Posted
23 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Last week wasn’t good either

Interesting what you do in a game like that? We struggled in the midfield and when we did get it forward it was lobbed high on Brown’s head and the Freo fullback just bulldozed Brown forward, meters under the ball time & time again. Odd that there isn’t a rule for that sort of blatant action. But use a hand push or God forbid grab a bit of jumper in a wrestle for position, the whistle goes immediately? 

Posted
18 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Surprised (but not really) that Hunt and Rivers are copping the criticism when they’re the ones so often chasing 2 opponents because Gus Brayshaw is playing Russian roulette all game. He looked a million bucks in the 2nd quarter when we were well on top, as soon as Freo got any ascendancy he was caught out time and time again miles from his opponent 

I remember him taking 2 marks in the goal square in the 3rd quarter. last line of defence

Posted
3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

All of me doesn’t like what he has posted. 

Just get home from the game WCW ?

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Nice response, but I think you may have missed my point DD36. 

No, no.. try again. 

Do you even actually know why I made reference to Mark Jamar?

19 minutes ago, ucanchoose said:

Careful.   Lol.  The Oracle doesn't like to be wrong

How cute of you @ucanchoose. Living rent free inside that small head of yours 😘 keep battling away old fella and someday someone will take you serious on here.

13 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Been holding that in for a while, huh. 
You probably don’t mind a loss since it’s your opportunity to really lay the boots in. You sincerely believe Goody and co. are gonna gift any player a game for any reason???
Even I know that’s rubbish. 

Of course I don't mind the loss lol.  Give us the perfect opportunity to reset and start again. That's the benefit of a loss sometimes.

He was absolutely gifted to his 200th game LOL. Off the back of a 7 disposal 1 tackle game with zero impact to an even worse performance tonight. 

Take rosy glasses off. It's okay for people to call it as they see it.

Posted

We are very much built from the Paul Roos school of defence...which is to always try to outnumber and not need to be one out in 50/50 contests. Looked like Freo tried to shift our zone but importantly were then prepared to kick to one on one contests where many of our highly rated players were exposed all night...and Freo also worked harder to be the next number at the contest.

I still think we are a side that has thrived on system more than talent...teams will do well to isolate our talent and make us try to win games by winning contests in genuine one on ones...

Posted
2 minutes ago, BDA said:

I remember him taking 2 marks in the goal square in the 3rd quarter. last line of defence

One was a very good mark too. But when you constantly drop 30m behind your opponent you’re going to get intercepts. 

Freo’s half forwards had a field day and when the mids didn’t cover off it killed us.

Good defending starts with stopping your opponent when required before looking for the easy kicks. 

Posted

In the scheme of things  we had a hiccup, something that you can’t avoid from time to time.   
Every now and then you need to experience failure to make you more hungry for success.
It is a good time to review and reset.  Big lesson is that against better sides we need to put in more than a one quarter effort to put sides away.   
Still on top, long way to go- GO DEES

Posted
1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

No, no.. try again. 

Do you even actually know why I made reference to Mark Jamar?

How cute of you @ucanchoose. Living rent free inside that small head of yours 😘 keep battling away old fella and someday someone will take you serious on here.

Of course I don't mind the loss lol.  Give us the perfect opportunity to reset and start again. That's the benefit of a loss sometimes.

Of course he was gifted to his 200th game LOL. Off the back of a 7 disposal 1 tackle game with zero impact to an even worse performance tonight. 

Take the rosy glasses off mate.

Goodness, what’s going on here, Dazzle? I sincerely hope you’re not Aaron Davey. He was one of my favourite players.

Posted

Not sure what others thought but I also thought tonight was one of the best umpired games i have seen in ages. Only 27 frees in total...let the players decide the result. They didn't pay the incidental type of infringements that have no impact on the contest...which is exactly how it should be umpired.

Posted
1 minute ago, rufus said:

I still think we are a side that has thrived on system more than talent...teams will do well to isolate our talent and make us try to win games by winning contests in genuine one on ones...

Our defence is system and our attack needs a lot of talent, especially right now.

A big issue is our depth players have very little talent nor can they play the system. 

