Posted
19 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

I really don’t get the negative vibes towards Spargo. 

Neither. Is it a matter of looking at the stat sheet and seeing low figures next to his name? You only need to watch the game to see the impact he's having. Uses the ball so well, damaging at times with his forward 50 entries and his attack on the opposition defensively has been sound. 

Even though we were under siege in that first quarter I thought some of his efforts without the ball in the opening 10 minutes were outstanding in setting the tone for us for the rest of the contest. His defensive acts lift the team. Not going anywhere.

Posted

I reckon Melbourne can't resist the fairytale Ben Brown story here.

Debut for new club, against old club, at his home state.

Make way Melksham I say!

Posted
On 4/27/2021 at 7:33 AM, binman said:

some players a chop out. Particularly the younger ones.

Brown and weed will get their chance

Its an interesting perspectivr. Its hard to argue against changing such a great winning team.

Many have agreed by liking your post

If I may play devils advocate.

When will they get their chance?

When Tmac or Lj are injured?

If so then we are saying in effect that they are just fillers.

Will be hard to justify kerping them both in such a situation. Wied may well be looking for another club and who could blame him.

But BBB has proven himself 3 years in a row as the best ff in the comp. How can we not keep and play him?

I would suggest we play 3 talls( sorry melk) with the same rotation of Lj and Max in the ruck. 

Posted

Ben Brown must come in this week. Melksham is the obvious out but seemingly never gets dropped no matter his performance (and he didn’t have a bad game this time). 

Posted
2 minutes ago, godees said:

Ben Brown must come in this week. Melksham is the obvious out but seemingly never gets dropped no matter his performance (and he didn’t have a bad game this time). 

Another option might be rest Fritta - his hand was obviously still sore, bring in Brown and Chandler (on average = Fritta size :)) and Melksham to injury sub.

Posted
4 hours ago, DubDee said:

Great news! Usually the winds are more like 100kms!

Wonderful football weather report. I can smell the sea breezes, already. I have the oyster-sellers on the dock imprinted on my mind and it's making me hungry for a few dozen freshies with a droplet of vodka on each, for lunch. As for the footy, BBrown should come in to display his skills with the Hobart wind systems on the way to kicking ten (or so) goals for the MFC. Problem is that I cannot get to Tassy this weekend for the game. I hope those who can get there have a ripper time.

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, Olgreybeard49 said:

Another option might be rest Fritta - his hand was obviously still sore, bring in Brown and Chandler (on average = Fritta size :)) and Melksham to injury sub.

Really? I didn't notice him flinching or in pain. Kicked 2 goals 1 had 4 tackles and attacked contests well.

Edited by Yung Blood
Posted
28 minutes ago, godees said:

Brown for Melksham is a no-brainer.

We wont lose any of our immense pressure, as Melk is not a pressure player anyway.

Posted
36 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Its an interesting perspectivr. Its hard to argue against changing such a great winning team.

Many have agreed by liking your post

If I may play devils advocate.

When will they get their chance?

When Tmac or Lj are injured?

If so then we are saying in effect that they are just fillers.

Will be hard to justify kerping them both in such a situation. Wied may well be looking for another club and who could blame him.

But BBB has proven himself 3 years in a row as the best ff in the comp. How can we not keep and play him?

I would suggest we play 3 talls( sorry melk) with the same rotation of Lj and Max in the ruck. 

Fair points.

I think Brown will come in. But if he does Weed won't. Not yet, any way

In terms of them, and in particular Weed, getting their chance, we are not even a quarter of the way through what will be a brutal season, particularly for teams who made finals last year and had less preseason to put a fitness base down.

Having say a fresh Weed ready to come in when needed will be gold. And represents a big advantage for us over other sides who are struggling with injury already.

I disagree using Weed in this way is saying he is filler. It is reality. Tmac is the incumbent and simply is playing to well to be swapped out for Weed. tough for Weed, but there it is. If that means he feels he has to explore other options than so be it.

Patience grasshopper.

image.jpeg.57cb48075de45e9e7783b47b5c1cae48.jpegimage.jpeg.57cb48075de45e9e7783b47b5c1cae48.jpeg

Posted

From the AFL site:

melbourne.jpg?width=500

The big question for the Demons is whether Ben Brown returns to make his club debut against his former side in his home state. It would be a fairytale inclusion for the key forward, who kicked four goals from 12 disposals in a VFL victory over Richmond last weekend. Sam Weideman also pressed his claim for a senior return with 13 disposals and three goals, but, like last week, it will be hard for Simon Goodwin to change a winning formula. Jake Melksham was held goalless against the Tigers and could make way for one, while Charlie Spargo was also quiet but plays a pivotal role as a pressure forward. James Harmes is an outside chance to return from a wrist injury. Young defender Jake Bowey (26 disposals, five marks) was impressive in the VFL, but will likely need to bide his time.

R6 medical sub: Kade Chandler (unused)

Verdict: Brown to make his club debut against the Kangaroos, replacing Melksham in a taller forward line. Weideman to be made to wait another week. – Riley Beveridge

Posted

Im always big on NO CHANGE unless we have injuries or very sore bodies, but we have to try and integrate BBB or the Weed in the next couple of weeks.

In the next month we have Roos, Swans, Blues and Crows if we are going to try and integrate them i would say this is the perfect opportunity to do so.

I have a feeling one will come in this weekend with the romantic story line attached to it.

I can't remember a time where its been so hard to bring in 2 key Forwards into a line up. This is success and long may it continue.

