Posted
7 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

Anyone else fuming over Robbo and Whateley on AFL360 ‘ginned up’ over Carlton and then briefly saying Melbourne were essentially rooted because we lost Petty?

You really shouldn’t watch that dribble. You may as well read afl.com if you want poor journalism and no serious analysis. 

Posted

Great to see the two best teams at the minute going head-to-head.

Since McKay's been out, Blues have gone shorter and on Sunday just had Curnow and resting ruck - TDK or Pittonet resting as they use a version of Pagan's Paddock for Charlie. May will take Charlie, but trick is deciding if Lever, Hibberd (or Smith) can cope with the ruckman. But it would be a ballsy call to bring back Tomlinson. Can't see it as Blues have so many smallish runners up there. The good thing is that with Smith back as the sub, we have options of bringing him on - even to Curnow - if we have to.

Bowey (injury) is the only defender in doubt with Hibberd back in 22 and Smith the sub.

Grundy has to play for Petty as we looked lost when going down line in last quarter minus Petty and it's too much to expect JVR and Melky to cope - Weitering, Kemp and Marchbank would have a field day. 

Then it's a case of who is out for Oliver. Sparrow, Jordon and Harmes all made howlers at times but also kept persisting against a Roos side that was majorly committed, but I suspect Harmes is the most likely to go of that three. But if Bowey's out, then it would be easier just to send Angus back to cover.  

Posted
20 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

Anyone else fuming over Robbo and Whateley on AFL360 ‘ginned up’ over Carlton and then briefly saying Melbourne were essentially rooted because we lost Petty?

Haven't watched them since 2021. The AFL media is a trashfire.

Posted
23 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

They change their minds so often as the weather changes in Melbourne. Carlton can not make finals, Hawks are tanking, Collingwood can't be beat. Port will make Grand Final, And so on.

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

They change their minds so often as the weather changes in Melbourne. Carlton can not make finals, Hawks are tanking, Collingwood can't be beat. Port will make Grand Final, And so on.

That’s not the issue, at various points most have agreed with those points. The problem lies in the lack of in-depth analysis. There should be a show that spends 15-20 minutes on the 4 main games of each round and 5-10 on each of the other 4. Some analysis beyond 3 glammed up clips trying to prove a point. 
I’d call it AFL On Monday. I’d have Hoyne, Me and 3 others (no one springs to mind sadly) and we’d get deep, both technically and spiritually in our analysis. They’d be no Ralphy, no Brereton, no Robbo, no King, no Huddo and The Bounce would be axed. We’d replace On the Couch and AFL 360 and we’d be on on Monday and Thursday (Wednesday if there was a Thursday game) Post and Pre total analysis. We’d rate the absolute shizzle off the crud currently on offer. The start and end credits would be the best plays/marks/goals of the week. We’d go to training, wade through stats and flesh out the meaning of them. Can’t believe it hasn’t been done already. Oh and no ads.
7-9pm

Edited by Roost it far
Posted
11 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

That’s not the issue, at various points most have agreed with those points. The problem lies in the lack of in-depth analysis. There should be a show that spends 15-20 minutes on the 4 main games of each round and 5-10 on each of the other 4. Some analysis beyond 3 glammed up clips trying to prove a point. 
I’d call it AFL On Monday. I’d have Hoyne, Me and 3 others (no one springs to mind sadly) and we’d get deep, both technically and spiritually in our analysis. They’d be no Ralphy, no Brereton, no Robbo, no King, no Huddo and The Bounce would be axed. We’d replace On the Couch and AFL 360 and we’d be on on Monday and Thursday (Wednesday if there was a Thursday game) Post and Pre total analysis. We’d rate the absolute shizzle off the crud currently on offer. The start and end credits would be the best plays/marks/goals of the week. We’d go to training, wade through stats and flesh out the meaning of them. Can’t believe it hasn’t been done already. Oh and no ads.
7-9pm

How can you have a show called AFL on Monday on a Wednesday?

