9 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Unless the round proves to be an epic fail next year, then I think it's here to stay.

Money talks and clearly cities around the country would love to have the round to boost tourism.

But I see your point - there's really nothing in it from a Victorian's perspective. 

It's here to stay because the AFL included it as part of its media rights it signed off a couple of months back.

On 11/18/2022 at 3:12 PM, Demonstone said:

They could honour a footy legend and Brownlow Medallist by calling it The Barry Round.

The beauty of it is that the name works on another level too.  Barry = Barry Crocker = Shocker.

It would also please longtime Coodabeens caller, Barry from the Barossa.

Magic Round in a different country each year. Like the Olympics or the Soccer World cup countries could bid for this once in a lifetime event.

It is after all the World Game (woops I think some other sport claims that phrase... perhaps we could call it the Universal Game !!)

Think of all that money and exposure Gil.... almost as good as having a game in China !!!

• 3 weeks later...

I am sorry, that is just a really bad name.

It isn't inspiring, its cringeworthy and sounds so bad off the tongue.

Surely someone in the AFL thought twice about this one?

Is there a fixture yet...

2 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

Given the location I was in favour of "Heaps Good Round".

I’ve heard that the reason for the extra round added is so that the AFL can siphon off a portion of the profits received into a new fund they have created to help finance the new training and admin facility for the MFC.

( this may or may not be factual but very happy if it was true)

1 minute ago, Neil Crompton said:

I’ve heard that the reason for the extra round added is so that the AFL can siphon off a portion of the profits received into a new fund they have created to help finance the new training and admin facility for the MFC.

( this may or may not be factual but very happy if it was true)

Sadly you were dreaming NC.

3 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Is there a fixture yet...

That will be released during a world cup game tonight LH.

Obviously they could not get a sponsor to pony up some cash. I wonder why???

15 minutes ago, old dee said:

What makes you think that, od?

32 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

Maybe after their lack of street sense after initially announcing the women's competition as Australian Women's Football League, AWFL, only to turn it around as AFLW, they have spent countless hours dreaming up this and just couldn't think of anything better.

Abut all there is to say  

10 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

What makes you think that, od?

If there was a sponsor it would have been the Ford or TAB round.

1 minute ago, old dee said:

If there was a sponsor it would have been the Ford or TAB round.

What is the name?

15 minutes ago, old dee said:

Gather Round 

Gather what?

No pizazz there whatsoever.

Even without sponsors surely someone in marketing has some imagination!

Edited by Lucifers Hero

I thought men were the hunters and the women the gatherers?

Sounds a bit like the Gabba Round - breaking news, it'll be in Brisbane next year

51 minutes ago, Jontee said:

Did Clem Fandango pick the name?

I can't hear you Jontee 

1 hour ago, old dee said:

What have you heard od?

I bet...oops

I gather that....

I reckon that...

So I vote for old fashion footy....

(w)Reckon Round