1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Tommy mac is our Snake Baker - a gun forward who comes in to dominate the finals:

image.jpeg.3c3e3d3e6a3ac22844fdedbdd74a6971.jpeg

A moronic filth supporter put on social media oh Melbourne supporters must have given tickets back as the snow must be good.

So I replied or a Collingwood supporter must have been sent to prison.

Honestly I hope we smash them 

Apologies if posted elsewhere. This might make some breathe a little easier when it comes to our forward line.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1024854

Melbourne can be just as effective no matter which seven players are ahead of the ball.

I'll take this:

Evening

9/7
12°
RealFeel® 8°
Occasional rain and drizzle
WindWSW 19 km/h

Wind Gusts48 km/h

Humidity79%

Dew Point10°

Probability of Precipitation60%

Precipitation0.7 mm

Rain0.7 mm

Cloud Cover76%

32 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Didn't need to watch that to know he won't play.

I also very much doubt he'll play....I'm half convinced he WILL be named on an extended bench though.

An interesting aside of sorts...Goody  re Tommy, noted his leadership.  This is actually CRUCIAL in a finals campaign....people  who can lead. There will be any number of these "moments' where individual efforts above the norm are required to not only accomplish the task , but to direct your team -mates.

Tommy's clarity about a game should not be undervalued ( imo ) 

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I also very much doubt he'll play....I'm half convinced he WILL be named on an extended bench though.

An interesting aside of sorts...Goody  re Tommy, noted his leadership.  This is actually CRUCIAL in a finals campaign....people  who can lead. There will be any number of these "moments' where individual efforts above the norm are required to not only accomplish the task , but to direct your team -mates.

Tommy's clarity about a game should not be undervalued ( imo ) 

If the game plays out as we all expect, we will be scoring mainly through turnover. This is ideal for Tommy as he'll often be isolated with his key defender, without having others ready to zone off and intercept as they will likely be caught out of position. If we move it quick enough he will make it count.

4 hours ago, AzzKikA said:

Hey all I'm sick as a dog and won't be going tomorrow night, anyone interested in a level 1 bay 13 seat NN ticket, $100

Sorry to hear that Azz... extra barracking for you

Tmac has been given the nod.

I guess we all knew that he would come in for Milk.

I do believe a lot will rest on his shoulders. He has had a lot of patchy form this year so it's a bit of a concern.

Then again he could bust the finals apart 

4 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Is it just me or are others going through game scenarios in there head and how tomorrow night will pan out when they're either at work or just having a quiet moment on there own?

I'm feeling nervous as all hell and tomorrow will be a long day. I think because my biggest fear is sitting there having to hear the feral fans at the end of the game because they beat us.

I'm the complete opposite.

No predictions as this is a final and we have no idea what Melb's weather or the AFL amature umpiring will turn up but going in quietly confident.

Tough game but this club is a seasoned finals campaigner now.

Going to enjoy every minute and looking forward to a ripper game of footy between two quality teams on the big stage.

Mighty Demons ROCK!

2 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I do believe a lot will rest on his shoulders. He has had a lot of patchy form this year so it's a bit of a concern.

He doesn't need to rip the game apart... just be solid and present multiple options taking the heat off JVR.

Get the ball to ground if he can't mark when possible and slot a few.  Job done.

Team emphasis and hot at the contest always ramps during finals.

1 minute ago, leave it to deever said:

I think as his fitness ( and body ) got better ...so did his game. A purely natural and expected correlation.

I reckon (quietly..lol ) he might have set himself up well for these 3 games.

Whatever happens next year is way out of focus and irrelevant right atm. He'll be busting to get out and play good footy.

He's very driven.    One to watch.

This will be a tough game but we our certainly a good chance to win.

Sometimes First v fourth can be a whitewash.

This season the win loss tally bw the two isn't that different.

Plus we are the team going in with better form.

Plus we beat them KB.

Win this an we sit comfortably with a home qualifying final.

Can't wait.

Edited by leave it to deever

Tmac staring down a possible second premiership medal. At his age and with the state of his body, he would be silly not to relish this chance and leave nothing out there.

He has absolutely nobody pushing for his role either, unless Ben Brown can get a knee replacement done in a week. So no fear of messing up and losing his spot. 

5 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

This will be a tough game but we our certainly a good chance to win.

Sometimes First v fourth can be whitewash.

This season the win loss tally nw the two isn't that different.

Plus we are the team going in with better form.

Plus we beat them KB.

Win this an we sit comfortably with a home qualifying final.

Can't wait.

I legitimately hope it's just us fans that read into the 1st vs 4th stuff and how 4th place never wins a flag. 

With everything that these players go through they hopefully don't get caught up in all the superstitions and would just be stoked to get this final on the G. Win and all bets are off. 

I see this going the same way as the swans game.  They will come hard and it will be a tight tousle.  Half way through the third we put the hammer down, get the game on our terms and set up a comfortable win.

i expect the pies to react badly - faux tough guys with Maynard and Cox - ucker trying to rough up our boys.  Umps to be against us as they play to the narrative.  Dees by 27points

1 minute ago, buck_nekkid said:

I see this going the same way as the swans game.  They will come hard and it will be a tight tousle.  Half way through the third we put the hammer down, get the game on our terms and set up a comfortable win.

i expect the pies to react badly - faux tough guys with Maynard and Cox - ucker trying to rough up our boys.  Umps to be against us as they play to the narrative.  Dees by 27points

Maynard isn’t faux tough, he’s tough

Cox, well he’s a squib

9 minutes ago, layzie said:

I legitimately hope it's just us fans that read into the 1st vs 4th stuff and how 4th place never wins a flag. 

With everything that these players go through they hopefully don't get caught up in all the superstitions and would just be stoked to get this final on the G. Win and all bets are off. 

The fourth never wins is irrelevant.

Also the finals format has constantly changed.

It's a very close season and as mentioned we are playing a team not in their best form and one we have already beaten.

These two factors are reflected in the betting markets as well as tipsters that show there really isn't any clear fave.

Even though we are playing the minor premiers , I would be much more worried playing the lions at the Gabba .

Do I feel ultra confident. No. But neither should a pies supporter.

Even though we finished fourth, this finals campaign to me seems to have a 2021 feel about it.

I hope we can win a flag on the hallowed turf of the Mcg after 59 bloody years .

The absolute state of Collingwood supporters whenever someone dare suggest that Melbourne might win. My god they are a fragile bunch. 

3 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The fourth never wins is irrelevant.

Also the finals format has constantly changed.

It's a very close season and as mentioned we are playing a team not in their best form and one we have already beaten.

These two factors are reflected in the betting markets as well as tipsters that show there really isn't any clear fave.

Even though we are playing the minor premiers , I would be much more worried playing the lions at the Gabba .

Do I feel ultra confident. No. But neither should a pies supporter.

Even though we finished fourth, this finals campaign to me seems to have a 2021 feel about it.

I hope we can win a flag on the hallowed turf of the Mcg after 59 bloody years .

That's right, this year's top 4 is more just a collection of teams that qualified for the double chance. Pies are no-where near the best minor premier we've seen and Melb might be one of the better 4th placed teams we've seen. 

Let's just go out there and win!

Congrats to Joel on the birth of his child. Joel will be available for selection. 

9 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

Congrats to Joel on the birth of his child. Joel will be available for selection. 

Congrats Joel! Best news all day.

Shaun must be chuffed! 

1 day to go!!

AARGGGGHHHHHH!!!!

48 minutes ago, layzie said:

i look at it another way. It is a statistical inevitability that someone will eventually win from 4th. This year will be that year!