9 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

50% what a joke should be 100, does anyone know if pies and wc have the same deal with murphy and gov??

Based on a little research McGovern was contracted for 2026 only, which if under a similar deal that we got with the Brayshaw payout, shouldn’t harm West Coast at all. For Murphy it looks like he had a contract through to the end of this year or next, worth 1 million, which was paid out by Collingwood, however no mention of whether it’s out of the cap, and the percentage like we had.

Our scenario is slightly different to those 2 considering Brayshaw was on a longer term contract on bigger money, which just as mentioned earlier is our bad luck with contracts. This is no criticism of Brayshaw in any way either, I hope he is doing well and the right decision was made for him to retire.

18 hours ago, ANG13 said:

I think one of our biggest issues this offseason is how do we actually improve our list. No first round draft pick, all reports a weak draft so trading players out for picks probably not a great way. What type of player would we get for the likes of Oliver, Lever Fritsch and others.

We’ve actually chosen one of the worst times to regenerate our list, given the (likely) introduction of Tassie and the subsequent draft concessions.

I’m not saying for a moment we shouldn’t be brave, bold and decisive (think Richmond last season), but the likelihood of having to deal with multiple compromised drafts will make our regeneration all the more difficult. I’m inclined to suggest we need to bring in multiple second rounders and nail later draft picks, in order to have genuine and competitive depth and talent.

17 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If its true that Lever felt blindsided and angry because he felt disrespected at the fact he was even drop then see ya later Jake.

Your form has been absolute poor since 2022 and as a leader hes been sub par.

Turner has taken his spot anyhow, the guy is a dead set liability as his body is cooked big time.

I also think it’s absolutely up for discussion if his traditional role, impacts the contemporary game. For mine, I’m not so certain it does; and yes, that is even with acknowledging his injuries if people want to push that down my throat.

46 minutes ago, KoltTheRam said:

For Murphy it looks like he had a contract through to the end of this year or next, worth 1 million, which was paid out by Collingwood, however no mention of whether it’s out of the cap, and the percentage like we had.

He's an assistant coach at Collingwood now as well. So perhaps its being paid a variety of ways.

1 hour ago, KoltTheRam said:

Based on a little research McGovern was contracted for 2026 only, which if under a similar deal that we got with the Brayshaw payout, shouldn’t harm West Coast at all. For Murphy it looks like he had a contract through to the end of this year or next, worth 1 million, which was paid out by Collingwood, however no mention of whether it’s out of the cap, and the percentage like we had.

Our scenario is slightly different to those 2 considering Brayshaw was on a longer term contract on bigger money, which just as mentioned earlier is our bad luck with contracts. This is no criticism of Brayshaw in any way either, I hope he is doing well and the right decision was made for him to retire.

absolutely his departure is alot of the reason we are in this hole we are current in :( him and the club had previously hinted there would be a time when he would come back in a coaching role I hope that is sooner rather then later. also will be interesting to see what happens with the next long term contract player who retires from concussion and how much the club gets his contract wiped off

3 hours ago, BLWNBA said:

We’ve actually chosen one of the worst times to regenerate our list, given the (likely) introduction of Tassie and the subsequent draft concessions.

I’m not saying for a moment we shouldn’t be brave, bold and decisive (think Richmond last season), but the likelihood of having to deal with multiple compromised drafts will make our regeneration all the more difficult. I’m inclined to suggest we need to bring in multiple second rounders and nail later draft picks, in order to have genuine and competitive depth and talent.

We could trade players to tassie , especially if they have to trade draft picks for players

6 hours ago, KoltTheRam said:

I think it’s also worth noting how much of an impact Angus Brayshaws contract will have on our cap in the next 3 years. After negotiation with the AFL, it was decided that only 50% of his contract will appear in the salary cap player payments for 2026, however the full contract will appear for 2027 and 2028. It was a 3 million dollar payout, so say an average of 600,000 a year. If this deal was backended which most are nowadays, we could be having 300000-400000 blocked out next year and 700000-900000 for the two years after, which considerably hamstrings us for any free agents or large trades, especially given the Trac and Clarry situations. Our list management team is incredibly under the pump.

We should have gone to court over that arrangement

Should be on Collingwoods cap

5 hours ago, BLWNBA said:

I’m not saying for a moment we shouldn’t be brave, bold and decisive (think Richmond last season), but the likelihood of having to deal with multiple compromised drafts will make our regeneration all the more difficult.

I think the idea is we try to find 24 - 26 year olds, players with 4-5 years of experience already but still plenty of footy in front of them.

Quite where/how we find such players, especially as most of them would be still too young for FA, is another question.

8 minutes ago, bing181 said:

I think the idea is we try to find 24 - 26 year olds, players with 4-5 years of experience already but still plenty of footy in front of them.