Bedford flashes some ability to do both but he’s really only useful covering the small forwards. 

Posted (edited)
52 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said:

I thought our first half was excellent. But Gawn, Oliver, Petracca and Viney left their mojo in the change rooms at half time. Big fail in the midfield. 

Second quarter was very good, first quarter we were outplayed they just didn't put it on the scoreboard. It probably should've been even at half time then they blitzed us after that.

@binman Don't know about the training loads, round 11 last year we ran over Brisbane after destroying the Dogs the week before. Thought it was closer to round 12/13 when it started to become evident.

Posted
6 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He was absolutely gifted to his 200th game LOL. Off the back of a 7 disposal 1 tackle game with zero impact to an even worse performance tonight. 

Take rosy glasses off. It's okay for people to call it as they see it.

You’re full of [censored]. 

You’re right! It is okay for people to call it as they see it. Thanksies. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Goodness, what’s going on here, Dazzle? I sincerely hope you’re not Aaron Davey. He was one of my favourite players.

He's a favourite alright.

But we certainly could do with another Aaron Davey type forward.

Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Forgot what it feels like to lose. I don’t like it.

I reckon our players feel the same way.  Looking forward to them responding in the next few weeks

Posted
Just now, WalkingCivilWar said:

You’re full of [censored]. 

You’re right! It is okay for people to call it as they see it. Thanksies. 

Takes one to know one.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, loges said:

Just get home from the game WCW ?

On my way. Eating sushi at St. Albans train station since I like flirting with danger. 😬

Edited by WalkingCivilWar
Posted
7 minutes ago, rufus said:

Not sure what others thought but I also thought tonight was one of the best umpired games i have seen in ages. Only 27 frees in total...let the players decide the result. They didn't pay the incidental type of infringements that have no impact on the contest...which is exactly how it should be umpired.

Thought they were very good, stark contrast to the night before

Posted
2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Our defence is system and our attack needs a lot of talent, especially right now.

A big issue is our depth players have very little talent nor can they play the system. 

Bedford flashes some ability to do both but he’s really only useful covering the small forwards. 

Harsh on Bedford. He showed he has the wheels and talent to make it. Hard judging a young player with hardly any games under his belt. 

You might have a point, but you can't single out Bedford and not mention Melksham, Weid and Dunstan who all had far less impact.

Melksham might as well have not been on the ground.What a horrible way to bring up 200 games. 

Posted
45 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Can I just say to people that want to go to the football, watch the game. If you want to drink and talk to your friends and be on your phone, go to a pub or restaurant. I had 2 ladies sit next to me and not sure how many cans they had but the more they had the more the laughter got annoying. They were con there phones the whole time and talking about people in there lives. 

I really don't know how much they saw of the game. 

Amazing…because you posted on the game day thread consistently, throughout the entire game….on your phone.

Posted
Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

Takes one to know one.

How old are you, five?
(apologies to any and all five year olds)

Posted
1 hour ago, Clintosaurus said:

Have we started heavier training loads?

Not beyond the realms of possibility. Exactly the same period last year that it seemed we did.

Posted (edited)

Petty was injured last week and surprised to see him selected.  Even then I thought he may be a late out when Tomlison was an emergency.

Knowing that Petty could break down and that TMc wasn't there for backup if he did, I was really surprised Tomlinson wasn't sub.  It was a risk which backfired and made worse by May going off as well.

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted

Trac shouldn't have played. If he woke up crook they had the full day to choose someone else to come in. Poor fella struggled all game, couldn't run, must have felt shizenhousen

Posted

Anyone know where to find Goody's presser.

Posted
Just now, BAMF said:

Harsh on Bedford. He showed he has the wheels and talent to make it. Hard judging a young player with hardly any games under his belt. 

You might have a point, but you can't single out Bedford and not mention Melksham, Weid and Dunstan who all had far less impact.

Melksham might as well have not been on the ground.What a horrible way to bring up 200 games. 

Bedford just needs games now. 

He's got tools that are AFL standard and some that need work. But in the games he's played this year he hasn't done a lot wrong.

He certainly gets a game next week.