9 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Unless the round proves to be an epic fail next year, then I think it's here to stay.

Money talks and clearly cities around the country would love to have the round to boost tourism.

But I see your point - there's really nothing in it from a Victorian's perspective. 

It's here to stay because the AFL included it as part of its media rights it signed off a couple of months back.

On 11/18/2022 at 3:12 PM, Demonstone said:

They could honour a footy legend and Brownlow Medallist by calling it The Barry Round.

The beauty of it is that the name works on another level too.  Barry = Barry Crocker = Shocker.

It would also please longtime Coodabeens caller, Barry from the Barossa.

Magic Round in a different country each year. Like the Olympics or the Soccer World cup countries could bid for this once in a lifetime event.

It is after all the World Game (woops I think some other sport claims that phrase... perhaps we could call it the Universal Game !!)

Think of all that money and exposure Gil.... almost as good as having a game in China !!!

• 3 weeks later...

I am sorry, that is just a really bad name.

It isn't inspiring, its cringeworthy and sounds so bad off the tongue.

Surely someone in the AFL thought twice about this one?

Is there a fixture yet...

2 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

Given the location I was in favour of "Heaps Good Round".

I’ve heard that the reason for the extra round added is so that the AFL can siphon off a portion of the profits received into a new fund they have created to help finance the new training and admin facility for the MFC.

( this may or may not be factual but very happy if it was true)

1 minute ago, Neil Crompton said:

I’ve heard that the reason for the extra round added is so that the AFL can siphon off a portion of the profits received into a new fund they have created to help finance the new training and admin facility for the MFC.

( this may or may not be factual but very happy if it was true)

Sadly you were dreaming NC.

3 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Is there a fixture yet...

That will be released during a world cup game tonight LH.

Obviously they could not get a sponsor to pony up some cash. I wonder why???

15 minutes ago, old dee said:

What makes you think that, od?

32 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

Maybe after their lack of street sense after initially announcing the women's competition as Australian Women's Football League, AWFL, only to turn it around as AFLW, they have spent countless hours dreaming up this and just couldn't think of anything better.

Abut all there is to say  

10 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

What makes you think that, od?

If there was a sponsor it would have been the Ford or TAB round.

1 minute ago, old dee said:

If there was a sponsor it would have been the Ford or TAB round.

What is the name?

15 minutes ago, old dee said:

Gather Round 

Gather what?

No pizazz there whatsoever.

Even without sponsors surely someone in marketing has some imagination!

Edited by Lucifers Hero

I thought men were the hunters and the women the gatherers?

Sounds a bit like the Gabba Round - breaking news, it'll be in Brisbane next year

51 minutes ago, Jontee said:

Did Clem Fandango pick the name?

I can't hear you Jontee 

1 hour ago, old dee said:

What have you heard od?

I bet...oops

I gather that....

I reckon that...

So I vote for old fashion footy....

(w)Reckon Round

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• NON-MFC: Round 12

Round 12 kicks off with the Brisbane hosting Essendon at the Gabba as the Lions aim to solidify their top-two position against an injury-hit Bombers side seeking to maintain momentum after a win over Richmond. On Friday night it's a blockbuster at the G as the Magpies look to extend their top of the table winning streak while the Hawks strive to bounce back from a couple of recent defeats and stay in contention for the Top 4. On Saturday the Suns, buoyed by 3 wins on the trot, face the Dockers in a clash crucial for both teams' aspirations this season. The Suns want to solidify their Top 4 standing whilst the Dockers will be desperate to break into the 8.

• 40 replies
  • PREVIEW: St. Kilda

The media has performed a complete reversal in its coverage of the Melbourne Football Club over the past month and a half. Having endured intense criticism from all quarters in the press, which continually identified new avenues for scrutiny of every aspect, both on and off the field, and prematurely speculated about the departures of coaches, players, officials, and various employees from a club that lost its first five matches and appeared out of finals contention, the narrative has suddenly shifted to one of unbridled optimism.  The Demons have won five of their last six matches, positioning themselves just one game (and a considerable amount of percentage) outside the top eight at the halfway mark of the season. They still trail the primary contenders and remain far from assured of a finals berth.

• Clap
      • Thanks
    • 10 replies
  • REPORT: Sydney

A few weeks ago, I visited a fellow Melbourne Football Club supporter in hospital, and our conversation inevitably shifted from his health diagnosis to the well-being of our football team. Like him, Melbourne had faced challenges in recent months, but an intervention - in his case, surgery, and in the team's case, a change in game style - had brought about much improvement.  The team's professionals had altered its game style from a pedestrian and slow-moving approach, which yielded an average of merely 60 points for five winless games, to a faster and more direct style. This shift led to three consecutive wins and a strong competitive effort in the fourth game, albeit with a tired finish against Hawthorn, a strong premiership contender.  As we discussed our team's recent health improvement, I shared my observations on the changes within the team, including the refreshed style, the introduction of new young talent, such as rising stars Caleb Windsor, Harvey Langford, and Xavier Lindsay, and the rebranding of Kozzy Pickett from a small forward to a midfield machine who can still get among the goals. I also highlighted the dominance of captain Max Gawn in the ruck and the resurgence in form in a big way of midfield superstars Christian Petracca and Clayton Oliver. 

• Clap
      • Love
      • Thanks
    • 9 replies
  • PODCAST: Sydney

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 26th May @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we analyse a crushing victory by the Demons over the Swans at the G. Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.

• Clap
      • Love
      • Thanks
    • 50 replies
  • POSTGAME: Sydney

The Demons controlled the contest from the outset, though inaccurate kicking kept the Swans in the game until half time. But after the break, Melbourne put on the jets and blew Sydney away and the demolition job was complete.

• Clap
      • Love
    • 428 replies
  • VOTES: Sydney

Max Gawn still has an almost unassailable lead in the Demonland Player of the Year award. Jake Bowey, Christian Petracca, Harvey Langford, Kade Chandler & Ed Langdon round out the Top 5. Your votes please. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1.

• Thanks
    • 46 replies