Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Deemania since 56 said:

At the cricket, Bay 13 before 'modernisation', it was an esky each (ie: slab each with your own ice supply) and a few to start and finish the day at the 'Cricketers...' before and after the game. Usually, two packs of Marlboros per day were required, and home-made salad rolls aplenty. We contained ourselves, as we had to get back into the ground with the same regimen the next day - Stackie might get his ton, y'see. 

I definitely remember the grog coming into the G in eskys for the cricket but not footy.

Pretty sure back in the seventies a bunch of blokes tried to carry a coffin or bath tub into the MCG full of cans to a Test match.Cant recall the outcome. 

Edited by Deebauched

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deebauched said:

Pretty sure back in the seventies a bunch of blokes tried to carry a bath tub into the MCG full of cans to a Test match.Cant recall the outcome. 

Hahahaha!!

The Big 40 Can “Coffins” were often carried into the ‘G during the footy season. Just not into the MCC Reserve! :)

Posted

Great thread!  I often don't feel learned enough to comment on the intricate play related threads.  But this one, I CAN CONFIDENTLY COMMENT ON!!!!

BEST

Supporting a team with the most beautiful colours

Seeing my children, or any child, wearing those beautiful colours

No longer supporting the team with the longest premiership drought

WORST

Corrupt high up employees of the AFL

Inequality in fixturing

Feeling ill after a game we should/could have won, but didn’t

Posted
14 hours ago, Deebymistake said:

Great thread!  I often don't feel learned enough to comment on the intricate play related threads.  But this one, I CAN CONFIDENTLY COMMENT ON!!!!

Lol comment away DM, I would say most of the people here that comment have no clue 🤣🤣🤣

Posted
15 hours ago, Deebymistake said:

BEST

WORST

Inequality in fixturing

Nah get on board! Never a silly post round here, I hope. 

Posted
16 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

Good:

The pies are a lot better than 40 years ago.

So are the toilets.

Enjoying Melbourne wins much more frequently than for the last 40+ years.

Bad:

Much as we love Robbo, “entertainment” at quarter time.

The half time summary that you can never hear but which tells you only the obvious anyway.

Grand Final halftime entertainment.

I really hope you're referring to the edible snack, not the team in black and white.

In fact, it was about 40 years ago I was in the old Southern Stand at the MCG for a cricket match where I bought a Four 'n' Twenty and can of Coca-Cola only to find that the pie was cold and the drink was hot, rather than the other way around.

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I really hope you're referring to the edible snack, not the team in black and white.

In fact, it was about 40 years ago I was in the old Southern Stand at the MCG for a cricket match where I bought a Four 'n' Twenty and can of Coca-Cola only to find that the pie was cold and the drink was hot, rather than the other way around.

One must realise that the ol' Four'nTwenty has been a legend within the MCG across the years. For me, these started making me quite ill about an hour after eating (just) one. The second time I so did - years later and well into the 1980s - I was ill again. So the legend of the F&T pie has both good and bad aspects attached to it.

I have never had one of these (sometime) treats again at the footy. Rumour has it that these pies that were on sale at the 'G were 3-week old stock that conventional retailing could not achieve - all gathered up from stores, warehouses, trucking companies at 'special' prices for the caterers (?) to maximise their profit margins with 'G-sales to the hungry and needy.

Let the buyer beware, was the chant. Food and refreshments at the footy can only be suspect, I guess. 

Edited by Deemania since 56
Posted
29 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

One must realise that the ol' Four'nTwenty has been a legend within the MCG across the years. For me, these started making me quite ill about an hour after eating (just) one. The second time I so did - years later and well into the 1980s - I was ill again. So the legend of the F&T pie has both good and bad aspects attached to it.

I have never had one of these (sometime) treats again at the footy. Rumour has it that these pies that were on sale at the 'G were 3-week old stock that conventional retailing could not achieve - all gathered up from stores, warehouses, trucking companies at 'special' prices for the caterers (?) to maximise their profit margins with 'G-sales to the hungry and needy.

Let the buyer beware, was the chant. Food and refreshments at the footy can only be suspect, I guess. 

I'm ill just reading this. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Unlike 40 years ago, these days the MCG is used much more regularly so there should be more turnover of food. Also, food handling standards have changed significantly...along with the legal risk associated with offering unsafe food. 

Posted
On 3/15/2023 at 11:05 AM, Little Goffy said:

1. The walk to and from the MCG, with the pinnacle being a sunset walk along the river back towards the CBD in full dramatic silhouette.

2. That, at least in Victoria, football has given everyone a little additional thing to comment on for just a moment past 'How are we today?' which actually gives us all an open-ended, expandable small talk that can lead to many other interesting conversations.

3. Subtle variations in crowd noise, being alert to the mood changes even in the quieter moments - the difference between the settling-in noises common early in the third quarter, to the tense anticipation murmurs during a stop in play late in a close game (which are these days too often overwhelmed by musak) - and then the satisfaction of having a shared the experience with people who I know well enough to understand how they are feeling about it.

I guess for me all these things are about the shared moment.

Who's the bloke?

