Looks like it's Grundy out and Smith back to the forward line.

On 17/08/2023 at 04:42, Dannyz said:

Any chance Laurie gets a run?

On 17/08/2023 at 04:44, Nascent said:

Any chance Laurie gets a run?

Don't think so Nascent

Surely, we go with JJ out for Spargo and Grundy out for Hibbo. 

Seems like that might be it for Grundy at the MFC.

I'm unenthusiastic about Spargo coming in when we have Kossie and Chandler forward already, and the likelihood of Smith heading there too.  We want someone who can impact the play, Chandler has taken Spargo's place, he gets his hands on it more, kicks more goals and is quicker. He is just as disciplined and as good a gut runner as Spargo too.  The idea that Chandler plays a significantly different role to Spargo is fugazi IMHO.

I agree the cupboard is not exactly bursting with JJ alternatives - Laurie and Woewodin will be decent players but are not ready for pointy end of the season pressure, Harmes is erratic and down on confidence, Spargo doesn't impact, Dunstan is a turnover accumulator.  I think it's a pity Howes got injured just when we might have taken a look at him a few weeks ago.

Edited by old55

Having listened to goody's presser i'm not surprised Brodie might not be playing.

Not much joy there for for Brodie in his response to what was a leading question - paraphrasing, the question was something like so we can assume Brodie will remain in the team (because Brown and Tmac were not ready, goody's response to the previous question)

On 17/08/2023 at 05:57, old55 said:

I'm unenthusiastic about Spargo coming in when we have Kossie and Chandler forward already, and the likelihood of Smith heading there too.  We want someone who can impact the play, Chandler has taken Spargo's place, he gets his hands on it more, kicks more goals and is quicker. He is just as disciplined and as good a gut runner as Spargo too.  The idea that Chandler plays a significantly different role to Spargo is fugazi IMHO.

I agree the cupboard is not exactly bursting with JJ alternatives - Laurie and Woewodin will be decent players but are not ready for pointy end of the season pressure, Harmes is erratic and down on confidence, Spargo doesn't impact, Dunstan is a turnover accumulator.  I think it's a pity Howes got injured just when we might have taken a look at him a few weeks ago.

Pickett, Spargo and Chandler is too small.

Jordon had a bad game on Saturday and has been inconsistent this year with his role changing, but he has played some good games this year and I hope we stick with him this week.

On 17/08/2023 at 03:10, Deeoldfart said:

Spargo.  We need him in, and he was very good for Casey on the weekend.

I like Spargs but don't think we can play with him, Kozzie, Chandler and ANB in the one side unless one is getting significant midfield minutes?

I’d say Spargo is a shoe in, we need his kicking into our forward half. He just needs to get 20 odd possessions to become very damaging 

On 17/08/2023 at 05:59, binman said:

Having listened to goody's presser i'm not surprised Brodie might not be playing.

Not much joy there for for Brodie in his response to what was a leading question - paraphrasing, the question was something like so we can assume Brodie will remain in the team (because Brown and Tmac were not ready, goody's response to the previous question)

I think he deserves another week.  His ruck impact was good and he wasn't terrible forward - in pretty tough key forward conditions.  

If Smith doesn't work forward this weekend, what lever do we have to pull with the sub?  

Grundy doesn't have to have huge impact (Jacko didn't in most games in 2021) but we can't expect it all to click on one night with rough conditions against the most inform team.

Right choice

I would prefer to see Tomlinson in, and Smith remain the sub. He's an impact player, and is good value coming on later in matches.

I'd stick with Grundy for this match, although it appears unlikely.

It's no from me re Spargo. He just doesn't get enough of the ball.

JJ out. Do we need another onballer? No to Laurie. Now isn't the time for blooding new players. 

Bowey on thin ice. Perhaps out for Hibbo in the 22?

Who goes back? Tommo or Hibbo?

On 17/08/2023 at 06:30, Roost it far said:

I’d say Spargo is a shoe in, we need his kicking into our forward half. He just needs to get 20 odd possessions to become very damaging 

Well he's got 20 odd disposals once in 96 games so don't hold your breath.  Look Spargo is a capable AFL player, I'm not a Spargo basher, but Chandler has gone past him in every area:

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=12&playerStatus2=A&tid2=12&type=A&pid1=6680&pid2=4150&fid1=S&fid2=S

On 17/08/2023 at 06:30, Roost it far said:

Easier said than done when he routinely gets half that amount.

On 17/08/2023 at 07:20, Lord Travis said:

Easier said than done when he routinely gets half that amount.

He's a very creative kick, but with 10 kicks or more 12 times in 96 games he just doesn't give enough impact.

On 17/08/2023 at 07:28, old55 said:

He's a very creative kick, but with 10 kicks or more 12 times in 96 games he just doesn't give enough impact.

So you don't subscribe to @binman's view that Spargo and ANB basically play defensive winger roles that then flow forward to help offence, and that possession numbers are nice, but not the KPI?

I do FWIW, hence my call for Spargo to come in. I think our forward 50 will look better if we can defend better through the middle of the ground and higher. But each to their own mate.

On 17/08/2023 at 08:22, Binmans PA said:

So you don't subscribe to @binman's view that Spargo and ANB basically play defensive winger roles that then flow forward to help offence, and that possession numbers are nice, but not the KPI?

I do FWIW, hence my call for Spargo to come in. I think our forward 50 will look better if we can defend better through the middle of the ground and higher. But each to their own mate.

No

On 16/08/2023 at 05:45, DubDee said:

Never forget the painful years.  This result killed our season at round 1. 2008.  I hope we smash them

Hawthorn 5.5 7.10 15.12 23.16.154
Melbourne 1.1 1.5 2.10 6.14.50

I was there that day. FMD what a shocker!

On 17/08/2023 at 08:31, chook fowler said:

Clarrie not named. WTF. This is beyond a joke.

Yes he is...?

On 17/08/2023 at 08:31, chook fowler said:

Clarrie not named. WTF. This is beyond a joke.

he’s in the 22 from last week