ€™s no ability to run. Thereโ€™s no discernible plan, we look so lost. Personally I think we tire because we chase opposition all game. Freo will absolutely belt us. Could start getting very ugly if it hasnโ€™t already. In what world are forwards trained to lead back to the square? Then when they do they donโ€™t check the back man running back and then try and mark, very low percentage effort. Can we actually afford to allow this to continue? Currently weโ€™ll finish second bottom and have pick 20 odd.

Edited by Roost it far

7 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

That is how I heard it: looking after himself.

And he said (paraphrasing): it isn't about me, it is about the club, these players.

If he has gone into self-protect mode is it any wonder the players are doing the same on the field.

Oh! My kingdom for a CEO!

Bit of โ€˜I donโ€™t hold a hose mateโ€™ about it for sure.

Not good.

Thereโ€™s better analysts of tactics on here than me, can anyone on here seriously tell me that our current plan has any hope of working.

6 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Thereโ€™s better analysts of tactics on here than me, can anyone on here seriously tell me that our current plan has any hope of working.

you donโ€™t need the โ€œ better analystsโ€ fr that. Iโ€™m terrible at tactics as iโ€™m too emotional as a watcher. But even I could see, just 10 mins into the first, that a thrashing was coming. that it was kept to only 39 points is some kind of weird credit to them. Been the same for the last 4 weeks.

I havenโ€™t been as depressed watching the dees since 2012 /13 . I thought those days were behind us but I see those times if not darker days now yet ahead.

2021 ave points for 90, against 64 (+26)

2022 87-69 (+18)

2023 88-72 (+16)

2024 78-79 (-1)

2025 62-102 (-40)

I thought after 2024 that he deserved a chance to turn it around, but it just has not worked.

Defence is leaky now (Lever out doesnโ€™t help but itโ€™s worse than one player). Forward line is non-existent, barely a mark i50 at all. Mids are getting smashed.

Whatever heโ€™s tried to do this year has not worked - the preseason vids were all of run & carry and quick movement and that hasnโ€™t shown up on field at all.

Whole thing needs a reset and unfortunately for Goody that means he takes a long walk off a short pier.

44 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

• In his PR several times he put it all on the players: not enough fight.

• "...but we need to show more fight than what we showed.

โ€œWe did it for a quarter, thatโ€™s all Iโ€™ll say. We did it for a quarter.โ€

• Sure they didn't perform to the level required but no need to rub it in or publicly shame them.

Most fans hadnโ€™t trust his decision making for a good part of 2 years now. Most even foresaw this long before that too, so in essence, hindsight is irrelevant such is/was the glaring issues facing the clubs.

Going back to that Freo smashing half way through last season as an example, the drivel that came from his mouth was just that- mumble jumbo nonsense.

"We understand there's elements within our method that aren't right.ย 

"But inconsistencies, not only from week-to-week, are concerning, and we'll look into it the why of it, because that performance is clearly, completely unacceptable from where we want to be as a team. I know our supporters want more."

โ€œOne we certainly won't tolerate. There's inconsistencies in our game, and that trend's been there for a little while now,"

This was halfway through 2024. How and why the main cores issues are still haunting the club is just laughable now, rather than pure frustration and anger.

Heโ€™s been off the rails for sometime now and it is now starting to come to a violent halt last night.

Edited by VNightCityLegend

1 minute ago, VNightCityLegend said:

Most fans didnโ€™t trust his decision making for a good part of 2 years now.

Going back to that Freo smashing half way through last season, the drivel that came from his mouth was just that- mumble jumbo nonsense.

"We understand there's elements within our method that aren't right.ย 

"But inconsistencies, not only from week-to-week, are concerning, and we'll look into it the why of it, because that performance is clearly, completely unacceptable from where we want to be as a team. I know our supporters want more."

โ€œOne we certainly won't tolerate. There's inconsistencies in our game, and that trend's been there for a little while now,"

This was halfway through 2024. How and why the main issues are still haunting the club is just laughable now, rather than pure frustration and anger.

Heโ€™s been off the rails for sometime now and it is now starting to come to a violent halt last night.

At least we're consistent now.

1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

Good examples

Iโ€™m wondering what candidates of that calibre are out there and available?

And not just available but who would want to come to us?

Genuine question

I'd look at assistant coaches from clubs with sustained success.

Cameron Bruce and Danny Daly from Brisbane

Brett Montgomery and Craig Jennings from GWS

Hayden Skipworth from Collingwood.

From Geelong, I'd look at Nigel Lappin who i personally rate incredibly highly. James Rahilly is another who is highly rated within coaching circles.

Then, I'd be sounding out John Longmire. Say what you want about his grand final record, the fact is, he got them completely competitive and competing for success each and every year.