Posted
On 3/15/2023 at 5:14 PM, Deebymistake said:

BEST

WORST

Inequality in fixturing

@Deebymistake, with one or two notable exceptions (and SHE knows who SHE is), few here are learned enough to comment on the intricate play related threads. Just graffiti any sort of cr%p all over the boards and it's amazing how quickly you feel at home.

Posted

Three Best:

1. The sense of long time loyalty repaid after 2021 GF.

2.  Seeing the lights of the G from afar on a frosty night.

3.  Enjoying the amazement and delight that people from OS have when they discover our game.

Three Worst:

1. Gambling ads.

2. Neglect of grassroots and country footy.

3. The NSW media driven renaming the code 'AFL'. AFL is the governing body, not the name of the game, dammit! At Wimbledon they're not playing ATP, and roundball game isn't called FIFA, is it?

Posted

Best

1. Beneeeeeeeeeeetttttt, Neitaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, Jackaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, Schwartaaaaaaaa

2. Dayyyyyyyyyyysieeeee, Paxyeeeeeeeeeeeee, Elizaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

3. 2021/09/25, 19 minute mark, third quarter

Worst

1. Forked tongues at Harrison House

2. Anyone who thinks their home ground is the MCG - other than us

3. Outside of about half-a-dozen over 50 years, anyone behind a microphone

Posted
13 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Forked tongues at Harrison House

Geez, you know how to hold a grudge.  :D

Harrison House hasn't been League HQ for more than 50 years!

Posted
15 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

@Deebymistake, with one or two notable exceptions (and SHE knows who SHE is), few here are learned enough to comment on the intricate play related threads. Just graffiti any sort of cr%p all over the boards and it's amazing how quickly you feel at home.

Got excited when I read this only to then realise you’re probs referring to Jaded and/or Luci *sigh*

But if it’s light n fluffy you’re looking for, I’m ya gal!

Posted
15 hours ago, Demonised said:

Three Best:

1. The sense of long time loyalty repaid after 2021 GF.

2.  Seeing the lights of the G from afar on a frosty night.

3.  Enjoying the amazement and delight that people from OS have when they discover our game.

Three Worst:

1. Gambling ads.

2. Neglect of grassroots and country footy.

3. The NSW media driven renaming the code 'AFL'. AFL is the governing body, not the name of the game, dammit! At Wimbledon they're not playing ATP, and roundball game isn't called FIFA, is it?

Wholeheartedly agree with your #2 and #3 of your Three Best. The MCG at night with lights on looks fabulous from the outside.

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Got excited when I read this only to then realise you’re probs referring to Jaded and/or Luci *sigh*

Nope - it was you.

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Light and fluffy 🤔

Posted
14 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Nope - it was you.

I’m actually blushing 😘

Although that may well be the effect of the drug I’ve just been injected with. Legally, that is. Seems having a mammogram has finally become something to look forward to. 🤭

Posted

1 Stepping out of the stand and seeing the crowd in house 1/2 hour before the bounce on G/F afternoon.

2 seeing a Dee forward " free" in the square and watching the mid spot him as well and hit him on the chest and then the Collingwood/ Richmond / Carlton fans leaving the ground

3 Daisy Pearce correcting BT and making him look stupid.

1 BT

2 commentators who clearly don't know the names / numbers of the MFC  team.

3 BT

Posted
15 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I’m actually blushing 😘

Although that may well be the effect of the drug I’ve just been injected with. Legally, that is. Seems having a mammogram has finally become something to look forward to. 🤭

TMI WCW 🤣

Posted

Best:

1. The sound of the crowd before the first bounce of a big game
  2. Being at the MCG for any game, whether it's the lead-up, mid-game, or the aftermath
  3. Talking about footy with friends, colleagues, family, and everyone on here during a season

Worst:

1. "Fan activation" - music after goals, promotions on the ground during all the breaks, etc.
  2. The media (particularly AFL.com.au and SEN) pushing trade/free agency/draft stuff at us all the time to make their own self-fulfilling prophecy that it's the stuff the people want to hear about. This week, before Round 1, we had two new podcasts launched, both talking about trades/FA/draft picks. They'll be weekly. All year now. One of them, Gettable on the AFL website, replaces AFL Exchange, which was a really good weekly AFL-discussion podcast. So we now have AFL.com.au telling us that we'd prefer to be discussing free agents in March than to discuss the actual damn football.
  3. The difficulties getting home after a game at the G, particularly at night. Bottlenecks galore, inadequate number of trains, late finishes compounding the situation.
Posted

The three best and worst things associated with football? My ten cents worth:

The Good

1. Supporters of both teams mingle before and after games. In nearly six decades I reckon I could count on one hand the number of violent incidents I've seen. I love that there is no segregation and overseas visitors are stunned by that. It is something we as a code should be really proud of.

2. The immediate minutes after a Dees win at the MCG.

3. The pre match on Anzac Eve.

The Bad

1. Gambling ads when watching games on TV.

2. Fan activation. See @titan_uranus above. Linked to that is the inability to tell us when a substitution has been activated. Can't do that but have got time to promote SEN talking heads telling us what we've just seen.

3. The gradual decline of secondary competitions.