Posted
On 06/09/2024 at 14:42, layzie said:

Membrey will almost certainly divide the forum into two categories:

a) A handy and sometimes effective forward that could come cheap

b) An overrated recycled hack that we have too many of anyway. 

Fritch, Disco, Melksham, McAdam. We already have enough mid size fwds. We need more small fwds that can get up and back and pressure. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Lord Travis said:

Ladhams is a spud. His nickname is peanut because he's an [censored] and a [censored]. Swans literally had no other fit ruckman this time last year and he went and got himself suspended (again) when they needed him. He's up there as the worst ruckman on an AFL list. Shown nothing at AFL level other than being taller than most.

This hit on young Woe in the VFL is reason enough for us not to consider him. Gutless sniper.
https://www.afl.com.au/video/832484/big-swans-crude-hit-leaves-young-demon-dazed?videoId=832484&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1661749857001

Yes we need a ruckman, but we'd be better with with basically any random battler from the VFL who actually wants a chance to prove themselves. Avoid Ladhams at all costs.

Wow, simply disgusting.

How many weeks did he get for that? 3+ I hope...

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Wow, simply disgusting.

How many weeks did he get for that? 3+ I hope...

4 weeks. Woe was concussed. Was a seriously dog hit and sums up Ladhams attitude on and off the field. He was suspended and unavailable for their finals campaign as a result when they needed a ruckman. He lets his team down time and time again. If he wasn't tall he'd be in the queue for Centrelink.

Edited by Lord Travis
Posted
2 hours ago, BangBnagBang said:

Fritch, Disco, Melksham, McAdam. We already have enough mid size fwds. We need more small fwds that can get up and back and pressure. 

Turner isn't mid-sized. 

Posted

Significant improvement is not going to come from other clubs discards! Yes a bargain can be found, but the majority are at best maintaining the status quo or on the decline (they are discarded for a reason).

We need to identify and target the good players, regardless of contract i.e. Gegordies, Callaghan, Miller, Brayshaw, Reid, Flanders, McCluggage, Rowbortom, Hewett, etc

Clubs like Brisbane, GC, Blues have more potential top end talent coming in, so shake the tree and see if a quality midfielder falls out - we should have the cash to make things interesting (or as North did with us/Viney tighten our salary cap to help future raids)

Posted
2 hours ago, Ungarieboy said:

Significant improvement is not going to come from other clubs discards! Yes a bargain can be found, but the majority are at best maintaining the status quo or on the decline (they are discarded for a reason).

We need to identify and target the good players, regardless of contract i.e. Gegordies, Callaghan, Miller, Brayshaw, Reid, Flanders, McCluggage, Rowbortom, Hewett, etc

Clubs like Brisbane, GC, Blues have more potential top end talent coming in, so shake the tree and see if a quality midfielder falls out - we should have the cash to make things interesting (or as North did with us/Viney tighten our salary cap to help future raids)

I take it that you’ve not once this year bemoaned us not getting Chol, D’Ambrosio or Ginnivan, nor bemoaned Jordon leaving us?

Posted

I like the idea of Kennedy from Carlton, only 27. Can play anywhere on the ground and is obviously a fringe player for the Blues. (which he shouldn't be)

Think he could be a Brayshaw type player for us

Posted
27 minutes ago, Travy14 said:

I like the idea of Kennedy from Carlton, only 27. Can play anywhere on the ground and is obviously a fringe player for the Blues. (which he shouldn't be)

Think he could be a Brayshaw type player for us

Cmon man, the bloke is ok but he is not even close to Brayshaw 

Posted (edited)
On 09/09/2024 at 11:12, DeeSpencer said:

Ladhams is a peanut (literally his nickname) but his VFL form is strong and there’s not 36 better mature body rucks in the country. He’s got a job until he’s 30.

The issue is does Sydney just keep him for depth given he’s contracted. Might depend what they think of their big bean pole McAndrew who is uncontracted. But you got to have at least 2 rucks you think you can play whilst in a flag window.

And does Ladhams go from sitting behind Grundy to sitting behind Gawn? The way Grundy has finished the year I’m not sure he isn’t better off trying to win that Swans job.

Membrey would be a good bit of short term improvement because he can lead at the ball which is our forwards major weakness. But he’s not starting a top 4 side. I feel like a good forwards coach has to look at JVR, Disco, Jeffo even Petty depending on what we do with T Mc and think I can get these guys leading at the footy - with up the ground run and skills.

Membrey would release Petty to the backline. 

Plays tall, kicks goals and can take a grab.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges
Posted
5 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

FYI Membrey is only 188cm

agree he plays tall but he is a 3rd tall at best imo

Posted
10 minutes ago, DubDee said:

17 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

If we can’t recruit a key forward and Membrey is not this then Petty has to play forward 

Posted

Hope we don’t deviate from our aim of landing a gun off half back. That’s our absolute priority in my eyes,  back the current frwd line in to improve with another year under their belt and better method off half back.

I know he is locked in for a few more years but I hope we’re poking around Lachie Ash. We’ve got the assets and cash to get something done. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, DubDee said:

We can't attract or don't want to attract a Tall forward on big money it seems.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

Cmon man, the bloke is ok but he is not even close to Brayshaw 

That would be why i said Brayshaw type

Posted
2 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I think people get a bit hung up on a tall being over 195cm,  the AFL has shown that if you have 2 talls that can't apply adequate pressure you will get rebounded on very easily.  This is why you can just go and get any tall fwd as JVR and Fritta aren't pressure players either.

Tough balancing act and i don't envy who has to make calls, bringing in another key fwd could see us lose a Turner/Petty/Jefferson

Posted
11 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Which out of contract tall forward are you targeting this off season?

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, adonski said:

Harry Boyd 198cm Ruckman/ forward won the Magarey medal in the SANFL comp.

Suits us down to the ground.

Twiggy Rawlings is the coach of Norwood, Goody should be in dialogue with him asap if he already hasn't been.

We have to get creative this off season.

So some examples that would improve our list

* I'd be upgrading Fullarton with Harry Boyd.

* Membrey or Sam Day on average $$$ 

* A couple of recycled mids eg. Matthew Kennedy, Cumming

* Fast small forward Rosas.

Posted
1 hour ago, adonski said:

Do they need to be OOC? Doesn't seem to matter when other clubs come at our blokes...

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Do they need to be OOC? Doesn't seem to matter when other clubs come at our blokes...

You don't play hard ball with the Neale Bullens of the world

Posted

plus,

Pickett 23 & 24? 

Petty in 23? 

Grundy to us in 22?

That's just related to our club in the last 2 years, heaps of other examples of (big name) contracted players being courted elsewhere. 

We've tried with Tom Lynch at least once too