43 minutes ago, BoBo said:

And that's the second post-match press conf in a row he's pulled out that line. The media love having a coach in their gunsights, and now Carlton have a win the barrels will all be trained on Goodwin.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Right, then tap Goody on the shoulder and advise him that for the benefit of the club moving forward having already lost the players it seems, it would be best if he stood down. Mutual decision, happy days.

• Buckly stands down mid 2021. They appoint Craig McRea at the end of 2021 and they not only make a preliminary final in 2022 in his first year as coach, but they then proceed in wining the flag in just his second year at the helm in 2023.

• Leon Cameron stands down mid 2022 and new coach Adam Kingsley comes at the end of that year and immediately takes them to a preliminary final in 2023. Top 4 finish in 2024 and look destined for another top 4 finish this year.

• Early days already but Damien Hardwick already has them sitting 2nd on the AFL ladder in just his second year at the helm after they sack Dew in 2023. Finally look destined for a finals birth.

• Chris Fagan in his 2nd year at the helm got them into top 4 and since then, have not missed out on playing finals. Sustained success.

• Luke Beveridge in his first year in 2015 got them straight into the finals after taking over a club that was in a diabolical state after they sacked their coach and traded their captain in Ryan Griffen at the end of 2014. Beveridge then wins a flag in 2016.

Yes, it's not guaranteed that it would work for us, but there is enough evidence to suggest clubs that still have a decent list as we do, only need a fresh new voice and a completely new system in place and you can certainly bounce back.

Our list on paper still has enough talent on there to bounce back up immediately if the club is willing to make changes.

Goodwin is cooked and you'd be delusional to think if the players haven't lost faith in him because as it stands, player and coaches look polar opposite to each in terms of being aligned on the same page.

100% this

As bad as it seems I actually think our list is more akin to Collingwood 2021 and GWS 2022 than one that is ready for a full blown rebuild

Scott Pendlebury, Toby Greene etc. didnโ€™t just magically forget how to be good footballers in those years, but it was clear that the coaches, game-plan, messaging etc had run the course with those players and they needed a new voice to reset and reinvigorate them

I genuinely believe a new coach - one with tactical nous and an ability to bring the players together - could see us have a similar bounce back

But we need to act by the mid point of this season so we can begin that transition as soon as possible

If we let Goodwin and co. roll on for another 12 months we will end up like West Coast - they waited far too long to move on Simmo and reset and are now paying heavily for it

Needed to be gone after the second straight sets exit! Why his contract was extended twice in 22/23 is beyond belief! Heโ€™s failed to adapt & implement a new game plan unwound all the defensive & contest , flip flop it lad year & coaches from the box then runs down to the boundary .. itโ€™s shows he dosent have trust & second guessingโ€ฆ its more than him itโ€™s the whole club no leadership, no ceo , president in waiting, back to amateurism

If the knock comes, I'd give Taylor Whitford the interim job.

HQ might get involved as they don't like uncompetitive teams. Impacts the $$$$$$ plus 7 and Fox ratings.

23 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'd look at assistant coaches from clubs with sustained success.

Cameron Bruce and Danny Daly from Brisbane

Brett Montgomery and Craig Jennings from GWS

Hayden Skipworth from Collingwood.

From Geelong, I'd look at Nigel Lappin who i personally rate incredibly highly. James Rahilly is another who is highly rated within coaching circles.

Then, I'd be sounding out John Longmire. Say what you want about his grand final record, the fact is, he got them completely competitive and competing for success each and every year.

I think part of our problem is we haven't had any good assistant coaches since Yze.

Has a president ever gone on to coach? At this stage I'd take Brad Green. He's one of the few I trust at the club And give him some proper assistant coaches

ย 
7 hours ago, Front and centre said:

the only good reason to do it now is to enable a transparent and in the open process for the next coach. instead of sneaking around behind his back

I think there's a second reason to act fast.

The players.

They look completely destroyed.

Chandler looked to be close to tears post match.

We'll lose a heap of good ones if we wait until seasons end.

No guarantee they won't go anyway. But we need to give them a new start.

I've said it before, I'd bring in Mick Stinnear.

The women's team play for each other and love their footy.

When things aren't working, he makes changes fast.

He's a bloody good coach

I reckon there's a stigma there about aflw being substandard, but he deserves a promotion to AFL coaching.

Edited by Brownie

I haven't seen Goody that emotional and fragile in a presser since some of our straight set finals losses. He looks a bit broken and clinging on a hope that things will just turn.

I really can't see him surviving if we lose the next two weeks. I actually wouldn't be surprised if he resigned and then they did a farewell game for him. Bit like what Collingwood did with Buckley