Quite where/how we find such players, especially as most of them would be still too young for FA, is another question.

Depth and role players is one the issues with the list. With have high end talent and promising youngsters. We need to get good players, with good work ethic who can play a role.

It’s why McVee is important.

6 hours ago, jaydenh10 said:

absolutely his departure is alot of the reason we are in this hole we are current in

Both on and off the field. There's huge Angus-shaped hole in the club, from leadership to the midfield to the list.

CODE SPORTS

Melbourne’s senior players have some currency but it would be a big call to trade leaders like Jake Lever, Jack Viney and Steven May.

Lever will be 30 by round 1 next year but was dropped this year as he battles ankle concerns.

May will be 34 in January next year and has averaged 2.7 intercept marks a year but also had a poor year by his lofty standards.

Bayley Fritsch is contracted for next year and would have suitors but said earlier in the year he wanted to play out his career at Melbourne.

Clayton Oliver might have to take a $200,000 pay cut per year to be a trade prospect but even then the Demons might have to pay up to $500,000 of his salary for a club to take the rest of his $1 million wage off the books given a deal of up to $1.7m by 2030.

24 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

CODE SPORTS

Melbourne’s senior players have some currency but it would be a big call to trade leaders like Jake Lever, Jack Viney and Steven May.

Lever will be 30 by round 1 next year but was dropped this year as he battles ankle concerns.

May will be 34 in January next year and has averaged 2.7 intercept marks a year but also had a poor year by his lofty standards.

Bayley Fritsch is contracted for next year and would have suitors but said earlier in the year he wanted to play out his career at Melbourne.

Clayton Oliver might have to take a $200,000 pay cut per year to be a trade prospect but even then the Demons might have to pay up to $500,000 of his salary for a club to take the rest of his $1 million wage off the books given a deal of up to $1.7m by 2030.

I’ve got zero faith that the club has the nerve to do this

FWIW I’m not saying blow it up and trade them all, but if we’re serious about any sort of rejuvenation at least some senior players are going to have to make way

Lever trac clarry and fritsch have trade value, albeit we will have to eat some of their salary to move them on

May and viney are too old and have no trade value, so better to keep around to lead the youngsters

Max is untradeable because he's a legend and busts a gut all the time. Plus we have no ruck back-up. He would also be great to mentor our next ruck (whoever that might be)

I'm not fussed about what we do with lesser lights and depth players. we should do what we need to do to get some picks to replenish the list and get us ready for the next cycle of success

I have now got a very simple philosophy on all of this, we do whatever we have to for more flags.

45 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

CODE SPORTS

Thanks SONS but are you suggesting that Clayton is only worth 300K a year, he is still in our top 5 and will be 28 next year. May has a year to go but could go again, Rick has strong leadership qualities that we need and has been cruelled by injury, he needs an injury free preseason to get back to his elite best. Melksham should go again but we need to clear some space in the List, we need to clear 6-8 spots and fast track Adam’s, Verrall, Kentfield and Seston if we are keeping them. It’s a tough gig SONS but there will need to be some hard decisions made going into 2026.

Mitch Lewis left out of the Hawks side this week in favour of Calsher Dear

Get in his ears Dees - would be our number 1 forward every week if his body holds up

Article on Instagram during the week of the leagues 15 highest paid players this year.

1 Lynch 1.4 million

2 Ben McKay1.3 million

3 Trac 1.2 million

4 Naughton 1.2 million

5 Bolton 1.1 million

6 T Kelly 1.1 million

7 Bont 1.1 million

8 Oliver 1 million

9 Moore 1 Million

10 Cripps 1 million

11 Heeney 1 million

12 Butters 1 million

13 Rozee 1 million

14 Ben King 1 million

15 Grundy 1 million

Compare that to what currently is and will most like be the final 8 (Freo are overrated)

1 Pies Moore

2 Lions None

3 Crows None

4 Geelong None

5 Hawks None

6 Dogs Bont and Naughton

7 Suns King

8 GWS None

We’ve just signed Kosi to 1.1 - 1.2 a year, fair to say one or both of Oliver and Trac have to go, it’s unsustainable to have all 3. Like many others I’d be happy to let Oliver go and a fresh start could be best for both parties. Lions last year premiers have none as do Geelong and the Giants. I understand things change and I was excited as everyone else was when we locked them both away long term but this list for me speaks volumes.

20 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Article on Instagram during the week of the leagues 15 highest paid players this year.