Posted
10 hours ago, DeelightfulPlay said:

Mate, he was just chatting with a friend.  Hardly anything sinister!  Plus it turns out most of the team lined up like... 25 mins early (esp since the flight had a minor delay).  It's not rumour mongering except for you reading into it.  I can't even tell you the name of the Roo's player or whether he has any connection to Tassie

10 hours ago, DeelightfulPlay said:

Oops, sorry @monoccular!  Been a bit of a morning at work and that likely coloured my perception towards offence rather than laughter

Play - I am happy that you finally picked up my irony / sarcasm. 🤗🤗

Posted
1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

You really shouldn’t watch that dribble. You may as well read afl.com if you want poor journalism and no serious analysis. 

Eating cigarettes would be less bad for your health than watching that.

Posted
46 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

7-9pm

Weren’t you the one on here running about telling everyone ‘Kozzie is off, Kozzie is off!’

Not sure I would watch your show…

Schitts Creek Comedy GIF by CBC

Posted
Just now, rpfc said:

Weren’t you the one on here running about telling everyone ‘Kozzie is off, Kozzie is off!’

Not sure I would watch your show…

Schitts Creek Comedy GIF by CBC

Yes, I thought he was gone. That’s why my show would be based on facts, to avoid such issues. May I say I wasn’t alone. I also use that time to get used to life without said player. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Yes, I thought he was gone. That’s why my show would be based on facts, to avoid such issues. May I say I wasn’t alone. I also use that time to get used to life without said player. 

I'd watch it if it focused on the real facts. Plenty of news, views and reviews and quality bants.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

7-9pm

https://youtu.be/Z0Q3E2F65vM

Five minutes is all you need for a quality game analysis. 

Edited by Mel Bourne

Posted
23 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Play - I am happy that you finally picked up my irony / sarcasm. 🤗🤗

Not my finest, I can be literal at the best of times!  😅  Thanks for being a good sport about it

Posted
59 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I’d call it AFL On Monday. I’d have Hoyne, Me and 3 others...

Interesting! Maybe work on winning over Demonland posters first before starting your own TV show?

Your crucifixion of Jefferson in only his first season was one of Demonland's lowest points...

Posted
9 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Yes I forgot the followers Gawn, Brayshaw, Viney

That's Ok... Just thought it was funny though, a rest may well do them some good for the finals.. Hope Goody takes your suggestion seriously.

Posted (edited)

Tommo back

Smith fwd

Clarry in for harmes or jj

Schache sub - swingman sub for fwd or back cover 

Edited by Sideshow Bob
Posted

I reckon you'd fit in nicely to the AFL media landscape Roosty...

Posted
2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

7-9pm

I’d watch it for sure! First Crack is almost what you want but it’s not as in-depth - Hoyne would be great, his work on SEN Tuesdays is great to listen to.

Nowadays I think the best approach is probably a podcast  but boosted on steroids with access to footage and champion data, which ain’t cheap. Ultimately you’d need one of AFL, Ch7, Ch9 or FOX to bankroll it and given they have zero creativity I don’t see it happening.  

Posted (edited)

The question I have is; who is the better lead-up forward and contested marker of the pill?

Its easy to assume the answer would be BBB but can this be another accidental uncovering of another effective scoring mix where Schache demands the footy like Petty has been?

I personally think he can offer the same type of contest but just purely lacks the physicality at his age. 

Give Schache a go. 

Edited by McQueen
Posted
10 minutes ago, McQueen said:

The question I have is; who is the better lead-up forward and contested marker of the pill?

Its easy to assume the answer would be BBB but can this be another accidental uncovering of another effective scoring mix where Schache demands the footy like Petty has been?

I personally think he can offer the same type of contest but just purely lacks the physicality at his age. 

Give Schache a go. 

One of the jobs may be to keep Weitering under control as well? Similar to what teams do with Lever and May. Has been in great form in the past two months. Schache has done that type of job with the Bulldogs.

Posted
19 hours ago, Tracca said:

Why would you drop Smith? Makes no sense he's been fantastic

He struggled on the weekend playing full game time I thought. Prefer him as the sub.