NON-MFC: Rd 21 2023

2 minutes ago, Chook said:

Howe is just about the Pies best player so far.

No ‘just about’ about it. Hawks would be 7 goals up if not for him.  

1 minute ago, Bates Mate said:

But they've won.....oh yeah nothing

At this rate they may not even win this years minor premiership!

(To be clear for all the pie worshippers - and you know who you are - that was a joke).

Just now, Webber said:

No ‘just about’ about it. Hawks would be 7 goals up if not for him.  

Probably no coincidence he missed a lot of games through injury and is not as fatigued/banged up as the rest of the Collingwood side.

Just now, Bates Mate said:

It's been nearly 2 seasons of playing at a high intensity it's  hard to keep up . I wont write them off but their game style must take a toll

Al jokes aside, I would be surprised if they're running out of gas - unless, like us last season, they have injuries that are not known about.

But agree, they play a very taxing game - physically and psychologically. 

This game reminds me of the lions suns game. The suns came to play. The lions didn't. And it is very hard to turn that energy around.

As I said about the lions  it's a worry for contenders to not to come into a game fully switched on tgis late in the campaign.

As ramanaskas noted on abc this morning, flag winners historically win their last 4 and come into the finals in red hot form.

Lions lode to suns. Port a good chance of losing 5 zip.

Pies lose last week and 5 goals down 5 mins into the second against the 16th placed side.

Mmm, of the contenders, who does that leave?

I feel filthy shouting "come on" to the TV when the Hawks get a goal. I might need counselling. But if it means seeing the Pies lose, I suppose the lesser of two evils...

12 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

I presume the Pies have aligned their training regime @binman and they’re rather taxed at the moment. 7 weeks out, 2 games clear…

Yeah, I wondering the same thing.

But surely it's pretty late in the season not to be close to your optimal shape and playing your best footy?

But agree, it's def a possibility.

They certainly look to be making fatigue skill errors.

3 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

Even if The Pies win this game I wonder if they are starting to believe they don't need to turn up at the start of games. If they do it will kill them come finals.

I think they’ve just learned the danger, corrected, and will win this very easily. Sadly, obviously. 

Edited by Webber

17 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

I presume the Pies have aligned their training regime @binman and they’re rather taxed at the moment. 7 weeks out, 2 games clear…

If the hawks can keep going, we'll know the answer in the last 20 mins of the game i reckon.

If they can't roll over the top of the hawks like we did the tigers, then the perhaps their timing of their program is different to ours (ie we're almost out the other side already).

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.
  • Demonland Forums  

• Match Previews, Reports & Articles  

2024 Player Reviews: #8 Jake Lever

The Demon’s key defender and backline leader had his share of injuries and niggles throughout the season which prevented him from performing at his peak.  Date of Birth: 5 March 1996 Height: 195cm Games MFC 2024: 18 Career Total: 178 Goals MFC 2024: 1 Career Total: 5

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons

2024 Player Reviews: #13 Clayton Oliver

Lack of preparation after a problematic preseason prevented Oliver from reaching the high standards set before last year’s hamstring woes. He carried injury right through the back half of the season and was controversially involved in a potential move during the trade period that was ultimately shut down by the club. Date of Birth:  22 July 1997 Height:  189cm Games MFC 2024:  21 Career Total: 183 Goals MFC 2024: 3 Career Total: 54 Brownlow Medal Votes: 5

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 1

BLOODY BLUES by Meggs

The conclusion to Narrm’s home and away season was the inevitable let down by the bloody Blues  who meekly capitulated to the Bombers.   The 2024 season fixture handicapped the Demons chances from the get-go with Port Adelaide, Brisbane and Essendon advantaged with enough gimme games to ensure a tough road to the finals, especially after a slew of early season injuries to star players cost wins and percentage.     As we strode confidently through the gates of Prin

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 3

2024 Player Reviews: #5 Christian Petracca

Melbourne’s most important player who dominated the first half of the season until his untimely injury in the Kings Birthday clash put an end to his season. At the time, he was on his way to many personal honours and the club in strong finals contention. When the season did end for Melbourne and Petracca was slowly recovering, he was engulfed in controversy about a possible move of clubs amid claims about his treatment by the club in the immediate aftermath of his injury. Date of Birth: 4 J

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 21

2024 Player Reviews: #2 Jacob van Rooyen

Strong marking youngster who plays forward and relief ruck, continued to make significant strides forward in his career path. The Demons have high hopes for van Rooyen as he stakes his claim to become an elite attacking forward. Date of Birth: 16 April 2003 Height: 193cm Games MFC 2024: 21 Career Total: 41 Goals MFC 2024: 30 Career Total: 58 Brownlow Medal Votes: 1

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 26

LIVE AND LET DIE by Meggs

The Demons’ impressive late season charge to finals will most likely come unstuck this Saturday evening when the Bombers blow up the also-ran Blues in the Ikon Park double-header.   To mangle McCartney, what does it matter to ya? To have any chance to play next week Narrm has got a job to do and needs to do it well.  We’ve got to give the Pie sheilas hell, say live and let die! It’s Indigenous Round for this game and the chance to celebrate and engage with Aboriginal and Torres

Demonland |
    AFLW Melbourne Demons

2024 Player Reviews: #32 Tom Sparrow

Had to shoulder more responsibility as the club’s injury concerns deepened but needs to step up more as he closes in on 100 games. Date of Birth: 31 May 2000 Height: 186cm Games MFC 2024: 21 Career Total: 95 Goals MFC 2024: 6 Career Total: 34 Games CDFC: 1 Goals CDFL: 0

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 24

2024 Player Reviews: #35 Harry Petty

Date of Birth: 12 November 1999 Height: 197cm Games MFC 2024: 20 Career Total: 82 Goals MFC 2024: 9 Career Total: 28 Brownlow Medal Votes 3 Failed to fulfill the promise of his breakout six goal effort against the Tigers in 2023 and was generally disappointing as a key forward. It remains to be seen whether Simon Goodwin will persevere with him in attack or return him to the backline where he was an important cog in the club’s 2021 premiership success.

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 18

2024 Player Reviews: #22 Blake Howes

After a bright start to the season, playing mostly in defence, Howes seemed to lose his way in midseason but fought back with some good performances at Casey and finished the year back at AFL level. One to watch in 2024. Date of Birth: 7 March 2003 Height: 191cm Games MFC 2024: 15 Career Total:  15 Goals MFC 2024: 0 Career Total:  0 Games CDFC 2024: 6 Goals CDFC 2024: 0

Demonland |
    Melbourne Demons 5
  • Tell a friend

Love Demonland? Tell a friend!