1 Lynch 1.4 million

2 Ben McKay1.3 million

3 Trac 1.2 million

4 Naughton 1.2 million

5 Bolton 1.1 million

6 T Kelly 1.1 million

7 Bont 1.1 million

8 Oliver 1 million

9 Moore 1 Million

10 Cripps 1 million

11 Heeney 1 million

12 Butters 1 million

13 Rozee 1 million

14 Ben King 1 million

15 Grundy 1 million

Compare that to what currently is and will most like be the final 8 (Freo are overrated)

1 Pies Moore

2 Lions None

3 Crows None

4 Geelong None

5 Hawks None

6 Dogs Bont and Naughton

7 Suns King

8 GWS None

We’ve just signed Kosi to 1.1 - 1.2 a year, fair to say one or both of Oliver and Trac have to go, it’s unsustainable to have all 3. Like many others I’d be happy to let Oliver go and a fresh start could be best for both parties. Lions last year premiers have none as do Geelong and the Giants. I understand things change and I was excited as everyone else was when we locked them both away long term but this list for me speaks volumes.

It’s almost like the club is bigger than the individual, particularly with the top teams.

Insane that we have 3 of the highest paid in the comp (assume Max would be very close too) with such horrible return - although Tim Kelly has been dropped this round. That’s an expensive WAFL outing

Edited by BW511

1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

1 Lynch 1.4 million

2 Ben McKay1.3 million

3 Trac 1.2 million

4 Naughton 1.2 million

5 Bolton 1.1 million

6 T Kelly 1.1 million

7 Bont 1.1 million

8 Oliver 1 million

9 Moore 1 Million

10 Cripps 1 million

11 Heeney 1 million

12 Butters 1 million

13 Rozee 1 million

14 Ben King 1 million

15 Grundy 1 million

1 Pies Moore

2 Lions None

3 Crows None

4 Geelong None

5 Hawks None

6 Dogs Bont and Naughton

7 Suns King

8 GWS None

Geelong unfair comparison

Properties worth squillions and who knows what else

11 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Thanks SONS but are you suggesting that Clayton is only worth 300K a year, he is still in our top 5 and will be 28 next year. May has a year to go but could go again, Rick has strong leadership qualities that we need and has been cruelled by injury, he needs an injury free preseason to get back to his elite best. Melksham should go again but we need to clear some space in the List, we need to clear 6-8 spots and fast track Adam’s, Verrall, Kentfield and Seston if we are keeping them. It’s a tough gig SONS but there will need to be some hard decisions made going into 2026.

Oliver is not even close to our top 5 these days not even top 10, pies were ruthless a few years ago in getting Grundy, Trelour and Adam’s out plus changing the coach and they have got 1 flag and maybe a 2nd to show for it, we need to be doing something similar but alas we will just go round and not contend again because of people thinking like you that Oliver is still an asset rather than a liability to the team if we want out of this hole we need to make some big changes

Edited by Garbo

Zero Hanger
No image preview

Five trade targets for EVERY AFL team: Melbourne Demons

How can the Demons retool for 2026?

Interesting article.

Sam Flanders is an interesting one. I reckon he would help our midfield.

Otherwise LJ, Worpel, Derksen and Callum Brown listed

I reckon we’ll be putting some players up for trade to using future picks to make some changes

12 hours ago, Garbo said:

Oliver is not even close to our top 5 these days not even top 10, pies were ruthless a few years ago in getting Grundy, Trelour and Adam’s out plus changing the coach and they have got 1 flag and maybe a 2nd to show for it, we need to be doing something similar but alas we will just go round and not contend again because of people thinking like you that Oliver is still an asset rather than a liability to the team if we want out of this hole we need to make some big changes

Not sure where you are getting your info Garbo but up to R16 player ratings for 2025 were 1- Max 2- Oliver 3- Petracca 4- Bowey 5- Salem 6- Pickett 7- May. So people like Me base our writings on actual statistics not emotions and hubris and I thought disrespect.

5 hours ago, DubDee said:
Zero Hanger
No image preview

Interesting article.

I reckon we’ll be putting some players up for trade to using future picks to make some changes

I’m big on Flanders

Showed that he could play midfield to a high level last year before a back injury ruined his preseason

He’s since been stuck at HFF while Bailey Humphrey and Will Graham take his minutes

If we could pry him loose he’d bring a different (and much needed) dynamic to our midfield

And he can actually kick! Imagine that

5 hours ago, DubDee said:
Zero Hanger
No image preview

Interesting article.

I also rate Worpel but you’d think we’d need to move out one of our inside players to bring him in

He’d essentially give the same or better output as Oliver or Viney this year but likely at half the coin (in Oliver’s case anyway)

Edited by demoncat

Was doing some research, and apparently Sam Flanders and Wade Derksen quite available. Derksen more so, as he tried to come to us last year but was knocked back saying he’s “required player” despite this year being in the seconds for 12 weeks.