This is a fantastic problem to have for the Coaching staff.

Posted

You would think with the VFL side being named tonight, an announcement of Ben Brown if he is to debut would be announced after training. 

Posted

We pretty clearly have developed a system at MFC and both the seniors and reserves are playing a very similar game style.

Would love to see Brown in without doubt....Would also like to see weed in coming weeks. Against the next best defender he will step up a level....last year he was double and triple teamed as our only target.

Doggies make it work with Naughton, Bruce & English.

We really need to be getting both these guys into our system ASAP, as long as all the team is working like they have been on the little things like chasing/tackling/shepherding and structure they should make us better, not upsetting the balance.

Posted
On 4/26/2021 at 2:20 PM, MurDoc516 said:

I really do not like Harmes in this team. Liability disposal wise and we've gotten better once he left because now we don't have 1 too many inside mids.

Don’t underestimate what our new coaches are capable of. Seeing so many players such as Hunt, ANB, Salem, Spargo, Tmac and Tomlinson lift the way they have this year, should tell you that Harmes is not to be written off. And if he doesn’t lift? Well he doesn’t get a game. This is another thrilling aspect to this season; that players are fighting harder than ever to earn their spots. 

Posted
On 4/25/2021 at 2:05 PM, Chook said:

I'd be very surprised if Wiedeman is still at Melbourne next year if he can't somehow break into the side.

He will be if we win the flag. 

Posted

I'm definitely in the no change camp again, although i understand the temptation to swap Brown and Melksham. 

T'Mac and Jackson are playing too well, so the only way that Brown or weid get a go is if we significantly alter the game plan that has got us to 6-0 including beating both of last years grand finalists. 

Posted
17 hours ago, kev martin said:

Foxsport is suggesting that the lockup period may finish on Wednesday for North.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2021-north-melbourne-round-7-covid19-fixture-news-tasmania-north-melbourne-vs-melbourne/news-story/88c0eee6696bbdc79ab555f0b1d9fba4

It also says all teams will travel on Charted flights. 

So it a good possibility that we share a flight with them down to Tassie.

Hope none of North players have covid!

Just being silly, in AFL management I have trust in their decisions!  

17 hours ago, A F said:

That's a legit possibility. Haven't multiple people initially tested asymptomatically and later been found to have contracted it? Isn't that what happened to the guy that caused the Perth lockdown?

Yea why risk it. The news has reported on people testing negative overseas, hoping on a plane to melb or NZ and when of testing positive. I doubt that would happen here, but i'd prefer to not risk it with our team.

Posted

Hoping more then anyone that Big Ben debuts. Easy swap for Melksham. We didn’t recruit him to play for Casey. He’s in the top 10 forwards in the comp. No matter how good we are going, he automatically makes us better. 

Posted
3 hours ago, godees said:

can't see the logic

melksham is a link man, brown is stay at home leading key position forward

if you want brown it's fritta, tmac or jacko.......and can't see it happening

Posted (edited)
57 minutes ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

I'm definitely in the no change camp again, although i understand the temptation to swap Brown and Melksham. 

T'Mac and Jackson are playing too well, so the only way that Brown or weid get a go is if we significantly alter the game plan that has got us to 6-0 including beating both of last years grand finalists. 

Iys been a long time since we have had  ff kick a big bag of biggins.

Come on down Bbb.

Eight will suffice.

Edited by leave it to deever
Posted
1 minute ago, leave it to deever said:

Iys been a long time since we have had  ff kick a big bag of biggins.

Come on down Bbb.

Eight will suffice.

bbb hasn't actually set the magoos on fire

looked a bit rusty still. dropping marks including gimme chest marks

jmo

Posted
7 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

bbb hasn't actually set the magoos on fire

looked a bit rusty still. dropping marks including gimme chest marks

jmo

Nonetheless simply by inclusion and reputation, he will draw norfs best defender whicb would alone make it very interesting.

Posted
Just now, leave it to deever said:

Nonetheless simply by inclusion and reputation, he will draw norfs best defender whicb would alone make it very interesting.

normally i'd agree but norf don't have a best defender, do they? lol

one good thing about playing him would be the opportunity to play him into form,  and to see how he fits structurally especially in a game we should win either way. only problem then is if it fizzes it's a bit hard to drop him after 1 game

so, i'd rather wait till he's banging down the door and there's an obvious replacement (for whatever reason....form, injury, etc) 

Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

From the AFL site:

melbourne.jpg?width=500

The big question for the Demons is whether Ben Brown returns to make his club debut against his former side in his home state. It would be a fairytale inclusion for the key forward, who kicked four goals from 12 disposals in a VFL victory over Richmond last weekend. Sam Weideman also pressed his claim for a senior return with 13 disposals and three goals, but, like last week, it will be hard for Simon Goodwin to change a winning formula. Jake Melksham was held goalless against the Tigers and could make way for one, while Charlie Spargo was also quiet but plays a pivotal role as a pressure forward. James Harmes is an outside chance to return from a wrist injury. Young defender Jake Bowey (26 disposals, five marks) was impressive in the VFL, but will likely need to bide his time.

R6 medical sub: Kade Chandler (unused)

Verdict: Brown to make his club debut against the Kangaroos, replacing Melksham in a taller forward line. Weideman to be made to wait another week. – Riley Beveridge

Think it makes sense, as he is the most experienced at that ground on our list, it's his former club and it's a small ground favouring a big key forward.